Customer Reviews for

The Truth (with Jokes)

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

I've read Lies and now I've read the truth. I agree with the New York Times reviewer on that the subject matter was extremely tougher and, well, more sad than in Lies. I don't think it was quite as funny, but it was as funny as corruption and war could ever be. Becau...
I've read Lies and now I've read the truth. I agree with the New York Times reviewer on that the subject matter was extremely tougher and, well, more sad than in Lies. I don't think it was quite as funny, but it was as funny as corruption and war could ever be. Because of how heavy some of the topics were, it wasn't exactly an easy read for me. It left me at times scratching my head in frustration and information overload. But I think that I am better for having read it, and I think that everyone who considers themselves a patriotic American should have to. Everyone should know what's been going on with our government and this country. I also just really enjoy Franken's writing. He is intelligent and humorous. And he thoroughly researches everything he writes about, providing examples for every point he has to make. I especially appreciate the credibility because it makes this book more than opinion, it really makes it The Truth.

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Al Franken = Hypocrate

So this is a book of satire? Well if you liked this check out 'The Political Zoo,' by Micheal Savage. He does a much better and more eloquent, not to mention important job.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    A Must Read

    I've read Lies and now I've read the truth. I agree with the New York Times reviewer on that the subject matter was extremely tougher and, well, more sad than in Lies. I don't think it was quite as funny, but it was as funny as corruption and war could ever be. Because of how heavy some of the topics were, it wasn't exactly an easy read for me. It left me at times scratching my head in frustration and information overload. But I think that I am better for having read it, and I think that everyone who considers themselves a patriotic American should have to. Everyone should know what's been going on with our government and this country. I also just really enjoy Franken's writing. He is intelligent and humorous. And he thoroughly researches everything he writes about, providing examples for every point he has to make. I especially appreciate the credibility because it makes this book more than opinion, it really makes it The Truth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are looking to dish about politics this is your book!

    I am thoroughly enjoying this book. I did not read his previous books so I was not sure what to expect but i was pleasantly surprised. Not only is Al Franken extremely funny, but he backs up his facts.
    I feel like I'm getting an education on the dirty secrets of Washington politics and it's really funny!
    I would recommend this book to all of my Democrat friends only.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Al Franken = Hypocrate

    So this is a book of satire? Well if you liked this check out 'The Political Zoo,' by Micheal Savage. He does a much better and more eloquent, not to mention important job.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Excellent!

    This book is a must read for everyone! I looked up many of the sources he sites for the information he provides and it all checked out. It puzzles me that someone can say it's 'trash' if it is well researched. Franken even often gives credit to the 'other side' when they do do something right. People need to read this book to get their head out of the sand!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Too Good To Put Down

    I got this book as a gift for Christmas and read it almost entirely in one sitting. Mr. Franklin makes a powerful, cogent, and insightful indictment of the Bush administration and Republicans in Congress. Conservatives can call Al names, but they can't seem to answer the arguments he makes in his book. And its very, very funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Thought provoking but...

    An interesting and thought provoking read, courtesy of AirAmerica's radio host for the Progessive Liberal side. As with his previous books, Al Franken takes a stand for those who honestly fear for the future of the country with 'King George' still in power. New characters introduced such as Tom 'The Hammer' Delay and 'Casino' Jack Abramoff. Ironically, this could be said to be his best book however it lacks the humor that made his previous books, such as Lying Liars, so fantastic and fun to read. Perhaps this is due to the fact that there is alot of serious issues he talks about within its pages. As you read it you can practically feel Franken's frustration towards the reigning right wing fanatics in the Bush administration. There are jokes, true to its title, but it seems that they are far more scattered throughout the text than in his previous books. An excellant read if you enjoyed Lying Liars, or his book on Rush Limbaugh. I'm not really a liberal minded guy, but Al definately can write a better book than any of his compatriots from the right. Though I think I might have to send a note to the store I bought this from to move it from the humor section to the Politics section.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book! Franken did an excellent job with his research, and lays it out in an easy and fun to read book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Take that...and that, and that!

    Franken shows us again why he is so respected by Democrats and feared by the corrupt camp in the Republican Party: facts. The guy's full of interesting facts. And I did laugh out loud more than a dozen times. And guess what-he's got more degrees than W.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    INCREDIBLE

    I thought he wouldn't be able to top LIES but he did. I 100% recomend anyone who wants the truth to go out and purchase this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    A Jolt of Realty

    At last someone has taken a hard view at the machinations used to manipulate the voting American public. This book invokes winces at times because it drives home the uncomfortable truth about politics and the current campaigning practices. Al Franken nails it perfectly, backing up his theories with valid facts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Funny

    This is a book that makes me laugh. I like funny books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Franken Strikes Again!

    Al Franken is the master of political satire, but he is so much more than just a comedian! Franken is one of the smartest political thinkers in the public arena, he presents every arguement with a shocking amount of reasearch and an 'In Your Face!' attitude. This is a book for everyone, reguardless of political affiliation: it is amazing, witty, funny and is one of my favorite books of all time! (with jokes)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing left?

    This is my first Al Franken book, so I can't compare it with his past books. There seem to be an awful lot of angry reviews about it! I got a few good chuckles out of the book, both at Franken and with Franken. Of course he's so biased that his left leg is probably 2 feet shorter than the right-but that's to be expected. One thing I had to laugh at was when he said (paraphrase): "the one thing that doesn't lie is numbers." And then he quoted a bunch of stats. I'm not sure if that was supposed to be a joke, or if he seriously thinks you can't "lie" with numbers? Hasn't he ever met a statistician, scientist, or politician? (As a scientist I can say this-numbers lie! It's all in the assumptions!) Anyway, it's an interesting book to read if you want to hear some liberal arguments. Nothing breathtaking about it though!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Funny Stuff !!!!!

    This book was funny and intelligent. It's funny and fun about the dialogue that goes about dissing the republican losers. BRAVO AL !!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    On target again

    Franken is, as usual, right on target in his dissection of the farces and foibles of the Right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    intelligence vs. emotion

    This book is factless and,in usual fashion, Al F. resorts to mindless name calling. Some of the humor is interesting, however, the content is so extreme, radical, and liberal that the book is difficult to read. I would rate the work as disappointing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    I don't agree with a word he says, but Al Franken is a gifted writer.

    I've read many political books - mostly conservative. Michael Savage, Sean Hannity, and Bill O'Reilly are just a few of the authors whose books I have read, and while I agree with most of the opinions they expressed, I found the content to be rather dry and mundane. Don't get me wrong, I still liked them. Michael Savage stands out among other talk show hosts like Bill O'Reilly and Sean Hannity who pump out the blandest political books on the market, as his writing actually appears to have involved some labor. But not until I read Al Franken's 'The Truth' did I realize how colorful and entertaining political non-fiction can be. Now, whether the views expressed in Franken's books can qualify as 'non-fiction' is up to you, but regardless, I found this book to be the single most funny and amusing political book I have ever read. Not only is the satire in 'Truth' razor-sharp, but the overall 'flow' is just magnificent. Beginning with a dramatic memoir of the '04 election and sailing smoothly through the remainder of the book with Franken's charming humor and eloquent dissection of The Issues, 'The Truth' reads like an ocean wave brushing against the sand. And I stress this particularly with THIS BOOK, as I have just recently read 'Lies' and, though wonderfully entertaining, it does not flow from chapter to chapter so seamlessly as its successor. Franken has a gift, and it ain't for political analysis it's for the written word. If I weren't so smart, I'd consider him terribly persuasive, and that's definitely a talent unto its own. Obviously, I find this book's weakness to be the opinions which the amazing writing carries, and so the 4 stars. One of the biggest problems with Franken, and every other not-so-radical liberal I've examined, is he is not willing to accept the downfalls of his extremist counterparts, if he is even aware of them at all. Something you'll notice about liberals is they are much more about bashing the Right than actually giving their opinion. (Okay, they'll give their opinion on global warming and health care - things that, no matter how insensitive this sounds, are MEANINGLESS in a world where people are currently fighting to destroy the West as we know it.) Instead of challenging the actual DOCTRINE of the social-conservative agenda, Franken zeros in on meaningless hypocricies amongst members of the right wing like Rush Limbaugh and Bill O'Reilly - people I have no respect for - as if their mistakes disqualify the actual motives of present-day conservatism, or represent the others of the right wing who don't wish to be represented by such morons. Now true, the Right bashes the Left just as the Left bashes the Right, but there's still an urgency in the right wing to solve the global terrorism crisis that is just not apparent in the left wing. This is why Air America has failed: Franken can get away with his twisting of the truth through writing, for the art of the literature itself distracts from the utter rubbish of it's ideological base, but when you must go on the radio every day with nothing more to say than 'Rush Limbaugh is a pig,' you're going to fall flat on your face. In the end, 'The Truth' is so well-written and so entertaining, yet so politically misguided. I love it, but not for the reasons Franken might want me to. Oh well. It's a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Hmmm

    The book just isn't funny at all. Sorry, but it's more like children's type humor and if you are past a 6th grade mentality level you will be very disappointed in this juvenile book disguised as humor...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Jose Rey

    The book was great! But i'd like to say something to 'Jose Rey', who calls himself 'Smarter the Selfish Liberals' Ya, Liberals are the selfish ones... They are the ones who are giving them selves (the rich) huge tax breaks and not giving those who need it, as much. Ya, thats the Liberals alright!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Too far Left

    The books a joke unlike the author who could never tell a good joke. One sided belongs in the trash.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2