BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Truth (with Jokes)

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

I've read Lies and now I've read the truth. I agree with the New York Times reviewer on that the subject matter was extremely tougher and, well, more sad than in Lies. I don't think it was quite as funny, but it was as funny as corruption and war could ever be. Becau...
I've read Lies and now I've read the truth. I agree with the New York Times reviewer on that the subject matter was extremely tougher and, well, more sad than in Lies. I don't think it was quite as funny, but it was as funny as corruption and war could ever be. Because of how heavy some of the topics were, it wasn't exactly an easy read for me. It left me at times scratching my head in frustration and information overload. But I think that I am better for having read it, and I think that everyone who considers themselves a patriotic American should have to. Everyone should know what's been going on with our government and this country. I also just really enjoy Franken's writing. He is intelligent and humorous. And he thoroughly researches everything he writes about, providing examples for every point he has to make. I especially appreciate the credibility because it makes this book more than opinion, it really makes it The Truth.

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Al Franken = Hypocrate

So this is a book of satire? Well if you liked this check out 'The Political Zoo,' by Micheal Savage. He does a much better and more eloquent, not to mention important job.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    A Must Read

    I've read Lies and now I've read the truth. I agree with the New York Times reviewer on that the subject matter was extremely tougher and, well, more sad than in Lies. I don't think it was quite as funny, but it was as funny as corruption and war could ever be. Because of how heavy some of the topics were, it wasn't exactly an easy read for me. It left me at times scratching my head in frustration and information overload. But I think that I am better for having read it, and I think that everyone who considers themselves a patriotic American should have to. Everyone should know what's been going on with our government and this country. I also just really enjoy Franken's writing. He is intelligent and humorous. And he thoroughly researches everything he writes about, providing examples for every point he has to make. I especially appreciate the credibility because it makes this book more than opinion, it really makes it The Truth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are looking to dish about politics this is your book!

    I am thoroughly enjoying this book. I did not read his previous books so I was not sure what to expect but i was pleasantly surprised. Not only is Al Franken extremely funny, but he backs up his facts.
    I feel like I'm getting an education on the dirty secrets of Washington politics and it's really funny!
    I would recommend this book to all of my Democrat friends only.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    On target again

    Franken is, as usual, right on target in his dissection of the farces and foibles of the Right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    I don't agree with a word he says, but Al Franken is a gifted writer.

    I've read many political books - mostly conservative. Michael Savage, Sean Hannity, and Bill O'Reilly are just a few of the authors whose books I have read, and while I agree with most of the opinions they expressed, I found the content to be rather dry and mundane. Don't get me wrong, I still liked them. Michael Savage stands out among other talk show hosts like Bill O'Reilly and Sean Hannity who pump out the blandest political books on the market, as his writing actually appears to have involved some labor. But not until I read Al Franken's 'The Truth' did I realize how colorful and entertaining political non-fiction can be. Now, whether the views expressed in Franken's books can qualify as 'non-fiction' is up to you, but regardless, I found this book to be the single most funny and amusing political book I have ever read. Not only is the satire in 'Truth' razor-sharp, but the overall 'flow' is just magnificent. Beginning with a dramatic memoir of the '04 election and sailing smoothly through the remainder of the book with Franken's charming humor and eloquent dissection of The Issues, 'The Truth' reads like an ocean wave brushing against the sand. And I stress this particularly with THIS BOOK, as I have just recently read 'Lies' and, though wonderfully entertaining, it does not flow from chapter to chapter so seamlessly as its successor. Franken has a gift, and it ain't for political analysis it's for the written word. If I weren't so smart, I'd consider him terribly persuasive, and that's definitely a talent unto its own. Obviously, I find this book's weakness to be the opinions which the amazing writing carries, and so the 4 stars. One of the biggest problems with Franken, and every other not-so-radical liberal I've examined, is he is not willing to accept the downfalls of his extremist counterparts, if he is even aware of them at all. Something you'll notice about liberals is they are much more about bashing the Right than actually giving their opinion. (Okay, they'll give their opinion on global warming and health care - things that, no matter how insensitive this sounds, are MEANINGLESS in a world where people are currently fighting to destroy the West as we know it.) Instead of challenging the actual DOCTRINE of the social-conservative agenda, Franken zeros in on meaningless hypocricies amongst members of the right wing like Rush Limbaugh and Bill O'Reilly - people I have no respect for - as if their mistakes disqualify the actual motives of present-day conservatism, or represent the others of the right wing who don't wish to be represented by such morons. Now true, the Right bashes the Left just as the Left bashes the Right, but there's still an urgency in the right wing to solve the global terrorism crisis that is just not apparent in the left wing. This is why Air America has failed: Franken can get away with his twisting of the truth through writing, for the art of the literature itself distracts from the utter rubbish of it's ideological base, but when you must go on the radio every day with nothing more to say than 'Rush Limbaugh is a pig,' you're going to fall flat on your face. In the end, 'The Truth' is so well-written and so entertaining, yet so politically misguided. I love it, but not for the reasons Franken might want me to. Oh well. It's a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1