BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Truth About Dating

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    I've always wanted to use the term "tour de force" in a title...

    ...and now I have. Although I would have to firmly plant my tongue in my cheek to call this book - or any book I like reading, for that matter - a "tour de force."

    All that said, this was my first e-book purchase and my first e-book "read". I enjoyed the book on a number of levels:

    First of all, the "core" story is that of a woman seeking a meaningful romantic relationship, and struggling with balancing the realities that trying to meet new people presents with the fantasies that you harbor from childhood, that prince charming is just going to magically sweep in on schedule. I totally related to the frustrations the main character encounters while trying to meet guys online and get friends to introduce her to potential dates. I have to confess, I also wondered if Ms. Christensen had already written the book I've had rolling around in the back of my head...

    Outside of the central story are several sub-plots involving life in general; life as an audiologist working as part of the staff at a large clinic, becoming a homeowner, acquiring a dog, etc.

    As a hearing-impaired person who has befriended both audiologists and grad students in speech therapy and audiology in the process of becoming an advocate for my own hearing improvement, I enjoyed the anecdotes about working with both hearing impaired patients _and_ their (often clueless) families.

    And I too have experienced the joys of adopting a dog that while full-grown was still essentially a rambunctious toddler. (Nothing quite like coming home from work to find a trail of spaghetti noodles, macaroni noodles, and uncooked rice leading to your dog headfirst in a bag of pancake mix, munching away...)

    So, reading this book was like spying on a parallel universe for me. I hope Ms. Christensen continues to write. I'd like to read a sequel to this book...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    good read

    The book gave readers a realistic look at dating at any age. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Fun Read

    This book was a fun and quick read. It was easy to relate to and easy to follow the characters. If your looking for a deep story this one is not for you...if you need a beach read...it' s perfect!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    FUNNY!

    I am always looking for funny books, I love older Janet Evanovich books because they make me laugh out loud. When a book jacket says funny I usually will give it a shot, but I am often disappointed. When this book opens and the writer is obsessing on a cute guy something happens (I don't want to ruin anything) but I laughed (loudly) out loud. This is a great, relevant story, but as a great bonus you will find yourself smiling throughout. Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    got it for free, and read it strait through in a day

    I down loaded it cuz it was free, and I loved it so much. It's so funny and it's so true. She's bluntly honest, with a kind heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    I'm Reading it Again!

    I enjoyed this book so much that I'm re-reading it (which I never do). It's so funny, but not so much that it's not believable. You really care about the character and while it's entertaining to hear about the ridiculous guys she meets, you want just one of them to be perfect for her. I highly recommend this book and obviously women will like it, but I think men, especially those who have struggled to find someone compatible, will also enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Great Read!

    I wasn't sure what to expect from this book since I had never heard of the author, and I've been fooled before into thinking some books were going to be good. However, I love reading dating stories and those that talk about dates gone bad so I decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did. I thought this book was wonderful. I completely identified with the main character and found myself rooting for her throughout the book. I started to notice that when I came home every day from work, I was looking forward to reading more of the story. It was definitely one of those 'curl up in front of the fire with hot chocolate' kind of books. I was sad to see it end, but also didn't walk away unfulfilled like many other books out there leave me.

    I like getting to know characters, because even though they are just in a story, a well-thought out character can become my friend too as I read about them and go through their lives with them. I felt like this main character was one of the people I hang out with, and reading this story made me want to help her find a man but also at the same time made me glad that I'm not single.

    I would highly recommend this book for people that like reading dating stories, and also for those that have forgotten how miserable the single life can sometimes be. You'll find yourself following the main character through her stories and comparing them to your own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Dont waste your time

    The main character is insufferable. The book drags on with neither situational climax or satisfying conclusion. Terrible book trying to fit into a usually light and fun genre/subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Fun read. Many laughs. Introduction into today's dating games.

    Fun read. Many laughs. Introduction into today's dating games. Author has a style of her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Cute.

    Good read for a vacation or relaxing on the beach. Liked the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    funny

    the story telling is pretty funny with accurate portrayal of dating challenges.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    funny but true

    this was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Awesome

    I think this book is phenomenal. It is really good, If you want to read a romance noval tis is what you SOULD read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally relatable but writing is just ok

    As I was reading this book I couldn't help feel sad. Sad for myself, that is, because I went through (am going through) everything Quinn was talking about in yhe book. For thst, I enjoyed the book because the authir described her dating experiences in such excruciating detail that it resounded my own experiences. However, I felt at times the story dragged and some parts were unnecessary. But overall it was an easy and amusing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great read!

    I loved this book! It was funny and the story line was very interesting and totally relatable. I didn't want it to end. Though the ending wasn't a typical happy ending, it made the story that more believable, because life doesn't always have a happy ending. The message was still a positive one.Definitely worth the read, especially for the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    an absolute "must read" book

    whether you are single, married, in your 20's, 30's, 40's, etc...this book is well worth the read especially at it's minimal cost....I am going to see what else Julie has written and move on to that!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Not worth the time!

    The main character was so unlikeable. She called herself a "liberal" but was judgmental of anyone who didn't share her opinion. The book seemed long and drawn out. Also, after spending all my time reading this book I was left with an ending that was a real let down. I paid $1.00 for this book, but it wasn't even worth that amount. You get what you pay for...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    not bad, not great

    I found the book to be ok. The main character tells us she is liberal over and over again but she is the most close minded person in the whole book. Since it was short and cheap, I don't regret it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    good read but a bit long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3