Customer Reviews for

Truth Be Told

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Too Much Happenings For One Person

    I am reviewing this on behalf of our book club. The average rating was 3 stars. The entire story took place over probably a three month period or less. In this small amount of time, the following took place to the main character, Grace: (1) She won the election on the County Commission; (2) her adversary, an atheist, was out to get Grace because Grace wanted to bring prayer back into the schools; (3) Grace's husband, Conner, finds out he fathered a son by his secretary twelve years ago; (4) Conner's son's mother is dying of cancer and wants Conner and Grace to raise his son; (5) Grace doesn't believe the baby is Conner's and insist on a paternity test; (6) Grace and Conner fly to NY from California to find out the paternity of the child; (7) Grace's teenage daughter runs away from home; (8) Grace's teenage daughter is caught with drugs in her bookbag at school and is suspended; (9) Grace exposes her family issues to the media to keep from being scrunitized; (10) Conner's son's mother dies and Grace doesn't want to have to face him with the news; (11) Grace's preacher/motivational sister is arrested for fraud and criminal negligence; and more. And all of this happening to one person within less than 3 months. The reader may get a little antsy at times because the author goes on and on about her husband's illegimate son without bringing speedy resolution to the situation. The characters were limited which made good for following the story without flipping back pages to see who was whom, although I feel that the twin brother and his wife could have been left out of the story which would have probably saved about 50 pages.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    True portrayal of forgiveness and acceptance!!!

    Wonderful book. First time I have read of this author and I will look for more of her books. Characters were realistic and not over the top and the plot was imaginable! The topic of forgiveness was well explored and demonstrated. Easy read that keeps your attention. Will recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Inspirational

    This book is a very good book and well worth the read. It is very real, emotional and inspirational. I really liked it. The characters were very relatable. It was easy to see yourself in any one of them. The emotions that were portrayed in the book were very real and original. I really hope there is a second book that tells the story of Grace's Sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    excellent book would make a good lifetime movie

    I loved this book. I learn alot about christian conduct which is a very important supplement in our daily work with God. The elements faith- love- forgiveness- patience makes use strong so we won't get burned by the devil's schemes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    WOW... Another great book!!!

    I read your first book Grown folks business, the title pulled me in. I loved it. After reading that book. I had to get your other books. Let me tell you, Truth Be Told is one of my top books this year!! This book made me laugh, cry - when the sons mother died, and even make me wonder about things in my own life. I thank you for writing these awsome books. I am not reading your book Joy. I look forward to another wonderful book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    The Truth Must Be Told

    As I looked at the captivating title and perused through a few pages I decided to purchase the book. I'm glad I did. The author, Victoria C. Murray, did an impeccable job when describing the godly elements of faith, forgiveness, trust and most of all love. She touched the humanistic spirit of every created being by allowing the reader to embrace the fact that it doesn't matter where you've been or where you're going when affliction comes upon you-be it unfaithfulness, selfishness, insecurity, jealousy, adultery and/or the like there is only one 'God' who can sustain you. We must recognize the omnipotent and omniscient presence and power of God. Grace, Conner, Starlight, Lexington, Sara and Pilar were the epitome of the 'real' people that surface the world in today's time. You related to them all in some form. The truth was no doubt told in its rarity...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Christian Baby Mama Drama

    Truth Be Told was this reader¿s first experience with Christian fiction. I was expecting something a little more preachy, but was pleasantly surprised by Ms. Murray¿s aplomb in dealing with contemporary issues faced by many families today. It sounds a little like a romance novel at times, but the dignity of the story is redeemed by the raw emotion she evokes in situations that only God¿s grace would carry many of us through. An excellent read for the modern Christian woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Overall a good read

    A very good story of love and forgiveness on the part of the major characters (Grace, Conner, and the childs mother). It's a little drawn out and I think Grace had too much drama considering she also had an affair not once, but twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    I finished this book in just a few days. Not only was the story believable, realistic and exciting, but it ministers. It ministers about the gift of love and forgiveness. The themes in this book continue to make me ponder. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    SHOULD BE REQUIRED READING

    TRUTH BE TOLD, as with all of Ms. Murray's books (JOY & TEMPTATION)causes a person to reflect on their own life. Especially our decisions and the consequences of our actions.....Life application is about moving to another level of maturity. Truth be told (pun intended),when life appears to be moving in one direction there is a greater purpose and plan that will benefit all and glorify God....To Ms. Murray I'm looking foward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    An Excellent, 'Must' Read

    This is a wonderful, well written book. It is inspirational and entertaining and contains true-to-life situations with drama, action, suspense and GOD which brings you to laughter and tears. 'Truth Be Told' keeps your attention throughout and is very difficult to put down. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1