BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Truth Stained Lies

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Terri Blackstock is a favorite in our household, so being able t

Terri Blackstock is a favorite in our household, so being able to review one of her books is super exciting! 




Truth Stained Lies is the first book of the Moonlighters Series. Three very different sisters end up moonlighting as private detectives...Cathy - a justice ...
Terri Blackstock is a favorite in our household, so being able to review one of her books is super exciting! 




Truth Stained Lies is the first book of the Moonlighters Series. Three very different sisters end up moonlighting as private detectives...Cathy - a justice focused investigative blogger (because her fiancé was murdered and the murdered got off), Holly - a taxi driver for now but more of a party girl, and Juliet - a stay-at-home mom who’s husband is too busy in his career. They join together with Michael, a private detective, to find the truth for their brother, Jay, who is accused of killing his wife. However with the police so focused on what appears to make sense, can they find the truth? And soon enough for the life of Jay’s son?!




I was hooked from the beginning to the end! The characters were real, messed up, and easy to feel for. The story was interested and well written. And I love the faith - wether it was questioned or deeply held to; it was honest and beautiful. 




I would highly recommend this book by Terri Blackstock! Actually both my husband and I would recommend all of her books.... so get reading!! :)




Disclosure: I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

posted by S-Scales on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

L

Too many plot spoilers revealing too many details of the book. Stop your bragging about getting the book for free for your, cough cough, honest review, which automatically tells me it wont be, and stop with the excessive plot reveals. There is no reason at all to rewrit...
Too many plot spoilers revealing too many details of the book. Stop your bragging about getting the book for free for your, cough cough, honest review, which automatically tells me it wont be, and stop with the excessive plot reveals. There is no reason at all to rewrite the book in your review. Other posters write excellent posts without giving away the entire plot line. Read their posts and learn how to write a review.

posted by 8888649 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Terri Blackstock is a favorite in our household, so being able t

    Terri Blackstock is a favorite in our household, so being able to review one of her books is super exciting! 




    Truth Stained Lies is the first book of the Moonlighters Series. Three very different sisters end up moonlighting as private detectives...Cathy - a justice focused investigative blogger (because her fiancé was murdered and the murdered got off), Holly - a taxi driver for now but more of a party girl, and Juliet - a stay-at-home mom who’s husband is too busy in his career. They join together with Michael, a private detective, to find the truth for their brother, Jay, who is accused of killing his wife. However with the police so focused on what appears to make sense, can they find the truth? And soon enough for the life of Jay’s son?!




    I was hooked from the beginning to the end! The characters were real, messed up, and easy to feel for. The story was interested and well written. And I love the faith - wether it was questioned or deeply held to; it was honest and beautiful. 




    I would highly recommend this book by Terri Blackstock! Actually both my husband and I would recommend all of her books.... so get reading!! :)




    Disclosure: I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    L

    Too many plot spoilers revealing too many details of the book. Stop your bragging about getting the book for free for your, cough cough, honest review, which automatically tells me it wont be, and stop with the excessive plot reveals. There is no reason at all to rewrite the book in your review. Other posters write excellent posts without giving away the entire plot line. Read their posts and learn how to write a review.

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    One of Blackstock's best books!

    I have always loved Terri Blackstock's books and this book does not disappoint! This book focuses on what can and does happen in today's society. Can't wait for the next book to come out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    A must have

    As always a well written book. I have read almost all of her books and each one is better than the last. This book is a page turner. Normally I am not one to pick up a book but this author keeps me interested. If you enjoy her books you might also enjoy Dee Henderson as well.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Terri Blackstock in her new book, "Truth-Stained Lies"

    Terri Blackstock in her new book, "Truth-Stained Lies" Book One in the Moonlighters Series published by Zondervan introduces us to Cathy Cramer and her family.

    From the back cover: When truth doesn't make sense, will lies prevail?

    Cathy Cramer is a former lawyer and investigative blogger who writes commentary on high-profile homicides. When she finds a threatening note warning her that she's about to experience the same kind of judgment and speculation that she dishes out in her blog, Cathy writes it off as mischief . . . until her brother's wife is murdered and all the `facts' point to him. The killer has staged the crime to make the truth too far-fetched to believe. Working to solve the murder and clear her brother's name, Cathy and her two sisters, Holly and Juliet, moonlight as part-time private investigators. Juliet, a stay-at-home mom of two boys, and Holly, a scattered ne'er-do-well who drives a taxi, put aside their fear to hunt down the real killer.

    Stakes rise when their brother's grieving five-year-old son is kidnapped. As police focus on the wrong set of clues, the three sisters and their battered detective friend are the only hope for solving this bizarre crime, saving the child, and freeing their brother.

    Who knew being a blogger could be dangerous? Now Cathy Cramer knows. Someone dressed in a clown suit murdered her brother's estranged wife. The police think the brother did it and arrested him as all the evidence seems to point to him. So Cathy and her sisters take up the investigation to prove who really did it and get the brother out of jail. Ms. Blackstock has provided us a first-rate mystery. "Truth-Stained Lies" is a wonderful way to begin a series and don't you just love the title? "Truth-Stained Lies" is a thriller in that the lives of Cathy and her sisters are put in deadly danger through the course of their investigations. I think this is Ms. Blackstocks best work yet and her characters are well-defined. Once the action gets going Ms. Blackstock revs up the thriller quotient considerably which will have you reading and flipping pages as fast as you can. Don't start this book late at night because it will be very difficult to put it down or stop thinking about it. I recommend this book highly and am greatly looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    A Good Suspenseful Story!

    A very well-told tale! I got a "feel" for all the characters and a couple of them I just wanted to choke. That's excellent writing!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Great book!

    This book kept me intrigued and looking forward to the next chapter. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Great read!

    I enjoyed this book. The plot was good and it kept me up late to finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are several things that I look forward to each year.  Hope

    There are several things that I look forward to each year.  Hopefully getting a tax refund (didn’t this year, though), hopefully getting a bonus (we’ll see in June!) and getting my hands on the latest Terri Blackstock thriller (nailed it!)
    As divorces go, Jay’s divorce is the hardest of all.  Not only is he fighting over custody of his 5-year old son with his cheating ex-wife, now she’s alleging child abuse allegations against him.  If only he could get her to sit down and talk to him, sans all of the lawyers, he knows that he could convince her to drop everything and let him see his son.  He gets an email asking him to come by her place just for that very reason.  When Jay arrives, though, and sees the clown leaving the house, his life is about to change.  He discovers that his wife has been shot and he’s unable to save her.  In comes his three sisters to the rescue.  Cathy, a former lawyer who know blogs about local homicides, Juliet, a stay-at-home mother of 2 and Holly, a taxi driver, all team up to help their brother uncover who really killed his ex-wife.  Throw in a threat to Cathy over her latest blog material, a life-altering announcement by Holly and you have yourself another great novel by Terri Blackstock.  Who’s making all of the threats against Cathy?  What is going on in Holly’s life?  Who killed Jay’s ex-wife and why?  Ha!  Go buy the book yourself and figure it out.
    I love suspense and mystery books that take you on a journey of twists and turns and always keep you guessing right up until the end and then smack you in the face with, “Psych! You were wrong!”.  I wish that I could say that about this book.  I don’t know if it’s because I read so many of these books and watch so many TV shows and movies, but I had this figured out very early on.  Does that make this a bad book?  Not at all.  Ms. Blackstock has created some deep characters in this book.  The character of Holly fascinates me, I would hope that we see more of her in some additional books in this series.  Cathy is such a strong character, too.  To see her develop and get a better understanding of her role as a blogger was eye opening to me.  I do have a blog, I use it to review great Christian fiction books.  I can see, though, how Cathy was using hers for what she thought was the right reasons, but she was fooling herself.  The pace of the story and the way the 3 sisters worked together fit perfectly in the story.  
    Is this a "guy's book"?  While I have always enjoyed Terri Blackstock and any book that she has written, I can’t say that this is specifically a “guy’s book”.  Guy’s will enjoy it if they love a good mystery and maybe, they won’t have it figured out as early as I did.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Another fast moving read by Terri Blackstock I LOVED IT

    Great Read by Terri Blacstock

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Once again Terri Blackstock provides an entertaining and unique

    Once again Terri Blackstock provides an entertaining and unique story. The first book in a new series we meet Cathy Cramer and her sisters, Juliet and Holly. Their brother, Jay is accused of murdering his estranged wife.
    This story is fast paced from the beginning and keeps you guessing throughout. It took me awhile to warm up to the main character, Cathy Cramer but as the story developed I began to understand her and like her. My favorite character was Holly (and not just because we share the same name). She is the youngest sister and has struggled to find her way in life as she comes to terms with her past decisions.
    This story provides not only a good mystery, but has several secondary plots that I’m looking forward to see how they develop. The secondary plots do not distract or confuse the main story, but leave you wanting more.
    Disclaimer: I did receive this book from the publisher but was not under any obligation other than to give my honest opinion.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Highly recommended. A must read book.

    Read it in two days because I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Good

    Terri is great. Great characters, mystery, little romance but lots of death and sadness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    One of the fundamental rules of blogging is:  ¿Once it¿s out the

    One of the fundamental rules of blogging is:  “Once it’s out there, it’s out there.”  Once you hit the ENTER key,
    you can’t delete it, you can’t remove it, you can’t retrieve it.  And you certainly can’t deny it.

    Cathy Cramer is a former lawyer and investigative blogger who writes commentary on local homicides.  When
    she finds a threatening note warning her that she’s about to experience the same kind of judgment and
    speculation that she dishes out on her blog, she dismisses it as a harmless prank.  

    Then her brother becomes the principal suspect in the murder investigation of his ex-wife.  Tried and convicted
    in the media, he is now scrutinized by the very society of bloggers and commentators of which Cathy is a
    card-carrying member.  And it is up to Cathy and her two sisters, Holly and Juliet, to put aside their doubts and
    fears and learn the art of investigation.  Because their brother is under the gun . . .and his 5-year old son is the
    killer’s next target.

    I’ll confess . . . I read and reviewed Terri Blackstock’s second book in the Moonlighter’s Series, DISTORTION,
    first.  It was so well-done that I had to have the entire series.  And there was something niggling at the back of
    my brain; I’d seen TRUTH-STAINED LIES somewhere.  Recently.  Oh, yes . . . there it is, on my bookshelf!  

    Coming to the book (both of which are stand-alone, although if you read them as I did there are some potential
    spoilers in Book 2) with a pre-understanding of the principal characters was interesting.  And it made reading
    the first book (despite the aforementioned potential spoilers) easier.  It was like slipping on a comfortable pair
    of old slippers . . . it just felt right.

    I’ve been a fan of Terri Blackstock since collecting her Cape Refuge series, and her craftsmanship has only
    improved over the years.  With strong characters that nonetheless demonstrate the fatal flaws of original sin
    and the need for a Savior, Blackstock’s fiction is inspirational without being preachy.  And her skills as a scribe
    will keep you reading to the soul-satisfying conclusion.

    5 stars for a universal story with an eternal message

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Wow

    Just love Terri's books. They keep you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Truth Stained Lies Terri Blackstock Book Summary: When truth

    Truth Stained Lies
    Terri Blackstock




    Book Summary: When truth doesn't make sense, will lies prevail? Cathy Cramer is a former lawyer and investigative blogger who writes commentary on high-profile homicides. When she finds a threatening note warning her that she's about to experience the same kind of judgment and speculation that she dishes out in her blog, Cathy writes it off as mischief . . . until her brother's wife is murdered and all the 'facts' point to him. The killer has staged the crime to make the truth too far-fetched to believe. Working to solve the murder and clear her brother's name, Cathy and her two sisters, Holly and Juliet, moonlight as part-time private investigators. Juliet, a stay-at-home mom of two boys, and Holly, a scattered ne'er-do-well who drives a taxi, put aside their fear to hunt down the real killer. Stakes rise when their brother's grieving five-year-old son is kidnapped. As police focus on the wrong set of clues, the three sisters and their battered detective friend are the only hope for solving this bizarre crime, saving the child, and freeing their brother.
    Review: I really enjoyed this opening series. I liked that it was so clever of a plot - A clown shot Jay’s wife. Truly a twisted twist and immediately made this a must read. I liked all of the siblings and can not wait for the next book. The book did not really over use any of the new characters. I found that the mystery did not take up too much of the book and yet it was fast paced and the mystery filled my head with who did it. The only thing that I did not understand is the connection between the murderer and why he wrote to Cathy….. Overall  a must read for me and a quick paced mystery.
    I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Outstanding Christian Writer! You will be glad you purchased this book.

    I just recently discovered Terri Blackstock's books and the first one I picked up was the final book in her Intervention series. The book grabbed me from the first paragraph all the way to the last page. I was hooked. I purchased Truth Stained Lies next and, once again, from the first page until the very end, I had a hard time putting it down. Terri Blackstock knows how to hook a reader and keep him on the line. Great writing about relevant themes. I could definitely see myself in these situations. I just purchased her entire Restoration series and can't wait to get started. This is a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    Very good read

    This was my first time reading Terri Blackstock and I really enjoyed it. I am not one who can usually pick out who the murderer is and I had a hunch and turned out I was right. It was very good and I would recommend this to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Hunter's Story: Chapter Two

    †TWO WEEKS LATER† "If we're going to survive when Darkness comes, we need to prepare," Nightstar says. "We have enough warriors to defend, but we need a plan." "We could ambush them," suggested Oceanblaze. Hunter looked at some older posts still during that day. "What the fu<_>ck..." he muttered. About three posts accused him of...force<_>mating a kit! He cheked the nursery, and sure enough, there was a post of Nightstar doing just that. Hunter was enraged, and the first suspect was Mightclan, an ally of his. When questioned, Powerstar prove it wasn't them. Hunter was getting mad. Who could it be? He needed to end the threat and SOON.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I finished reading this new book by one of my favorite authors,

    I finished reading this new book by one of my favorite authors, Terri Blackstock, last night. Although it was good, I did not like it as well as others. First, it was fairly obvious to me who the perpetrator was. Secondly, I just did not care for the main characters. And lastly, as one of my very favorite Christian authors, I was disappointed that , to and for me, there was not more of a Christian message in the book. I felt that the religious tone was diminished quite a bit in regards to most of her other books, especially after just finishing &quot;Covenant Child&quot; and another older book of Ms. Blackstock's. I know she cannot please everyone, but I turn to her books because of her Christian messages that are interwoven into her story, but I was quite disappointed with this one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4