Customer Reviews for

Truth about Cheating: Why Men Stray and What You Can Do to Prevent It

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is the real deal

I personally experienced my husband getting into a relationship with a woman he worked very closely with. She is 12 years younger than I am and worshiped the ground he walked on. She would stand very close to him and flirted with him constantly. she followed him ever...
I personally experienced my husband getting into a relationship with a woman he worked very closely with. She is 12 years younger than I am and worshiped the ground he walked on. She would stand very close to him and flirted with him constantly. she followed him everywhere. He is a very generous man and I never dreamed he would ever cheat on me. He is a good man and is known for his integrity, kindness and generosity. He is the ceo of the company and this young woman was able to get many things from him. she is quite clever and had my husband not knowing what he was doing. I told him he could leave but he didn't want to. This happened a year ago and everything the author says was happening but I never thought twice. Now that is all I think about and they still work together. he still cares a great deal for her. he comes home early now and calls me everyday but I don't think I will ever get over this. Even if I had read this book before this I don't think I would have heeded the warning. When you trust someone 100% no one can convince you otherwise. Its too bad there are so many amoral opportunistic types out there.

posted by 168348 on October 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It's always the woman's fault

I do not agree with this book. Why is it always the woman that has to make the man feel better.. Women are out there working and caring for their children, houses, chores, and their husbands. Where is the appreciation for them????? Man up!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    This is the real deal

    I personally experienced my husband getting into a relationship with a woman he worked very closely with. She is 12 years younger than I am and worshiped the ground he walked on. She would stand very close to him and flirted with him constantly. she followed him everywhere. He is a very generous man and I never dreamed he would ever cheat on me. He is a good man and is known for his integrity, kindness and generosity. He is the ceo of the company and this young woman was able to get many things from him. she is quite clever and had my husband not knowing what he was doing. I told him he could leave but he didn't want to. This happened a year ago and everything the author says was happening but I never thought twice. Now that is all I think about and they still work together. he still cares a great deal for her. he comes home early now and calls me everyday but I don't think I will ever get over this. Even if I had read this book before this I don't think I would have heeded the warning. When you trust someone 100% no one can convince you otherwise. Its too bad there are so many amoral opportunistic types out there.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    The Truth About Cheating

    Well, even though I haven't read this yet. I saw Gary Neuman on Oprah.<BR/>What he says makes sense but, doesn't the same thing apply to men. The truth about women cheating is--women cheat if there is no physical relationship or when they feel like he is not interested in anything she says. Why can't the title be--Why Spouses Cheat!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Excellent, easy to understand

    I've read several marriage self-help type books, and they all have basically the same underlying points, but this one really makes those points easy to understand and incorporate in real life. Highly recommend!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    The Truth is finally out!

    I am well aquainted with the story of a woman whose husband cheated on her because of one single emasculating comment, which apparently broke the poor weary camel's back.<BR/><BR/>He got home from work one not-so-nice day, only for his wife to poke a long purchases-to-be-made list in his face, demanding money. He pushed the litany aside, stating that it wasn't the right time to spend that extensively.<BR/><BR/>Moments later, he motioned to his wife while heading for the bedroom.<BR/>"Sweetheart, let's have a quick session of 'tossing' and 'tumbling'."<BR/><BR/>Then she sarcastically sneered:<BR/>"Hmm...Bedroom? That seems to be the only place you are of any use these days!"<BR/><BR/>He stopped unbuttoning his shirt, reached for his keys,and left the house in search of the cheapest prostitute in town, with whom he quenched the fire in his loins while relieving himself of the day's stress.<BR/><BR/>Some comments can really feel more painful than castration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Stop the blaming

    From what i read about the reviews of the books by other websites, it is a book to help people understand why men that cheat do what they do. The belief out there is that the woman is always the victim and the man, always the victimizer. Men have needs too and they aren't just physical and sexually oriented. Not all men are like the men portrayed in pop culture which is really far from the truth. That men just want to have sex with the next young thing is a stereotype of all men. Men that think about or have cheated are human too and whether they admit it or not, have emotional, mental, spiritual needs that have to be met just like women do. To simply tell a man to "Be A Man" does nothing but put guilt on the man and the problem is not addressed. Both Men and Women cheat, sometimes with someone else that is married too. Do people tell the women to "Woman up!". Solutions to the underlying reasons must be addressed for both sexes, not oversimplified as "Be a Man!" Guilt does not work in the long run, understanding and breaking down concrete gender roles and unhealthy personas will help us all heal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    To I don't believe this book

    I noticed that you care for your husband last. Care for him first and then you'll see changes in your relationships.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    More women should read it

    Truth about men and their quiet ways. Women see thru pink glasses and men thru blue, so yes women are gonna put this book down, instead of accepting part of the blame.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1