BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Truth About Diamonds: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Surprising

The Truth about Diamonds was an extremely entertaining book. Nicole Richie is a very witty writer. This book is loosely based on her life, but the story follows Chloe Parker a friend of Nicole's who gets famous for being the face for a makeup company. Through the story ...
The Truth about Diamonds was an extremely entertaining book. Nicole Richie is a very witty writer. This book is loosely based on her life, but the story follows Chloe Parker a friend of Nicole's who gets famous for being the face for a makeup company. Through the story we learn of Chloe's drug addiction and how it was controlling her life. Then she gets out of rehab she deals with the consequences of being famous. Tabloid rumors, money and non-trustworthy people. This book gives you insight on what it's like for celebrities, not the money and the fame part but the price that you have to pay to have those privileges. I recommend this book to anybody who is into the glamorous life of celebrities and is interested in what it's like. I really enjoyed it.

posted by aj95 on December 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love books but NOT this one!

I hate to not finish a book and rarely do but this is one that I could not finish. It was awful. I like Nicole Richie and thought this would be an amusing read but instead found it to be poorly written and just a terrible read.

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Nicole Has Grown

    I loved this book. I have been though a drug phase and it's hard to stop it. I feel like me and 'Chloe' have had many similar problems. It's good to know that I'm not the only one. Nicole has grown so much from her drug era. I'm proud and I look up to her for that. Nicole you rock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Truth about Diamonds

    wow. an intence first novel. this is one of my favorite books. it has a LOT to do with drugs but, it was definetley something almost everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Nicole..an author! Who Knew!

    By the first page or two of this book, I was absolutely hooked. If you think this is a book about Nicole complaining about her life or some cheesy fairytale book, this is not it! It's so real and her style of writing is humorous! It's really hard to put down. If you are looking for a book that you will learn something from and is something you will want to read when you are over 30, I do not reccomend this book. It was defiently geared towards younger people. But I think this book is one that you defiently should look into reading. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    awesome book...loved it!

    When I purchased this book I was expecting a radom story. But it was really good. It's pretty similar to the problems and drama Nicole Richie goes through in real life. She portrays herself through her character Chloe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Glamorous Tale

    An enchanting tale of the glamorous life, including all of the 'privileges' and all of the 'burdens'...where one young woman has to find herself...and embrace who she is....even at the risk of losing her own shining moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Truth about Diamonds

    this is one of my favorite books. it was very detailed but it had so much to do with drugs. I thought over all, it was good though. I think that everyone should read it no matter who you are. You would love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Better than you probably expect!

    I'm a fan of Miss Richie, so I had to buy this book although I wasn't expecting much from it. To my surprise, the story line was interesting and twisting. It is definitely a parallel to Nicole's life. The writing is not particularly profound, it's mediocre - better than what the general public probably expected. Bottom line: if you're looking for a thought-provoking read to expand your knowledge base, this book is not for you. If you're looking for a fun, light, and surprisingly inspirational beach read, you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Simple but Good

    Nicole Richie's book, I must admit, was very addictive, I could not put it down. It was very good, though not very well written- simple. Though I did love it, it was quick and interesting, definately worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Cant wait to read it !

    This story sounds like what Nicole Richie is going through, especially the friend betraying her part. I definitely can not wait to read this one !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Be open-minded!

    If you picked up this book with the usual skepticism, expecting an epic literary work, you only have yourself to blame. This isn't Tolstoy. But I was amazed by how much I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Nicole Richie (or her ghostwriter) writes with incredible ease. Her sharp sarcastic commentary was one of the most enjoyable things about this book. While it is expectedly fluffy, you shouldn't feel this is a source of weakness. Indeed, the only weakness I found in this book was Richie's occasionally conceited view of herself. But even still, this is Nicole Richie, so we have to forgive her. The Truth About Diamonds is the kind of book you read to enjoy yourself, not to look for intellectual enlightenment. Richie's heroine, Chloe Parker, is a sympathetic and likeable character. You find yourself rooting for her when she finally decides to put her life back together. I don't know about you, but I judge a book based upon how it makes me feel...if I feel nothing, it's not a good book. But this book made me feel something. Maybe a bit sadistically, I enjoyed Simone's (a thinly-veiled Paris Hilton) downfall and Chloe's triumph. She finally succeeds in making her family and friends proud of her, and the reader finishes this book feeling proud of Richie. Anyone who isn't a total cynic can't deny that this is a great first effort, especially for a 'celebrity writer'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Who would of thought?!?!

    Nicole took us in the life of a sociallite. It was just a good read and i hope she writes another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    TRES BON!!

    Received this book by request for my recent birthday. I found myself able to read this book in two sessions. Very easy reading and held my interest. I love Nicole Richie and was pleasantly surprised at her talent to write a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Amazingly Great

    I wanted to read this mainly because I am a devoted reader of In Touch and US Weekly. I was skeptical that Nicole Richie really wrote the book at first and it was a ghost writer, but some of the paragraphs that made it through the publisher make me think that she wrote 90% of this herself. Great story, I was really interested and practically read the entire book in one sitting (while stuck at an airport). I can't wait until she writes anothe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    NICOLE IS CHLOE?

    In this book, which I did enjoy¿it was hard for me to separate nonfiction from fiction. I know that Nicole says that this book is plainly fiction, but so many events coincide with her life. The flashing boobies at a fashion show, yap pretty sure Nicole did that. Drugs, yeah I¿m pretty sure Nicole did that too. An adopted rock royalty princess, yap sounds slightly like Nicole. Simone reeks of Paris Hilton¿s slimy and uncaring persona. And okay, Chloe also ends up with a DJ, DJ Ray. It was just hard not to think of it as being true, when a lot of it seemed so real. Honestly, Chloe becomes famous from a commercial turned ¿reality¿ series. I did love it, but come on¿just change the names and the random event that was made up and call it a biography! THE TRUTH ABOUT NICOLE RICHIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Great!

    Recommended read! It's very, very good and also funny! Good metaphors and interesting novel all-around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    surprising

    even though i am a nicole richie fan i was a little sceptical about this book being good. but as i read it i was surprised that it was entertaining and funny and just a good book all around. i thought it was full of her personality and had a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1