Customer Reviews for

The Truth about Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 1810 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1419)

4 Star

(250)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

The Truth about Forever

Sarah Dessen is a good writer, creating believable and relatable characters that very adequately reflect what teens are like. My favorite part of the books I've read by her is the dialogue, which, if you examine carefully, is unique to whichever character she's writing ...
Sarah Dessen is a good writer, creating believable and relatable characters that very adequately reflect what teens are like. My favorite part of the books I've read by her is the dialogue, which, if you examine carefully, is unique to whichever character she's writing about. Sarah creates well-rounded characters. And it's probably her biggest skill.
Macy Queen is quite a confused young woman. Her father died, and grief-stricken Macy keeps blaming herself. Worse, she comes to think that if she can just keep things at a constant, that is, perfectly still, she can control her life. And that's her biggest flaw: this unfailing faith in perfection that she simply won't snap out of.
Enter Wes and the whole Wish Catering crew. They help Macy come to life-altering realizations about the controlled forever she keeps thinking she can attain. Wes, especially, helps her see that the future--the eventual forever--is about changes and imperfections and learning from your mistakes, not a present that moves forward with time, never changing.
The story had a nice message. It was well written. The characters--Wes, in particular--were for the most part great. I don't know how else to elaborate on it, because, to me, this book speaks for itself.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Slow to get into but good overall

This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away,...
This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away, all while attaining her perfect boyfriend, Jason. He went away to a summer camp and soon realized they weren't right together and sent her a breakup email. Macy ended up quitting her job at the library, which was mainly a placeholder for Jason while he was away, and picked up the job with the WISH Catering company that catered her mother's party. While working with WISH she formed friendships with the workers and formed an even stronger bond with Wes. They invented a game called Truth where they would tell each other deep truth's about themselves that no one else knew. Despite the intriguing plotline, I just though it was somewhat poorly written. I liked the ending though where the message about forever was revealed by Dessen. It became powerful and it's something that I can take with me throughout the rest of my life.

posted by DOakes on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Makes You Think.

    I think all of Sarah Dessen's books are amazing. They all make you think, this one included. When you are finished, it makes you want to be a better person, and makes you reflect on how to live your life. A very girly book, but recommended to read during the teen years, to keep you going when it gets tough.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    This story was so life like. It wasn't one of those books you re

    This story was so life like. It wasn't one of those books you read and think "this never happens in really life." I had such a connection to the characters. I love Wes, I would date a boy like him in a heart beat. The bad artist that is trying to turn his life around. Macy is a good girl that is just begging for an adventure. The Truth About Forever was the first book I read by sarah and now I'm hooked. If you love a good love story, like me you should try this book out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Banana

    This book was pretty good, I love Sarah Dessen books, she is one of my favorite authors. But this book wasnt her best. But this book is still a great read and if you love sarah dessen as much as i do you will like this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    I Found Out The Real Truth About Forever A couple in a relation

    I Found Out The Real Truth About Forever

    A couple in a relationship split apart for a summer, promising to write each other to keep in touch. By being a teenage girl, she stressed about him not writing her in time she wanted. By her boyfriend being away she learned the truth about forever. My favorite character in the book is Jason. Even though
    Jason was away, the letters he sent Macy were always informative and persuasive to keep her informed about his well being. The book starts off sadly, her boo pop leaves off to summer camp and there is nothing she can do but wait until she gets back. It gets really interesting in my opinion in chapter 5, that’s when it really starts to get to her. I believe the author’s true message was to always believe the promises someone has made to you, even when you want to give up. I would not change anything about this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    My 2nd favorite from Sarah

    this book was just, well amazing there is not any other way to put it. the main character will leave you surprised and feeling incredibly happy in ways you would have never expected. the smart girl in school is finally getting look of what most teenagers do and it is amazing and sweet beyond beliefe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    (: Amazing. As always.

    I've read two or three Sarah Dessen Books. (: She hasn't failed to amuse me. I think this book would make a fabulous movie as well. It's a sleepy summertime novel that will leave you thinking about life, and how you treat people. (: It was amazing. Great ending, and Wes seemed to be the guy of every girl's dreams. Great novel. Simply amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I think this was very good. It had relatable characters was a re

    I think this was very good. It had relatable characters was a relaxing read. I would recommend it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Great

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Excellent

    Easy to read, memorable characters, great writing style! Romance but nothing dirty, back srory but it still sticks to the story line. I love this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    cute

    cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good but not the best

    Easy read but not her best book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I will def

    I absolutely loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I will definately be reading more of Sarah Dessen's books, she seems to be an excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Cute

    This was a cute book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    A nice surprise!

    I have read lock and key by sarah dessen, and I was not particularly impressed, so I was hesitant to buy it. I got the book from the library and finished it in a few hours. It was a pleasent surprise. Although I can't relate to the grief of losing a family member, I understood the main character's obsession for perfection. I loved the minor characters, especially how Macy's dad was described, and there were times I wanted to slap her mom. I LOVED Wes. The book was real and raw (although I thought Jason was slightly over the top) I thoroughly enjoyed the story and wished I had bought it instead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Recommended book!!

    The Truth About Forever was another good story by Sara Dessen. But if I'm being honest, the story lacked the spark that hooked me on Lock and Key and This Lullaby. Macy is basically working for her mother when she needs her for her events, trying to keep up with her grades and to top that off, she has a boyfriend who has some intimacy issues. She's pretty stressed out when she has to take over her boyfriend's job at the library, because two of his friends are being less than friendly towards her. All of that changes when she decides to help out Wish when they are struggling to get everything done at the party Macy's mom is throwing. She helps out, and rolls into a job pretty quickly. It all takes from there when she realizes that she is now working with Wes, a lovely guy with his own problems. I really liked reading the story, but the reason I didn't love it was because I didn't feel connected to the characters at all. I found the characters pretty forgettable, especially Macy. Macy doesn't want Jason's job at the library, yet does it anyway and takes whatever crap his two female friends throw at her. If you don't want it, don't do it! I was very annoyed by that. What also didn't help was that I absolutely hated Jason's guts. He has some intimacy issues, sure, but he is downright rude to Macy when she tries to work on their relationship and only tries to make it up to her when it's too late. I did like Kristy and Bert but for a book of this length I would have liked to have explored the other characters in a lot more depth. Wes was nice enough, but didn’t leave much of an impression and I never felt any sort of spark or chemistry between him and Macy. Their relationship just sort of… happened. This is a very character driven book with very little plot – and sadly I just didn’t connect with Macy. I couldn't feel what the characters were feeling, something that Dessen brought across wonderfully in Lock and Key, immediately skyrocketing it to a spot among my favorite books ever. It missed a spark, and while I still liked it, I have to say that this is my least favorite Sarah Dessen book to date. I have three more of her books though, and I'll make sure to read the other three as well - because I think Sarah is a wonderful author. This book just didn't touch me like I wanted it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Great Story

    Sarah Dessen's best yet. You read this and feel as if you are going through everything with the characters. It becomes very hard to extract yourself from the story, however temporarily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Good book!

    This was an awesome book! It tells the story of a girl that takes a job in catering with some inexperienced workers. While spending more time with her new friends, she goes from Little Miss Perfect to a regular teen. Her mom doesn't approve of the change. This book had some slow parts but other than that it was very good! I loved Wes, but thought Jason and Macy's mom were too tight. I hope you enjoy this book, it was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    I wasnt sure about this book at first.

    When I first started reading this book I didnt know if i liked it. A few of the chapters were pretty long. But in the middle of the book i liked it a lot and it was hard for me to put it down. And now I am a fan of Sarah Dressen! I plan on getting the rest of her books eventually. I would say this book is for the average gurl. The book def moved me and it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Light Read with Good Lessons

    This book is a pretty quick read. Macy is having trouble with figuring out the appropriate way to grieve for her father. She feels that if she shows too much feeling that her mom will break down so Macy hides herself in studying and trying to be perfect for her mother. Perfect doesn't solve anything. I really felt for Macy. It's hard to know what the "right" way to grieve is when you lose a loved one. Each person has their own "right" way and it always seems to take awhile to figure out the way that works best for you. I loved Macy's job with the catering company. The catering company is anything but perfect. They're a group of rag-tag people that always seem to court disaster with whatever job they take on. They're hilarious and they teach Macy that it's okay not to be perfect all the time. What I didn't like was Macy's boyfriend, Jason. He seemed incredibly stiff and not really like much of the teenagers that I know or knew. Wes, on the other hand, was well-written. Bottom line: This is a great book for anyone who wants a light read with some good lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Sarah Dessen rocks

    LOVED IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13