Customer Reviews for

The Truth about Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 1803 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1413)

4 Star

(249)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

The perfect read for hot summer days!

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Slow to get into but good overall

This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away,...
This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away, all while attaining her perfect boyfriend, Jason. He went away to a summer camp and soon realized they weren't right together and sent her a breakup email. Macy ended up quitting her job at the library, which was mainly a placeholder for Jason while he was away, and picked up the job with the WISH Catering company that catered her mother's party. While working with WISH she formed friendships with the workers and formed an even stronger bond with Wes. They invented a game called Truth where they would tell each other deep truth's about themselves that no one else knew. Despite the intriguing plotline, I just though it was somewhat poorly written. I liked the ending though where the message about forever was revealed by Dessen. It became powerful and it's something that I can take with me throughout the rest of my life.

posted by DOakes on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1809 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 91
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    The perfect read for hot summer days!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Truth about Forever

    Sarah Dessen is a good writer, creating believable and relatable characters that very adequately reflect what teens are like. My favorite part of the books I've read by her is the dialogue, which, if you examine carefully, is unique to whichever character she's writing about. Sarah creates well-rounded characters. And it's probably her biggest skill.
    Macy Queen is quite a confused young woman. Her father died, and grief-stricken Macy keeps blaming herself. Worse, she comes to think that if she can just keep things at a constant, that is, perfectly still, she can control her life. And that's her biggest flaw: this unfailing faith in perfection that she simply won't snap out of.
    Enter Wes and the whole Wish Catering crew. They help Macy come to life-altering realizations about the controlled forever she keeps thinking she can attain. Wes, especially, helps her see that the future--the eventual forever--is about changes and imperfections and learning from your mistakes, not a present that moves forward with time, never changing.
    The story had a nice message. It was well written. The characters--Wes, in particular--were for the most part great. I don't know how else to elaborate on it, because, to me, this book speaks for itself.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mrs. Dessen..... YOU ROCK!

    What an amazing author this women clearly know what teens want to read, the world that we want to escape for just a little while. She creates very believable charecters, it actually seems that while you're reading you pretty much know them. The Truth About Forever is my favorite novel from Sarah Dessen it's such a sweet loving book, i could read it over and over again.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Book in the World

    When I was first told to read this book I kind of hesitated. But when I actually started to read it I couldn't put it down. I absolutely love it. I re-read it every time I have a chance. It is honestly my favorite book in the world. I recommend it to everyone. Sarah Dessen is truly an inspiration to me. It has an endless friendships, a growing relationship that turns into love,the truest friends that anyone can ask for. It is just a great book over-all.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a coming of age tale

    This is a coming of age tale about a girl who lost her father, whom she was very close to and feels as if she lost a piece of herself too. It was very touching how she met and befriended the lovely Wes and the rest of the catering crew. She learns through experiences with them that she has know who she is the whole time and should always remember that!
    This was one of the best books i've ever read and have re-read about 3 times. it's touching and you learn so much about yourself when reading it.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbelievably Amazing

    This is my all-time favorite book by Sarah Dessen. I am absolutely amazed by her writing skills. The plot is really good! It was really emotional, but an excellent love story for those of you seeking one. It really helps you learn how to follow your heart and make decisions you'll never regret. The characters, very interesting. I loved all of them. Two thumbs up! Looking for other amazing love stories? Check my recommended choices.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!

    I don't think I have ever read a book that is so simple and yet so good... This one gets added to the re-read pile.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

    I think that every girl should read this book. It changed the books that I read, and how I think about things. It is truly as essential to a girl as a purse and credit card. ;)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Makes You Think.

    I think all of Sarah Dessen's books are amazing. They all make you think, this one included. When you are finished, it makes you want to be a better person, and makes you reflect on how to live your life. A very girly book, but recommended to read during the teen years, to keep you going when it gets tough.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i fell in love (:

    from the first chapter in, i fell in love with this book. i thought it was going to be another book with an overused plot, but i was happily surprised. macy was so relatable, i felt like i actually knew her. and as she fell in love with wes, so did i. i would reccomend this book to anyone and everyone!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    amazing book!

    the truth about forever is definitely one of my all-time favorite books. I highly encourage anyone to read it. sarah dessen writes so many good books and this one was unforgetable!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    This story was so life like. It wasn't one of those books you re

    This story was so life like. It wasn't one of those books you read and think "this never happens in really life." I had such a connection to the characters. I love Wes, I would date a boy like him in a heart beat. The bad artist that is trying to turn his life around. Macy is a good girl that is just begging for an adventure. The Truth About Forever was the first book I read by sarah and now I'm hooked. If you love a good love story, like me you should try this book out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Best Book Ever!!!!!

    This is by far the best book from Sarah Dessen! I love all her books but this one is just.... (hmmm... looking for a word).. well, let's just say it was the best book ever ;) It's so funny how whenever Wes is mentioned in the book I squeal. It's sooo cute! I've re- read this book a million times! Never gets old... and never will ;D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    You get to see the two worlds she walks through...

    This book was a good read. You read as Macy goes through her grief and gets a new bond with her mother. She opens a whole new side of her life that is different, but she's somehow completely comfortable with it. She learns so much. This book is a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    Highly Recomend it to young readers

    everyone 18 and under should read this book i loved it adn i usually dont read i think you should read it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Slow to get into but good overall

    This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away, all while attaining her perfect boyfriend, Jason. He went away to a summer camp and soon realized they weren't right together and sent her a breakup email. Macy ended up quitting her job at the library, which was mainly a placeholder for Jason while he was away, and picked up the job with the WISH Catering company that catered her mother's party. While working with WISH she formed friendships with the workers and formed an even stronger bond with Wes. They invented a game called Truth where they would tell each other deep truth's about themselves that no one else knew. Despite the intriguing plotline, I just though it was somewhat poorly written. I liked the ending though where the message about forever was revealed by Dessen. It became powerful and it's something that I can take with me throughout the rest of my life.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    An interesting story

    The Truth About Forever has an interesting plot. The protagonist, a girl named Macy, strives for perfection in many ways such as, a perfect boyfriend, perfect family and a perfect job. But after her father's unexpected death Macy turned emotionally unstable. She gave up running, her passion, isolated herself from her friends, and devoted herself to what she thought was her perfect boyfriend. By making herself perfect, she could make things right again, long time after her father's demise. Macy's life comes to a juncture when she meets the Wish Catering crew from whom she learned that life isn't all about being perfect but about living to the fullest. She joins the catering business; her new co-workers are hesitant at first, but grow to love Macy. She starts to grow fond of this guy named Wes but she doesn't know what to do since she's kind of in a relationship with this perfect guy from school named Jason. However, when she sees Wes with his girlfriend, she loses hope that they could ever work out. Her mom has a breakdown, and she tells Wes that she doesn't want to be with him, even though she does. She finally realizes that she doesn't want to lose a good thing, especially when she learns Wes broke up with his girlfriend that night, and after playing another round of Truth, they get together, and she runs again for the first time in years. The story portrays how someone gets back on track to live an ordinary life from the darkest hours of one's life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    An Amazing Book

    This book was amazing. I read it all in like 3 days. This book brings you into the life of Macy, who with the help of new friends, finds herself. This book will make your cry and laugh. I will defiantly re-read this book again. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    aha

    AMAZING! i hope to have a Wes someday...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of My Favorite Books

    The Truth about Forever is definately a great book. I recommend it to everybody. All my friends have read it and loved it. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. It is very well written and I could really relate to the characters. Like all of Sarah Dessen's books, it has a good story line and the main character grows throughout the book. And of course it has a happy ending. If you like Sara Dessen's other books, then this one wont dissapoint you. Its great to read again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1809 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 91