Customer Reviews for

The Truth About Forever

Average Rating 4.5
( 1799 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1409)

4 Star

(249)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

The perfect read for hot summer days!

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Slow to get into but good overall

This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away,...
This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away, all while attaining her perfect boyfriend, Jason. He went away to a summer camp and soon realized they weren't right together and sent her a breakup email. Macy ended up quitting her job at the library, which was mainly a placeholder for Jason while he was away, and picked up the job with the WISH Catering company that catered her mother's party. While working with WISH she formed friendships with the workers and formed an even stronger bond with Wes. They invented a game called Truth where they would tell each other deep truth's about themselves that no one else knew. Despite the intriguing plotline, I just though it was somewhat poorly written. I liked the ending though where the message about forever was revealed by Dessen. It became powerful and it's something that I can take with me throughout the rest of my life.

posted by DOakes on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Slow to get into but good overall

    This book was surprisingly a slow read to me, which was shocking especially because of its many fans. The story is about a girl named Macy who is affected by her father's death that she witnessed a few years back. She stopped running and pushed many of her friends away, all while attaining her perfect boyfriend, Jason. He went away to a summer camp and soon realized they weren't right together and sent her a breakup email. Macy ended up quitting her job at the library, which was mainly a placeholder for Jason while he was away, and picked up the job with the WISH Catering company that catered her mother's party. While working with WISH she formed friendships with the workers and formed an even stronger bond with Wes. They invented a game called Truth where they would tell each other deep truth's about themselves that no one else knew. Despite the intriguing plotline, I just though it was somewhat poorly written. I liked the ending though where the message about forever was revealed by Dessen. It became powerful and it's something that I can take with me throughout the rest of my life.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    This book, in my opinion was average. Sarah Dessen does a good j

    This book, in my opinion was average. Sarah Dessen does a good job of leaving a picture of setting and characters in readers heads, however I found the plot to be a little boring. The pace of the book was quite slow, and it took a long time, not untill about the last fifty pages for the story to get exciting, and leaving me wanting to read more. I did enjoy getting to know the characters, but Macy, the main character really frustrated me some of the time with the decisions she made, even though I did feel sorry for her. I would probably reccomend this to teen girl readers who enjoy realistic fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ok

    This book was okay. It satred off boring but as you go into it, it started to get better and the ending was good, but overall i giv the book a 5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed Feelings

    There is no doubt in my mind that Sarah Dessen has talent. There was barely any detail about appearances, surroundings, etc which could have taken the writing from excellent to superb. Everything else is fine and I recommend this book to Grade 6 and up since there are curse words in it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Okay

    This story is not my favorite one by Sarah Dessen. Some of the characters aren't fully developed. A better description of the characters at the beginning would have made the story more relatable and comprehensible, even though the plot is simple. I also though that there were too many unnecesary static characters. They did not all seem to mesh well together. There should have also been another chapter added between the last two chapters to add more closure and a better sense of what happened. I guess the book was just not my cup of tea becuase I could not really realte to it. My best friend said it was the best book ever, so i guess it is just a matter of opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another teen romance.

    Simple and sweet. Each young adult novel brings back memories of my early teens, and for this reason, I'll never stop reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    it was pretty predicrable

    i mean it was super cute but i saw a lot of it coming

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    Same thing

    i read along for the ride by sara dessen last year. it was an amazing book. but this is the same story just different people. i just wish she would branch out and try a different plot for once

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lies be Gone

    This was my first Sarah Dessen and I wasn't disappointed by it.

    I particularly enjoyed how all of the characters were so intricately woven together. Integrated in a way that didn't shift the story from the over all focus on Macy and her life each still played an important and influential role in her growth. Further, the diversity of characters made the story much more fun for me. None felt cliched or over wrought allowing for an enjoyable way to bop back and forth between some of the heavier aspects of the story to something lighthearted and entertaining.

    Central to the story was the theme of relationship building. Macy as the center point in all of the differing relationships as they were forged, rebuilt, or shifted was both expected and not in the least disappointing. It gave clarity to the story and depth of emotion.

    Speaking of emotion, the budding romance between Macy and Wes was lovely. The focus on their friendship from the start as it built into more was realistically portrayed. A fun and somewhat tumultuous ride they were quite rootable as a potential couple.

    All in all this was an enjoyable book. One that I would recommend to readers who like a good mix of emotion and lightheartedness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    Entertainment.

    Good for summer readings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Truth About Forever- 3 out of 5 stars

    The Truth About Forever is a novel about an intelligent girl, Macy, mourning the loss over her father. Her quiet, empty family copes with the death by ignoring it all together. She studies, she cleans, and she works in the library for her genius boyfriend away at camp, living a life of boredom. Macy doesn't exactly realize it until she meets a crazy crew of characters working in the catering business. These people start to fill up her life with happiness and action, but there is a price to pay. Between her unhappy mother, her upside-down social life, and the coping of her father's death, Macy tries to find the balance between work and play.

    I thought the story line of the book was a bit unoriginal, but the unique characters make up for it, for the most part. Also, the ending and progression was pretty predictable throughout the story. All in all, the book was worth the read, and I would recommend it to mostly girls looking for a sweet story.

    Emma C. G.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book though I can not honestly say that it is "Amazing!", "The best book I have ever read!", or "Dessen's best work yet!". There were times that the story just dragged on for me, but then there were times that it moved a bit too fast and it was hard to keep up. Also, there was a great deal of repetitiveness. Macy, the main character, lost her father at a young age and misses him deeply, but it felt like Sarah Dessen kept pounding that out through the pages, and what made it worse is that she did it in the same way. There wasn't much variation of describing Macy's feelings. However, there was a tremendous amount of character development that made the story interesting. The characters were believable, as well. Macy, her mom, Wes, Kristy, Delia. They were all real and easy to relate to. While I never threw the book down in frustration, I didn't find it hard to close up. It never kept me going, or, at least, it was that way through most of the story. The last 50-ish pages were exciting for me, but the rest of the book was a bit of a challenge to get through. Now, it wasn't bad. The story was sweet and cute. The characters even more so. I just wish that Sarah Dessen had added, or taken away, more to the scenes that occurred. I do recommend this book, but not if you are looking for a real "page-turner". It is a nice book for a rainy day or long car trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    The Truth About Forever

    The Truth About Forever is a good book, if somewhat predictable. It is written by Sarah Dessen, whose stories always seem to follow a similar path, but yet, they are each unique and memorable in their own special way. Maybe their individuality comes from the fact that her characters are always so well developed. I have my favorite characters, as well as the characters that get under my skin. My favorite characters are the characters I can relate to, such as Delia, a frazzle-brained chef who never seems to have enough time for anything, and Kristy, a fashion-forward kind of girl. The characters that get under my skin are the characters whose opinions I disagree with such as the heroine's mother, who completely cuts her daughter off from the world, and the heroine's ex-boyfriend, who believes everything must be perfect at all times. All these factors together make The Truth About Forever an excellent read.<BR/><BR/>Cory Steglin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    ehh

    i love sarah dessen books but this one was not my favorite. i caught myself skipping paragraphs and i was trying to finish it,badly.sometimes i would get so frustrated because i don't who is talking and i have to read sentences twice so i could understand what the characters are talking about.all in all though it was a well written book though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    it wasn't a waste of time...

    This book was cute and easy to read...it wasn't great but i didn't regret reading it. You should read it if you get the chance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Apparently Confused

    I find that I am both perplexed and amused by the apparent love for this book. The novel was recommended to me by two of my good friends, each claiming that it is their favorite title by Sarah Dessen. Before their insistence, I had never read a single word of Dessen's, nor had I planned to it wasn't really my style, if that makes any sense at all. Despite my initial rebuttal, however, I eventually gave in and sat down over a weekend to read this thing... what I found was an extreme disappointment. As stated before, I am perfectly confused by all the admirable responses written here by fellow readers I found nothing of extraordinary merit at all. Each character is perhaps as thin as the paper on which they are written, and dialogue is crude, cliché, and poorly constructed. There is nothing original or unique about the plot or the style each scene, each aspect was predictable, and there were no surprises. And although I did find myself growing a bit more excited as Wes entered the scene, he is not memorable as a character, nor were any of his companions. At least not to me. And although I admit that the message is a good and cute, I shall not call it 'life-changing' as I've seen written in these reviews numerous times. I suppose, though, that much of this is only because it is a message that I've related to my own self thousands of times beforehand, and one that I've known thoroughly for a long, long time. But even if I were a newcomer to this sort of philosophy, I would not be stricken by Dessen's creation. I felt no emotion whatsoever reading this book. Honestly, I think the plot is written from an immature perspective, if you catch my drift uncomplicated. And never once did I forget that I was reading a book. Never did I lose myself within the pages or dream of further adventures. In short, I found nothing but shallow waters and aggravating conversations, fluff and attempted sparkle, and a great deal of good intention. (Please excuse this obnoxiously long review...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    Was NOT amazing

    I don't know what to say about this book. It told a good story, but it was pretty slow starting, and slow in the middle, and slow in the end (until the last page or so) I didn't really like the authors writing style either, the dialogue was extreemly dry. the word 'said' was over-used, and at times it was hard to clearly feel the emotion in the dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    The truth about forever

    The main character Macy is six-teen year old. Macy has to spend the summer with out her so called perfect boyfriends who leaves for the summer at a ¿brain camp¿ .Macy seems to be very distant with her mother even though Macy is the perfect daughter, she never gets in trouble or never does anything wrong. Things got even worse after her father¿s death, until she realized what her father wanted to teach her. She learned about to be who she truly is inside and not what other people think of her. But Macy¿s summer turns around when she gets a job at the wish center and meets a boy named Wes. They become close friends and she learns many things from him. Truly I loved this book it is very realistic and it showed me how hard things could be and how you can over come many obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5