Customer Reviews for

The Truth about Lord Stoneville (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This amusing late Regency romance start of a new series is actually and offshoot of the "School for Heiresses"

In 1806 his mother screams at sixteen year old Oliver Sharper then soon after in a rage she rides off to the hunting lodge. Once there she shot and killed her cheating spouse and her self. In a scandalous instant Oliver became the new Marquess of Stoneville.

By 182...
In 1806 his mother screams at sixteen year old Oliver Sharper then soon after in a rage she rides off to the hunting lodge. Once there she shot and killed her cheating spouse and her self. In a scandalous instant Oliver became the new Marquess of Stoneville.

By 1825, Oliver has lived since the murder-suicide the life of a rake. His four younger siblings are as out of control as he is. Disappointed but understanding, their Gran hoped time would heal their wounds, but has not. Hence she informs them at the sight of the pivotal tragedy they will marry within a year or she will cut off their funds.

Oliver plans to meet his Gran's order by marrying someone inappropriate. He goes to a London brothel where he meets American Maria Butterfield who is in England searching for her missing fiancé with a clue taking her to the house of ill repute. Oliver rescues her from a customer, but blackmails her into pretending she is his intended. As they fall in love, Maria must remain patient as her Hellions of Halstead Hall beloved seems confused by his feelings for her.

This amusing late Regency romance start of a new series is actually and offshoot of the "School for Heiresses". The story line is fast-paced and loaded with a strong cast especially the lead rake, his family and his beloved American. The fun once again is in the humorous gender war as Maria rips the haughty wastrel's skin baring his tormented soul filled with guilt and remorse for setting off his mom almost two decades ago. The Truth About Lord Stoneville is that this is a super historical.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was very enjoyable.

I would recommend this book and the series to anyone who likes settings in the 1800's. It was a little more modern than I have previously read.

posted by IammePA on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This amusing late Regency romance start of a new series is actually and offshoot of the "School for Heiresses"

    In 1806 his mother screams at sixteen year old Oliver Sharper then soon after in a rage she rides off to the hunting lodge. Once there she shot and killed her cheating spouse and her self. In a scandalous instant Oliver became the new Marquess of Stoneville.

    By 1825, Oliver has lived since the murder-suicide the life of a rake. His four younger siblings are as out of control as he is. Disappointed but understanding, their Gran hoped time would heal their wounds, but has not. Hence she informs them at the sight of the pivotal tragedy they will marry within a year or she will cut off their funds.

    Oliver plans to meet his Gran's order by marrying someone inappropriate. He goes to a London brothel where he meets American Maria Butterfield who is in England searching for her missing fiancé with a clue taking her to the house of ill repute. Oliver rescues her from a customer, but blackmails her into pretending she is his intended. As they fall in love, Maria must remain patient as her Hellions of Halstead Hall beloved seems confused by his feelings for her.

    This amusing late Regency romance start of a new series is actually and offshoot of the "School for Heiresses". The story line is fast-paced and loaded with a strong cast especially the lead rake, his family and his beloved American. The fun once again is in the humorous gender war as Maria rips the haughty wastrel's skin baring his tormented soul filled with guilt and remorse for setting off his mom almost two decades ago. The Truth About Lord Stoneville is that this is a super historical.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What is the truth about Oliver Sharpe, Marquess of Stoneville, profligate ne plus ultra?

    He and his four siblings are still subjected to the ever-present gossip about the shooting death of their parents almost 20 years ago. Oliver's guilt at thinking he was the cause of the tragedy has shaped his consistent behavior as a wastrel. And he certainly can't believe that anyone would or could love him in spite of it. Oliver has no intention, ever, of marrying, but now his beloved grandmother has delivered an ultimatum: marry by the end of the year or no funds. So he has a plan to foil his grandmother; he'll find himself a floozy and bring her back to Halstead Hall as his intended. Off he goes to London, and instead he finds American shipping heiress Maria Butterfield who has come to England with her goofy cousin Freddy as chaperone, to find her missing fiancé, Nathan Hyatt. They had spotted Nathan's valise and followed the man carrying it to the same brothel where Oliver was floozy-scouting (!). Oliver settles the argument and, instantly attracted to Maria, makes her a deal: he'll hire someone to find her fiancé if she will pretend to be his fiancée. Read on yourself and enjoy your time finishing this lively and warm story. You'll get to know the likeable Sharpe family and their past, and you will be looking forward to reading about their next adventures to marriage.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    The Truth About This Book

    Ms. Jeffries introduces a new clan to the growing collection of romantic series - the Sharpe siblings. While not the most memorable book I've read, this novel makes for an enjoyable distraction from the everyday. If there is one fault, it's that the established conflicts get drawn out just a hair too long. Otherwise, the plot is reasonable, the characters are likable and their happily-ever-after is satisfying. It definitely makes you wonder what is in store for the other four Sharpe siblings. As if interest in them isn't enough to encourage to you to keep reading the series, Ms. Jeffries implies there is more to the death of their parents than meets the eye. I'm looking forward to the next installment.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Great Read

    I couldn't put this book down. Can't wait for the rest of the series. Great sense of humor. Emotions there but not drawn out. Lots going on - you won't be bored. Great love story - with a punch.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Great Read, Wonderful New Series

    I have enjoyed ALL Jeffries books, and this is a GREAT new series with more fun characters, interesting plot lines filled with humor, passion and excitement. You won't be disappointed, I couldn't put it down!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Sucks you into the story!

    I love Sabrina Jeffries! Have read all of her books now and this one is just as good. Where else can you find a meddling grandmother who has such control over the grandchildren's lives?! The Regency period is wonderful, and these Sharpes are truly Hellions of the first degree! Used to having their own way, it's fun to see them being outwitted, even as they think they've outwitted the grandmother! Can't wait until the next one - I know it'll be just as good!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    Good Series Starter

    This was my first book by the author, and I definitely liked it enough to try her other books, and the ending is intriguing in that you want to know what Jarret is thinking he knows...you'll understand when you read. =) Overall a good historical romance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Story

    With this story Sabrina Jeffries has begun another wonderful series. I just could not put it down. And one thing that I also love is how the books are like a family or a world on its own. That is something I like in the books I read as I have mention it before in other reviews. When I pick up a book I want to get lost inside the story and this is something Sabrina Jeffries has accomplished in her books.
    Maria was a great character, with all her doubts and insecurities but also she is strong, willful, she represents many women in the real world. As for Oliver he is just that bad boy that we all like to dream about, the one we can save from the wickedness and keep him to our selves.
    Thank you Sabrina for another great story. I can't wait for the next one. :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Hellions of Halstead Hall

    The entire series is great. The Hellions of Halstead Hall is a series that I always reccomend to my friends. The plot doesn't ever get boring, the mystery keeps you intrigued, and the romance will have you falling in love with whichever couple you're reading about. These books are must reads. I've read them three times! These books will make you laugh, smile, and fall in love with Jeffries and her Hellions.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    You'll fall in love

    with the whole family! It started with an awkward first meeting at sword point in a brothel and just got better from there! This book is filled with humor, witty banter, fabulous characters, sexual tension and a great overarching mystery!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    The truth about Lord Stoneville, book #1 of The Hellions of Hals

    The truth about Lord Stoneville, book #1 of The Hellions of Halstead Hall series.
    I love Ms. Jeffries's characters Oliver Sharpe and Maria Butterfield
    I'ts the story of a grandmother who wishes that her grandchildren would settle down and marry so she can enjoy great-grandchildrens.
    Mystery surrounding the deaths of both parents of Oliver.
    Oliver must marry by year's end or be disinherited.
    Maria is a stubborn and independent woman. Both meet and..
    Funny story of how Oliver's brothers and sisters try to match them together.
    Lots of humour, mystery, romance and love.
    If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then you must read this book, it's well written. She is a great writer! I will definitely read book #2 A Hellion in her bed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Love this series!

    I thought this book was terrific. It was hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    Stoneville first appears in the "School for Heiresses" series and he comes across as not a very nice man. And he is not. He believes himself incapable of love since he is certain he is just like his unfaithful father, whom his mother shot and killed before killing herself twenty years earlier when Oliver was just sixteen. But he meets Maria and convinces her to aid him in his scheme against his grandmothers scheme to force him & his five siblings to marry in a year. I enjoyed the "School for Heiresses"series and I can't wait for the next in the "Hellions of Halstead Hall" book to come out. Sabrina Jeffries is becoming one of my favorite romance authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bumped this book to the top of my reading list and I was beyond excited that it totally lived up to the hype. Sabrina Jeffries' new series "The Hellions of Halstead Hall" is shaping up to be a fabulous addition to her publishing legacy.

    Having read all of Sabrina's previous books I can safely say that this was one of her best. Readers first meet Oliver, Lord Stoneville as a minor character in the series "The School for Heiresses". Now, the intriguing and dark gentleman and his eccentric siblings have a series of their own. This first book focuses on Stoneville himself; his battle with the demons that have haunted him for almost 20 years and the love he finds that could release him from his guilt. As a hero Stoneville is definitely a little troubled and enigmatic but a force to be reckoned with all the same. You can't help but feel sorry for him even though he comes across as a bit of a dissolute rogue.

    Maria, our heroine, is one of my favorite women written into one of Sabina's books. She even pulls a sword on our hero. you go girl! Her strength and resolve pit her against our hero in some creative ways but their attraction proves too much for them both in the end. Their love story has its ups and downs, as to be expected, but the ending is satisfying and prepares the readers for some interesting twists and turns in the books to come.

    I can't review this book without briefly mentioning Oliver's siblings - Jarrett, Gabriel, Minerva and Celia make up a dynamic family with an unbreakable bond and loyalty to each other. You will enjoy the little "detours" they set for Oliver in his pursuit of Maria. Jarrett's story is the next in line, with a release date of Fall 2010. I hate waiting!

    The love scenes are steamy and fast-paced but add to the vibrant colour of this book rather than take away from it - unlike so many other books I have read where the love scenes are so graphic that they ruin the tone of the book. I would give this book a 9 out of 10 on my Sexy Scale. (10 being very graphic in sexy content - 1 being so tame there isn't even a real kiss. ok, well maybe a chaste one)

    I loved this book. I simply can't wait for the release of the next 4 books in the series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story; Good Beginning to a New Series

    I have read most of the "School" books, so I wasn't expecting a lot from this as they never quite caught my interest. I was quite surprised that I really enjoyed this book. There was a very sound reason for the way that Oliver viewed life and why he did not want to live on the family estate. It took his grandmother to push him and his sibling towards marriage, and none too gently.

    The American woman, Maria, who becomes his "partner" is neither insipid nor stupid. She was a character in and of herself, and together they make for a very good story.

    Of note: Oliver sisters seem to have very interesting stories, but his brothers did not have the same "oh I need to read their stories" background.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Wonderful series! Loved the stories.

    This is the first of 5 books in the Hellions of Hallstead Hall. Each book is about a different sibling. This is Oliver's story. The story was fun and very easy to read. I would recommend getting these books...you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    *****

    Wonderful book. I read all 5 of the books -- series known as The Hellions of Halstead Hall -- Lord Stoneville was the first book.
    The other 4 books are about his siblings - 2 brothers & 2 sisters.
    This is definitely a romance novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Was very enjoyable.

    I would recommend this book and the series to anyone who likes settings in the 1800's. It was a little more modern than I have previously read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    awesome

    l have always enjoyed books from this author. this book was just as good as all her others

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Great Book

    I have just became a Sabrina Jefferies fan in the last few months. I have read her 2 other series, and I have to say they just get better! I liked the first book of the Hellions of Halstead! Good book, and a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13