Customer Reviews for

The Truth about Lord Stoneville (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This amusing late Regency romance start of a new series is actually and offshoot of the "School for Heiresses"

In 1806 his mother screams at sixteen year old Oliver Sharper then soon after in a rage she rides off to the hunting lodge. Once there she shot and killed her cheating spouse and her self. In a scandalous instant Oliver became the new Marquess of Stoneville.

By 182...
In 1806 his mother screams at sixteen year old Oliver Sharper then soon after in a rage she rides off to the hunting lodge. Once there she shot and killed her cheating spouse and her self. In a scandalous instant Oliver became the new Marquess of Stoneville.

By 1825, Oliver has lived since the murder-suicide the life of a rake. His four younger siblings are as out of control as he is. Disappointed but understanding, their Gran hoped time would heal their wounds, but has not. Hence she informs them at the sight of the pivotal tragedy they will marry within a year or she will cut off their funds.

Oliver plans to meet his Gran's order by marrying someone inappropriate. He goes to a London brothel where he meets American Maria Butterfield who is in England searching for her missing fiancé with a clue taking her to the house of ill repute. Oliver rescues her from a customer, but blackmails her into pretending she is his intended. As they fall in love, Maria must remain patient as her Hellions of Halstead Hall beloved seems confused by his feelings for her.

This amusing late Regency romance start of a new series is actually and offshoot of the "School for Heiresses". The story line is fast-paced and loaded with a strong cast especially the lead rake, his family and his beloved American. The fun once again is in the humorous gender war as Maria rips the haughty wastrel's skin baring his tormented soul filled with guilt and remorse for setting off his mom almost two decades ago. The Truth About Lord Stoneville is that this is a super historical.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

*****

Wonderful book. I read all 5 of the books -- series known as The Hellions of Halstead Hall -- Lord Stoneville was the first book. The other 4 books are about his siblings - 2 brothers & 2 sisters. This is definitely a romance novel.

posted by 11710393 on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What is the truth about Oliver Sharpe, Marquess of Stoneville, profligate ne plus ultra?

    He and his four siblings are still subjected to the ever-present gossip about the shooting death of their parents almost 20 years ago. Oliver's guilt at thinking he was the cause of the tragedy has shaped his consistent behavior as a wastrel. And he certainly can't believe that anyone would or could love him in spite of it. Oliver has no intention, ever, of marrying, but now his beloved grandmother has delivered an ultimatum: marry by the end of the year or no funds. So he has a plan to foil his grandmother; he'll find himself a floozy and bring her back to Halstead Hall as his intended. Off he goes to London, and instead he finds American shipping heiress Maria Butterfield who has come to England with her goofy cousin Freddy as chaperone, to find her missing fiancé, Nathan Hyatt. They had spotted Nathan's valise and followed the man carrying it to the same brothel where Oliver was floozy-scouting (!). Oliver settles the argument and, instantly attracted to Maria, makes her a deal: he'll hire someone to find her fiancé if she will pretend to be his fiancée. Read on yourself and enjoy your time finishing this lively and warm story. You'll get to know the likeable Sharpe family and their past, and you will be looking forward to reading about their next adventures to marriage.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    The Truth About This Book

    Ms. Jeffries introduces a new clan to the growing collection of romantic series - the Sharpe siblings. While not the most memorable book I've read, this novel makes for an enjoyable distraction from the everyday. If there is one fault, it's that the established conflicts get drawn out just a hair too long. Otherwise, the plot is reasonable, the characters are likable and their happily-ever-after is satisfying. It definitely makes you wonder what is in store for the other four Sharpe siblings. As if interest in them isn't enough to encourage to you to keep reading the series, Ms. Jeffries implies there is more to the death of their parents than meets the eye. I'm looking forward to the next installment.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    Good Series Starter

    This was my first book by the author, and I definitely liked it enough to try her other books, and the ending is intriguing in that you want to know what Jarret is thinking he knows...you'll understand when you read. =) Overall a good historical romance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    You'll fall in love

    with the whole family! It started with an awkward first meeting at sword point in a brothel and just got better from there! This book is filled with humor, witty banter, fabulous characters, sexual tension and a great overarching mystery!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    Stoneville first appears in the "School for Heiresses" series and he comes across as not a very nice man. And he is not. He believes himself incapable of love since he is certain he is just like his unfaithful father, whom his mother shot and killed before killing herself twenty years earlier when Oliver was just sixteen. But he meets Maria and convinces her to aid him in his scheme against his grandmothers scheme to force him & his five siblings to marry in a year. I enjoyed the "School for Heiresses"series and I can't wait for the next in the "Hellions of Halstead Hall" book to come out. Sabrina Jeffries is becoming one of my favorite romance authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story; Good Beginning to a New Series

    I have read most of the "School" books, so I wasn't expecting a lot from this as they never quite caught my interest. I was quite surprised that I really enjoyed this book. There was a very sound reason for the way that Oliver viewed life and why he did not want to live on the family estate. It took his grandmother to push him and his sibling towards marriage, and none too gently.

    The American woman, Maria, who becomes his "partner" is neither insipid nor stupid. She was a character in and of herself, and together they make for a very good story.

    Of note: Oliver sisters seem to have very interesting stories, but his brothers did not have the same "oh I need to read their stories" background.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Great Book

    I have just became a Sabrina Jefferies fan in the last few months. I have read her 2 other series, and I have to say they just get better! I liked the first book of the Hellions of Halstead! Good book, and a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Loved it!!!

    This was a great book. Loved the characters. I can not wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    I enjoy Ms Jeffries books

    All of the Hellions of Halstead Hall were very good. Great way to relax and enjoy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Good one!

    First of her books I have read and will try more. Held my interest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Good

    Enjoyed this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    truely hellions

    these siblings are truely hellions. it is always good to see a woman make a man whole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    best of the series!

    this story is the best of this series. this is true of many series, the first book is usually better than the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Wonderful Storie

    Chalenging to read. Loved the story. Great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to get into but finally satisfying

    I found this book hard to "get into." It took me a good bit longer to read than usual because it did not move swiftly and the characters were difficult to believe or care about. However, the second half of the book moved more quickly and became much more absorbing. I finally began to believe in and "like" the characters. Ultimately, the conclusion was quite satisfying as the heroine and hero fell in love and the villain got his due. I may even try another in this series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5