BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Truth about Love (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    I really liked this book!

    I really enjoyed 'The Truth About Love'. Gerrard Debbington, the male lead in 'The Truth About Love' was a teenager who had been falsely accused of theft when first introduced in Book #2 'A Rake's Vow' of Stephanie Lauren's Bar Cynster series. He appeared a second time in Book #5 'A Secret Love' where he helped destroy a syndicate of lenders out to defraud borrowers. Now in book #12 Gerrard is all grown up and quite the hunk and involved in his own romance! Gerrard is rich, but his first love has always been painting - specifically landscapes, however on occasion he'll paint the occasional family portrait. In 'The truth About Love' he's been asked to paint the lovely and reserved Jacqueline, and learns the various gossips suspect she's involved in two murders - her fiance and her own mother. Her father who has commissioned the portrait is hidden away, mindlessly lost in grief, and in a desperate and irrational bid to fight the gossip and innuendo surrounding his daughter wants the artist in Gerrard to find and reveal her 'innocence' in the portrait (shades of 'The Picture of Dorian Grey'!). Prior to meeting Jacqueline he's lured by the promise he can also paint the fabulous gardens around her ancestral home, but after meeting her they are drawn to each other, and Gerrard agrees to the commission. Fortunately he arrives at the estate with his good friend, Barnaby Adair, and the two men must deal with the snobs and ineffectual local officials and set out to prove her innocent by finding the actual murderer and completing the painting. Along the way Jacqueline and Gerrard fall deeply in love. Stephanie Laurens is a very descriptive writer, and she's woven a wonderful tale about the wealthy class of the time period. The scenery is lush and the various Gardens of the Gods come alive. The lovemaking is achingly intense. The intricacies involving painting a masterpiece is fascinating. The villain is particularly dastardly and the ending is satisfying. And it's wonderful to see various characters from previous novels brought back to the forefront - Devil and Honoria, Vane and Patience, and Minnie and Timms. The introduction of Barnaby Adair presents a new path for Ms. Laurens. I highly recommend this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Excellent book and very enjoyable series!!  Recommend Very Highl

    Excellent book and very enjoyable series!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    excellent read!!

    I have truly enjoyed all the stories within the Cynster series....this one included! I especially love the recurring characters popping up throughout the series, as well as the introduction of new characters as the family continues to grow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story

    I really loved this book. The plot was very interesting and the romance was loving and sweet. The characters were strong, but sensitive. The two lead characters were really meant for each other. One of my favorites featuring a Cynster connection as the lead character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    A Thesaurus isn't that expensive-- Get one

    Horrible, horrible. This turned out to be a poorly-written, sloppy, trashy 5-cent romance novel. The author loves the words 'glory' (which she tosses in enough times to rob the word of any meaning) and 'evocative' (which she manages to use about 5 times in 2 pages). Ugh, get a thesaurus already! So, the plot: a famous painter, Gerrard, is to paint a 23-year-old woman, Jacqueline, and, by way of the painting, prove that she is innocent of both her mother's and her fiancé¿s murders. Ridiculous. Of course, said girl and guy fall hopelessly in love within days, and the painter knows she is 'the one,' and vice versa. Everyone thinks she's guilty, even her dad! Oh, also, the painter and his friend work with the lady and her aunt to conduct a whisper campaign, persuading the public to change their minds about her guilt in the murders. It's so silly. They show up at a bunch of balls and afternoon teas, and say, 'No, it wasn't J. We've concluded it was someone who was in love with J!' like they're just dishing about the latest in Paris fashions. So weird. And, if we're supposed to believe that this is set in the 1800's, then, why is this unmarried lady allowed in the painter's presence alone, why are they allowed to wander through the gardens for hours on end, unsupervised, and how does she make so many midnight visits to the painter's bedchamber without being reported to her father by servants?? It's too unbelievable. Don't go here. Incredibly lame.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    It's not that bad

    After reading the other reviews I was tempted to skip this book - but as I've become hooked by the connections to the family in Ms. Laurens other books, I took a chance. I am glad I did. Yes, the 'Truth in Great Art' idea stretches things, but the characters and methods used are true to themselves and their times. The power of rumor and assumption in Regency society did rule people lives. So while we find, as did Barnaby, the assumption of guilt by implication ridiculous, Ms. Laurens paints a picture (pun intended) that allows the assumption to stand as a believable backdrop to the story. It's one of the reasons why I read Regency in the first place. Understanding the restrictions of Society at that time, reading how characters can find love, respect and happiness within the dramatic confines the writers concoct. If you like Stephanie Laurens' other books, read this too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    In need of oxygen?

    While there was a passable mystery woven into the story the romance between between Gerrard and Jacqueline left too much to be desired. A Respiratory Therapist would not have been out of place had one been available in that time period. The author used 'lung seizing' and breaths that 'stopped-started-squeaked-were shallow-non-existant-were huge intakes-small intakes-barely audible intakes-shuddering ones'-well you get the drift.I guess you can't win them all but I was so looking forward to more Cynster reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    VERY DISAPPOINTING

    NO COMPARSION TO HER OTHER NOVELS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Painful

    Even though most of the other readers did not give this a good review, I figured I should give it a chance, based on the quality of Laurens' other Cynster novels. I am VERY sorry I did. As I write this review, I am about three quarters of the way through this book and can hardly make myself continue with it. First and foremost, I have trouble with the story. It's pretty far-fetched to think a painter (Gerard) would be hired because his portrait of Jacqueline would show everyone she is innocent. Come on. And once it becomes obvious they are romantically involved, what does that do to Gerard's credibility as far as how he paints her? Of course, he'll make her look innocent if he is involved with her. And we're supposed to believe it's reasonable that everyone in her town is going to see the completed portrait and go, 'Oh, I can't believe we thought she was guilty this whole time...she looks so innocent in her portrait, she just has to be innocent!' Laurens should have given Gerard a different career (like Barnaby's hobby of being a crime fighter) and it would have been more believeable for Jacqueline's family to summon Gerard. If you can get past the far-fetched plotline the next thing you have to overcome is the fact that there is really no tension between the two main characters from the start...they pretty much like each other right off the bat. I think one of the other reviewers hit the nail on the head when they suggested maybe Laurens has gone too far trying to write books about the Cynster extended family. Once the main Cynsters had their stories, Laurens should have moved on to something else. Although, the Bastion Club books have been no better. This book was painful to read -- do yourself a favor and skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    A Little Unbelievable

    Not that great. My biggest objection is the fact that Jacqueline, a 23 year old virgin, has this torrid affair with Gerrard, but seems geniuinely 'surprised' when his family seems to think they will marry. She claims it never occurred to her. I really don't believe a young well brought up woman of that era would NOT think of marriage to a man she's sleeping with. A little bit unbelievable. It was at this point I closed the book and went on to another one. It just didn't hold my interest after that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Not her best work

    I love most of the books in this series, but I feel like the author is really stretching it with this one. The mystery is predictable, the love scenes are a little boring and the author seems to be increasingly relying on 'lungs seizing' to create sexual tension. I find myself wondering how long it will be until the same exact descriptive terms are used for the same exact things in every book. I love the Cynster's but Ms. Lauren's may have run out of good ideas for their boring extended family. I hope the next Bastion club novel is a little more clever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Ok, but not her best

    Stephanie Laurens has written a surprisingly good mystery story here, and there is a love story there, too. It seems a little secondary to the mystery, though. This book doesn't have the sexually-charged erotic scenes I have always liked about Ms Lauren's books. The last few books she's written have also seemed to have a lot of very choppy prose. It just isn't as readable (editing?) as some of the earlier works. Way too many commas! Sometimes I'd read a 4 line paragraph and realize it was all one sentence and I had to re-read to figure it out. I hope the next Bastion Club book is better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2