BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Truth about Money (3rd Edition)

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Very readable book for anyone who wants to get their financial house in order

    Ric's book is very readable and insightful. I almost wish that it the lessons it contains were taught in High School. Ric demystifies money management and inspires people to take control of their financial future

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Informative, humorous, and helpful.

    The Truth about Money covers the prerequisite fundamentals for financial intelligence. It delivers the information in a clear concise fashion, and uses real-life examples to further explicate the matter. Highly recommended for those who want to better understand the financial world and create a foundation for future investments.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Says it like it is!

    For several years, I've been weeding through financial books to get different 'professional' opinions and thoughts on money and how to manage assets. If you went to the personal finance section of a bookstore, you'll see dozens if not hundreds of titles. This book is the ONLY book you need- period! Read everything else, then buy this book. All of your necessary questions are answered. I like a guy who says WHY to do what he tells you, and what to expect if you don't follow his advice. I like all of Ric's stuff, but this is the true original, and is the only book you'll need.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Must have Reference

    This book is fantastic. It is comprehensive for the average person who needs to know about crucial areas in personal finance. The author covers everything, and not only on a superficial level, but quite a bit in depth. One aspect that I really appreciate is that he doesn't just say, 'This is good, but this is bad', he really takes the time to explain how certain market forces work, as a working background, then says, 'And that is why this is good' - and in that way enables the reader to be able to analyze certain investments, not just memorize specifics. For instance, his section on explaining bonds was really eye-opening. Finally, he does all of this in a very conversational manner, so you don't get bored like other techincally oriented books might induce. This is a must-own, mini-finance dictionary for the person who is asking, 'How do I start understanding all this finance stuff?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Highly informative and educational. If most people would just re

    Highly informative and educational. If most people would just read this book, we'd be a far more prosperous nation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    The bible of Personal Money Management

    I first read this book in 1996. It is the definitive work on Personal Finance. I have read all the new editions which are written to keep the information current. One would expect a book on this topic to be dry and boring but this author has a breezy style that uses many anecdotes and analogies which makes it fun to read! My favorite is the story of Jack and Jill and compounding interest! This book has been so helpful that I present it to all the young people in my life upon the graduation from school. It covers everything from retirement planning to estate planning, getting out of debt to investing and home mortgages. I am here today to buy one for a nephew who is embarking on his adult life. The book served me so well, I now listen to Mr. Edelman's weekly radio show and hired his firm to provide financial planning guidance for me and my wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Easy to read and understand - comprehesive

    I read this book from the library and then decided to buy it so I could have it available to discuss the wide range of financial areas covered with my college age children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Simple

    The book lays it out plain and simple so those that understanding nothing of the finance world...can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2