Customer Reviews for

The Truth About The Titanic

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book

Well written and heart breaking read. Anyone with an interest in Titanic should take the time to read and absorb the story.

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Some Interesting Facts - somewhat dry.

I still haven't finished this book, since others are more interesting to me. It is a first-person account of the actual ship going down, who was on it, how they acted. Some of that was interesting to me, but am not familiar with the many names, so it wasn't as meaning...
I still haven't finished this book, since others are more interesting to me. It is a first-person account of the actual ship going down, who was on it, how they acted. Some of that was interesting to me, but am not familiar with the many names, so it wasn't as meaningful to me in this day and age.

There are some accounts of people having much courage, and that was inspiring...just a slow book in general.

posted by LikestoRead46 on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Amazing book

    Well written and heart breaking read. Anyone with an interest in Titanic should take the time to read and absorb the story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Outstanding!highly recommended

    Anyone with any interest in the Titanic and learning about it thru the survivors prospective will find this a great reading experience.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Great

    I love it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Very informative

    I have read many books about the Titianic but few give the minute by minute account of what exactly went on right before, during and after the sinking of the ship. It was very interesting to read about each life boat and the people in them. It is a very good account of the going ons. I would recommend this to any one remotely interested in the Titanic.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Truthful personal experience of a tragedy

    I've read three books written by survivors of the Titan, and this one is by far the best. It is written in an easy to read style, but is complete and thorough in its coverage of the event. If you only read one book by a Titan survivor, this one should be it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Some Interesting Facts - somewhat dry.

    I still haven't finished this book, since others are more interesting to me. It is a first-person account of the actual ship going down, who was on it, how they acted. Some of that was interesting to me, but am not familiar with the many names, so it wasn't as meaningful to me in this day and age.

    There are some accounts of people having much courage, and that was inspiring...just a slow book in general.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Fact filled, dry

    In no way would I romanticize the sinking of the Titanic. However, after reading this gentleman's account, I was satisfied. What happened was tragic, lifechanging for each survivor, but he continued on with American and British inquiries, the opinions of nearly all the survivors in each of the lifeboats, ad nauseum. I got the idea without rehashing it for another 100 pages. Alright already!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Very good

    It was good to read and "indisputable" Titantic story. A tragic true tale of who lives and who dies due to man's overconfidence and arrogance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Recommended

    Interesting but too repetitive in certain chapters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great

    You guys should stop talking about gfs and start talking about the book. Anyway, it is a great book for anyone who is intrested in what happened to the Titanic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    To liam

    What about zoie

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Great perspective from a survivor of the disaster.

    Fascinating read, written by Archibald Gracie. Really gives insight as to how the drama played out the night of the sinking. There are a few spots where the words are out of place, but still an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Epic

    It was Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    The factual information was very interesting. However, the same

    The factual information was very interesting. However, the same information was repeated, almost verbatim, over and over again with each individual's account of the event. The author gave the same accounting for each and every lifeboat on the ship and sometimes more than one individual within that lifeboat. If lifeboat 2 had 3 accounts associated with it, the author started from the beginning as to the number and names of each individual on that boat for each individual telling. It was so repetitive that I had to force myself to finish it. I felt like I was in the twilight zone because I had just read the same information a few pages ago. I have read many books on the Titanic and this was probably the worst I've read. Extremely dry and flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    The true story

    This story is not a make up story. This is what really did accure. If you want fairy tale do not get this as this tells facts not not made up. So do not find flault with the true facts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Tjis is the worst book ever

    Hpribe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Brigit

    On...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2