Customer Reviews for

Truth and Humility

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Taking a page from long-standing feuds, J.A. Dennam has reimagin

    Taking a page from long-standing feuds, J.A. Dennam has reimagined a Romeo and Juliet story and brought us Danny (Danielle) and Austin as the star-crossed lovers.   Their families have competed and feuded for years, both building successful companies and wealth.  When Danny wants to earn her own money for university, and strikes out on her own to get a job at THE competitor’s company, the story really starts to heat up. 




    Characters are plentiful, but there is no scrimping on their development or a reader’s ability to engage with them.  Each character has a perspective on the situation between the two families: some have more personal reasons for the animosity and tension, even if those reasons are rooted in childhood.  




    Danny is clever, strong and smart with an iron will and an independent streak.  She always feels capable and willing to take on challenges, even when she is worried about the effect her growing feelings for Austin will have on her family relationships.  




    Austin has a dead fiancé, a wounded heart and secrets.  Running the family business and trying to keep his former friend and new rival’s sister, and his new employee out of his more salacious thoughts.  From denial of the attraction, to fighting the attraction to finally giving in to the moment and the potential: his character’s conflicts are well defined and easily felt by readers.  




    So much more happens with twists, turns and secrets revealed: and the romance is sexy, steamy and sweetly developed with a happy ending that will please.  Such a strong theme of revenge runs through this story that it was difficult for me to believe, at the end, that the romance and the connection to all of the characters was so strongly present and memorable.  Far from being a secondary element, the romance between Austin and Danny is a nice counterpoint and contrast to the action that swirls around them.  A great start to a new series. 




    I received an eBook from the author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    The Cahills and Bennett families have been in a long going feud

    The Cahills and Bennett families have been in a long going feud for as long as Danny and Austin can remember. Austin and Danny’s brother Derek at one time had planned to end the feud but fate intervened and the two men became bitter enemies.  Danny just wants to get a degree and her father refuses so she has decided to  go to work  at the Cahills to pay for her degree. She figures the Cahill’s never work with their people so she will be able to go in under pretense name get her money and go.  Austin remembers Derek had a brother Dan and decides this is the perfect opportunity to get his revenge on Derek. 
    Wow this story was utterly amazing. There were so many twists and turns some foreseeable and some real shockers.  I laughed and I cried. I cheered and I wanted to punch Austin a few times myself.  What a great story! I highly recommend this  one if you like hot, steamy romance and some mystery and intrigue.
    Recommendations: If you like a Hero that is also the enemy, a fiery strong Heroine, lots of twists, and intrigue this one is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Enjoyed the characters and their interactions.

    Enjoyed the characters and their interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2014

    Danny is a girl raised in a man¿s world, and definitely knows ho

    Danny is a girl raised in a man’s world, and definitely knows how to hold her own, giving Austin a run for his money. I love that she is not the typical “girl” but still maintains her feminine side. The banter between them is witty, sexy, and entertaining – and there are plenty of twists & turns. This book is refreshing and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Enjoyed!

    Non stop reading. Loved the characters and story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Great Read!

    Laughter, tension, and sexy characters. Fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: J.A. Dennam Published by: J.A.D. Age Recommended: Adult

    Author: J.A. Dennam
    Published by: J.A.D.
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 5

    Review:

    "Truth and Humility" By J.A. Dennam was a wonderful romance, powerful mystery and suspenseful novel that simply one I could not put down. It truly has it all: drama, suspense, mystery, romance, action, murder, secrets and a lots of emotion and passion that will have you taking you on so many twist and turns, not knowing where this author was taking you next. However, you would definitely arrive at the right time! It was one of those novels hard to find out just who was the bad person is until the end. This was very well done with its smoothness of it all. We have two families (Bennett's and the Cahill's) that had been feuding for generation since the 1800's over MONEY and PROPERTY. This can only leave you saying OMG! Will this ever end? Also, later it seems like after a 'secretly formed close friendship during teens (between Derek and Austin) even had fallen apart due to a murder that took place. Now as the story moves on we find Danielle (Danny) Bennett who was the youngest of nine and only girl, now twenty one needs money to go to college but her father refuses so Danny set out to make her own money. So, she take the best paying job at the 'Cahill Salvage.' They won't know her...Wrong! Isn't this the enemy territory? Well, this is where I say you must pick up "Truth and Humility" to find out what the author has instore for the reader.You may think that this feud is all about revenge but as you get into the read you will see how its unfolds becoming more tragic as the truths come out in the open and you will find the epilogue will bring the stories twist and turns all the way around giving the reader a well written novel. The characters from Danny, Derek, Austin, Mel, to Mac were all well developed and intriguing. I loved how the author was able to pull you into the novel making you even to feel what each character felt. Be ready for a 'family duel, a thirst for vengeance, and a forbidden love' making this one romantic suspenseful story and I really enjoyed the author presenting this to us in third person.

    If you are in for a suspenseful, mystery, romance contemporary read the "Truth and Humility" would be recommended to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    Danny Bennett doesn¿t just want to tear things down, she wants t

    Danny Bennett doesn’t just want to tear things down, she wants to build things.  That is why she takes a job with the Cahills.  The Family that has been feuding with the Bennett’s for as long as anyone can remember.  She takes the job to earn money to go to school.




    Danny’s boss, Austin Cahill, wants revenge.  Revenge against Danny’s brother, Derek, who is accused of murdering Austin’s fiancée.  He decides to use Danny to get that revenge against the Bennett’s.  But, of course, things get complicated.  Austin finds himself full of desire for Danny.




    At the start Austin is a jerk.  He is rude, mean, and extremely manipulative.  However, as Danny works hard and wins over the rest of the crew, she also starts to win over her boss.  J.A. Dennam wrote about the sexual tension they felt for each and I felt like a fly on the wall watching each scene play out.  It was so fun to watch them struggle with what they have been taught by their families, to hate each other, and what they feel for each other, love.




    The plot was a page turner.  The romance was hot and heavy, but the suspense was what kept me reading.  The story was not predictable, which is what kept me turning the pages.  I had no clue who done it and am thrilled with the ending.




    As I finished the book I wanted to know more, but still felt satisified, full, with the whole story.  I fell in love with the characters and their stories.  This is an excellent story that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Hard read

    This was hard to read, hard to get into, hard to connect...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    I just finished reading Truth and Humility in one sitting! I fou

    I just finished reading Truth and Humility in one sitting! I found it to be a very engaging storyline that blended elements of romance, light erotica and mystery, which successfully engaged me on many levels. The ending was a surprise to me and that's a rare thing as I read mysteries so frequently! This is definitely a book that I would recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great read, family drama

    Family feud keeps Danny and Austin apart until their attraction proves too much...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1