Customer Reviews for

Tsar (Alex Hawke Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

great author!

ive read all of ted bells books including: nick of time, hawke, assassin, pirate, and spy, and cant wait for this new tsar book. im sure it will be just as good as his other amazing works hes written.

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

spy thriller

If you like Ian Fleming and Clive Cussler, you will like this book, too. Very exciting and just the thing for a rainy day or a long flight from coast to coast. Share with the spouse, too.

posted by SpikeJL on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    great author!

    ive read all of ted bells books including: nick of time, hawke, assassin, pirate, and spy, and cant wait for this new tsar book. im sure it will be just as good as his other amazing works hes written.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    OUTSTANDING NOVEL WORTH OF PRAISE

    Just a quick note to extend my sincere thanks for all your wonderful books. I absolutely love the character you have created in Hawke. Fascinating and imaginative; absolutely first rate. <BR/><BR/>In all fairness, being Irish, I was initially a skeptic regarding the British agent aspect, however, having some intel background (American Agencies not Irish), I have to admit that your combination of fiction, fact and implication; well to put it simply, they truly warrant extreme praise. Even if the character is English. <BR/><BR/>I have one question, however, concerning the latest installment, Tsar. While I enjoyed it immensely, especially how you incorporated all of Putin's qualities into Rostov while keeping Putin separate, I gotta know something; specifically, did you mention the GRU on purpose, because most authors never seem to catch the fact that they were and may still be the largest intel threat in existence. Clearly you have done your homework. <BR/><BR/>I suspect you may even be familiar with their famous defector Stanislav Lunev. A truly fascinating, albeit a somewhat frightening man to speak with in person. <BR/><BR/>With any luck I will meet you at a book signing in the future. It would be interesting to compare notes; at least to the extent possible. <BR/><BR/>Once again, thank you for the novels. <BR/><BR/>O'C

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hawking The Book

    This book appealed to me as I like Ted Bell's stories. One could pick with this or that, but overall it's a good read, with plenty of suspense and interesting turns.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A STUNNING READ, A MARVELOUS ACHIEVEMENT IN THE GENRE!

    I haven't read a thriller this good since Robert Ludlum passed away. And it gave me hope for the future of this genre. Instead of the formulaic pablum I see out there, this is a work of great originality, style, and intelligence. I parsed it out, reading only a chapter a night in order to make it last as long as possible. When it was over, I missed the characters so much I went out and ordered the entire series. Do not listen to these negative reviews, buy the book and you'll see what I mean. It is a must read for anyone who enjoys literate fiction of any kind.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GRIPPING, RIPPING, AND UNPUTDOWNABLE

    Has to be my favorite action/political/spy thriller ever. It's my first Hawke book<BR/>and I had no idea what I was in for. From the opening line of the first chapter, <BR/>'War and peace', I knew I was in very capable hands. This is no ordinary formula<BR/>driven author. Tremendous freshness, humor, emotion, character depth, action,<BR/>violence (a little too much maybe) and sex. Lots of sex. This is the complete package<BR/>and what thrillers (though so few are) are supposed to be all about. You can be laughing, scared senseless, and on the verge or tears and that just doesn't happen in most of the<BR/>thrillers I've read lately. An original talent and one to watch. Can't wait for the next one and looking forward to starting at the beginning with Hawke. Finally, I'm hooked on a series again and it's a joy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT A SPLENDID NOVEL THIS IS!

    I'm not normally a great fan of "genre fiction" but I must say this thriller<BR/>has given me a new appreciation for what a talented author can do within<BR/>the parameters of any genre. There is humor here, and lovely turns of phrases,<BR/>there is an immensely appealing hero, and a topical plot that would one to <BR/>believe the author has "friends in high places". I could not recommend a book<BR/>more highly.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    SCARED STIFF

    I don't know where this author gets his information but it has to be someplace the rest of us can't go. This book outlines a detailed plan for Russia to go back to her old Soviet borders and unless Putin got an early copy, it's a little eery that Bell was writing this over a year ago, given events in Georgia. But the best part was the sheer joy of reading an absolutely thrilling novel, beautifully written, with marvelous characters, and an ending which will have you searching for the oxygen canister! It's funny in places, but not over the top. One page you're laughing your head off and the next you're scared out of your wits. Thrillers this good don't come down the pike very often. I read a lot of same old, same old in the genre. But not Tsar. It's not even remotely like nothing else out there.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Fast-Moving Action

    Rough and tough action in a setting that mirrors the current problems of a dangerous world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    action-packed electrifying thriller

    Vladimir Putin has brought pride (and heat) to the Russian people as he looks into Bush¿s soul and found it lacking he faces down the inane NATO attempts to contain his beloved motherland, the New Russia. Meanwhile British super SPY Alex Hawke relaxes on a Bermuda beach after completing his last mission. There he meets and begins to fall in love with Russian artist Anastasia Korsakova.------------ Her father is internationally renowned for his inventions and scientific research a Noble Prize winner. However, her dad Count Ivan Korsakov is also the secretive Dark Rider, who is the power behind Russia Putin isn¿t even puppet status. The Dark Rider¿s short term goal is to rebuild the Soviet Empire his long term goal, all of Europe and his BHAG the globe. His troops are set to invade their neighbors as step 1 while his agents begin a terrorist plot on American soil as step 1A. Only Hawke has the skills to prevent Cold War II turning into WW III but he is somewhat preoccupied by the daughter of the Tsar of the new Russian Empire.--------------------- Talk about timing with the Georgia invasion, Ted bell looks like a genius with this action-packed electrifying thriller. The story line is fast-paced from the moment that Alex and Anastasia meet and never slows down as confrontation seemingly everywhere is the norm. Readers will salute Mr. Bell for his astuteness while appreciating a terific tale starring espionage agent Hawkins vs. the real New Russia.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!!

    I bought this book for my husband for this coming Christmas, but he couldn't wait<BR/>and opened it early!!! He read it cover to cover in one weekend and was completely<BR/>crazy about it. He insisted I read it (I only read non-fiction, history and biography)<BR/>but I have to admit I was blown away by this book. It is wonderfully written and non-stop action from the first page to the last. Parts of it are hysterically funny and the hero<BR/>is VERY attractive. A great love story underlies all the action and, not wanting to be<BR/>a spoiler I won't tell you the ending but I will say I was so emotionally caught up with<BR/>the characters I actually cried!!! I'm going break my non-fiction habit for this writer<BR/>and read everyone of his books. They are not just good literature, they are absolutely<BR/>fabulous.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    SURPRISE HIT OF THE FALL SEASON

    I am not alone. I LOVE this book! We had it in my book club this month and it was <BR/>unanimous: an almost perfect spy thriller! First, it's about Russia, and there is a great<BR/>deal of historical background that puts what's going on today in perspective. Putin has<BR/>a cameo that is one of the most hysterically funny scenes I've seen in years. I read it<BR/>out loud to our little group. And if there is a more attractive, appealing, devil-may-care hero in modern fiction than Alex Hawke I'd like to hear about him. He is the best and if they don't make a movie of this series, they've lost it out there. The supporting roles are all 3 dimensional and you come to care about each and every one of them. My favorite is Stokely Jones who makes me laugh every time he has a line of dialog. Brilliant writing, tight plot, completely unexpected climax, and I could not recommend a book more highly. Don't miss this one, it's the sleeper hit of the fall line-up.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    spy thriller

    If you like Ian Fleming and Clive Cussler, you will like this book, too. Very exciting and just the thing for a rainy day or a long flight from coast to coast. Share with the spouse, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Excellent book. Good read

    Very exciting book, good characters and plot. Good author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    mediocre reading

    Very poor imitation of Ian Fleming¿s James Bond.<BR/>Ted Bell use a lot of silly and unchecked stereotypes from the very beginning that make rest of the riding/listening quite irritatingly skeptical. Nobody sipping vodka in Russia or anywhere else and especially from the tee cups. Vodka is not that pleasurable drink to sip. Many other silly stereotypes spoil the pleasure. Putin in jail, America in ruins... I surprised Ted Bell did not described the Russian Bears roaming the streets of Moscow or St. Petersburg. Without sipping Vodka I would not recommend reading/listening this novel.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Great Page Turner

    As always found Ted Bell's book intriguing and worth the read. Excellent for international flights

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Bell Delivers Again

    To all the haters out there - please. Someone actually posted a poor review because in the book someone received a stay of execution and it wasn't from the president. Someone else ripped it because in the book people sip vodka and the reviewer doesn't enjoy sipping vodka. Come on. I guess these same people think everything James Bond does is possible and never a stretch. The book is for entertainment and that's exactly what it provides. I look forward to #6 in the series, Warlord. To all the haters, please write your own novel, I'd love to read it. I'm sure you're above all criticism - what a joke. Keep up the good work Ted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Fun beach read

    Started this book and thought I was going to find it a bit sophomoric, but actually ended up enjoying it a good bit. It's written along the lines of one of the old Ian Fleming James Bond thrillers with a larger than life hero and antics that stretch the limits of credulity. The character development is about what one would expect from a book that strives more to entertain than to become great literature. But I've got to say that it ended up being a fun read with some interesting plot twists. It doesn't hurt that there are plentiful references to contemporary and historic people and politics that tend to help keep one engaged. I've read one other book in this series by Mr. Bell, "Pirate", and it was similarly entertaining. Either would make a great beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read..Enjoyed It!

    Ted Bell has done it again. I have read some of the other books by T. Bell and found them all hard to put down. The characters I thought, were very interesting and colorful. I believe the main character "Alex Hawke" is better than James Bond at getting out of trouble spots. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a thrill ride they won't forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    TSAR

    This is the latest installment in the Alexander Hawke series and I thought it was the best one to date. It is very contemporary with world situations very familiar to present day headlines. The locations are great and described very accurately. The climax presents a moral dilemma that would be very difficult to resolve and I am not sure I could have handled is as nobly as Hawke. I think it might quite difficult for the author to come up with an additional Hawke novel that would come close to topping this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ted Bell fills an interesting niche

    Do you enjoy Dirk Pitt novels? Classic James Bond written by Ian Fleming? Ted Bell has managed to create an interesting character who readers of either type can enjoy. Over the top plots, characters blessed by wealth and upbringing, world-wide settings, and a speedy pace make the "Hawke" books faster reads than thought by their thick pages.
    Great for the rainy day, airplane, or beach for pure escapism.
    If you're looking for Dostoyevski, not for you. If you read for entertainment, just fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5