Customer Reviews for

The Tsarina's Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A different take on the end of the Romanovs

The Tsarina's daughter tells the "what if" story of Grand Duchess Tatiana surviving the murder of Tsar Nicholas II's family in Ekaterinburg in 1917.

As an old woman in America, Tatiana, who has been posing as a Russian peasant immigrant, tells the story, admitting w...
The Tsarina's daughter tells the "what if" story of Grand Duchess Tatiana surviving the murder of Tsar Nicholas II's family in Ekaterinburg in 1917.

As an old woman in America, Tatiana, who has been posing as a Russian peasant immigrant, tells the story, admitting who she is and how she managed to survive. In the same vein as the of Grand Duchess Anastasia surving and real people claiming to be her, in this story a the Grand Duchess takes on the identity of a character in the story, and tells the story of the last days of the Romanov dynasty and the overthrow of the Russian government in the Bolshevik revolution.

The story is a fanciful retelling of Nicholas II's reign as told by his second oldest daughter. The author takes liberties with reality, allowing a grand duchess to sneak out of the palace in the middle of the night to visit the seedier side of the world with a servant, something that would never be possible in Imperial Russia. While it gets some of the actual history right, it also reinforces the old line myths about the Romanovs. The author has either chosen to ignore information discovered after the fall of the Soviet Union or failed to research it.

As a romantic novel it is a nice summer beach read. For any die-hard history buff of the era, the holes in the facts leave a great deal to be desired. If you're looking for accuracy, you'll be disappointed. If you want to sit back, suspend truth and have fun with a new angle on the ruling class, it's a good read.

posted by Celyn_Malory on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

HUGE Disappointment

I think this is the worst book I have ever read. This is not a "historical" novel. There is correct information here and there in attempt to paint a picture of the lives of the Romanovs and the life of the Russian people, but all of those little facts just serve as the ...
I think this is the worst book I have ever read. This is not a "historical" novel. There is correct information here and there in attempt to paint a picture of the lives of the Romanovs and the life of the Russian people, but all of those little facts just serve as the historical backdrop for a very soap-opera-esque romance. Carolly Erickson has turned a daughter of Emperess Alexandra (a woman of strict, moral Victorian upbringing) to a little slut. How does a sheltered grand duchess end up having two lovers? She even discusses "taking the next step" with her first lover with her aunt and seeks guidance. The aunt then prodives the room over her garage so Tatiana and her lover can go into that "new world" together. Really, Carolly, really? The second lover is a wounded soldier Tatiana nurses back to health and who later helps her escape. Hm...can we be any more cliche?
The writing is weak. I felt nothing for these characters as I read this. It doesn't look like Carolly put any research into this...hardly any original research. If she did do any research at all it was through Robert Massies "Nicholas and Alexandra," for her descriptions are similar.
This recently published book was clearly just written to take advantage of the renewed interest in the Romanovs now that the two missing bodies were discovered about a year ago.
If you want to read quality literature on the Romanovs read any of the books by Robert Alexander, particularly The Kitchen Boy: A Novel of the Last Tsar. But don't waste your time with this.

posted by 559302 on December 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    HUGE Disappointment

    I think this is the worst book I have ever read. This is not a "historical" novel. There is correct information here and there in attempt to paint a picture of the lives of the Romanovs and the life of the Russian people, but all of those little facts just serve as the historical backdrop for a very soap-opera-esque romance. Carolly Erickson has turned a daughter of Emperess Alexandra (a woman of strict, moral Victorian upbringing) to a little slut. How does a sheltered grand duchess end up having two lovers? She even discusses "taking the next step" with her first lover with her aunt and seeks guidance. The aunt then prodives the room over her garage so Tatiana and her lover can go into that "new world" together. Really, Carolly, really? The second lover is a wounded soldier Tatiana nurses back to health and who later helps her escape. Hm...can we be any more cliche? <BR/>The writing is weak. I felt nothing for these characters as I read this. It doesn't look like Carolly put any research into this...hardly any original research. If she did do any research at all it was through Robert Massies "Nicholas and Alexandra," for her descriptions are similar.<BR/>This recently published book was clearly just written to take advantage of the renewed interest in the Romanovs now that the two missing bodies were discovered about a year ago.<BR/>If you want to read quality literature on the Romanovs read any of the books by Robert Alexander, particularly The Kitchen Boy: A Novel of the Last Tsar. But don't waste your time with this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    russian novel

    I have about 30 books about the fall of the russian tsars my interest started with a novel. I enjoy reading all books the history surrounding this is so interesting. It was nice to just read but I found myself not enjoying it fully because I feel like I was disecting the book all the time and not reading it as a novel. I think it would have been more intresting to me about 6 years ago before I sent so much time researching the Romanovs. I have begun to feel like they are family to me. I will keep the book in my russian collection nd hopefully the next time I read it I will enjoy it more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    A different take on the end of the Romanovs

    The Tsarina's daughter tells the "what if" story of Grand Duchess Tatiana surviving the murder of Tsar Nicholas II's family in Ekaterinburg in 1917.

    As an old woman in America, Tatiana, who has been posing as a Russian peasant immigrant, tells the story, admitting who she is and how she managed to survive. In the same vein as the of Grand Duchess Anastasia surving and real people claiming to be her, in this story a the Grand Duchess takes on the identity of a character in the story, and tells the story of the last days of the Romanov dynasty and the overthrow of the Russian government in the Bolshevik revolution.

    The story is a fanciful retelling of Nicholas II's reign as told by his second oldest daughter. The author takes liberties with reality, allowing a grand duchess to sneak out of the palace in the middle of the night to visit the seedier side of the world with a servant, something that would never be possible in Imperial Russia. While it gets some of the actual history right, it also reinforces the old line myths about the Romanovs. The author has either chosen to ignore information discovered after the fall of the Soviet Union or failed to research it.

    As a romantic novel it is a nice summer beach read. For any die-hard history buff of the era, the holes in the facts leave a great deal to be desired. If you're looking for accuracy, you'll be disappointed. If you want to sit back, suspend truth and have fun with a new angle on the ruling class, it's a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    GREAT BOOK

    This is an excellent book. I couldn't put it down. Fascinating look into the Russian royal family. Specifically enjoyed the book being written in first person. Easy read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Love the Author, Not a Fan of This Book

    I really enjoy Carolly Erickson's novels where she takes her non fiction, biographical research and spins it into a novel. These are usually wonderful diversions. (The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette is a triumph and the Last Wife of Henry VIII is wonderful!)

    However, The Tsarina's Daughter, is a true disappointment. Yes, most readers will know the fate of the Romanovs at the onset of the story. And yes, most of us would like to think that one of the children may have escaped as they were true innocents, but I found Carolly Erickson's spin on Maria's ultimate fate to be ridiculous. (I say this primarily because we know she died that horrific night in Russia) To have her escape that when we have sound scientific evidence placing her there undermines the whole entire novel.

    My biggest issue was Ms. Erickson's extreme license with history and fact at the end of this book. (I.E. consorting with peasants amongst many things) Usually, her books are very spot on and I love her psychological portraits of famous, tragic, and often misunderstood women as they force you to think critically about history and not just accept established fact. In this book, she simply changes way too many details about the Romanovs' lives for me to be comfortable with.

    She did excell in painting a vivid and accurante picture of the ineptitude of Tsar Nicholas II, the mental instability of his wife Tsarina Alexandra, the debauchary of Rasputin, and the complex, meddlesome nature of Minnie, the Dowager Empress of Russia.

    Needless to say, I had an extremely difficult time reading this book. It isn't a page turner and it really could have been. I would recommend reading her other fictional works as they are much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    It was okay...

    I am a big fan of the Russian Empire and Tsars. I read the Kitchen Boy and couldn't put it down so i thought this book would be the same. It is not the best written and took awhile to really get into the book. Overall its a good story and an interesting take on one of Grand Duchesses. However, i think i'll stick with Robert Alexander's novels of the Imperial Russian Family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended! A MUST READ!

    I am a HUGE Carolly Erickson fan! The Tsarina's Daughter is another example of Erickson's ability as great 21st century author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    Historical

    Interesting historical novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New Spin on Sad Ending

    This is an intriguing twist on the usual someone-escaped-the-death-cellar tale. In this case, it's Tatiana, probably the most beautiful of the ill-fated Russian royal family, who died at the hands of the revolutionaries in 1918. The reader is treated to the rich detail of life among the privileged in pre-Communist Russia, which makes the humiliation and downfall of the family all the more heart-wrenching. Interestingly, Rasputin is depicted as a spiritual man with genuine healing powers - until wealth and power destroyed both his gifts and his life. Sure, the whole romance angle may be a bit far-fetched, but it adds a bit of spice and warmth to the tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    pretty good

    this book does go against my personal beliefs and usual requirements in books, however, it still managed 2 become 1 of my favorite books. historical fiction has always fascinated me; especially this particular subject. im nearly 14 years old and i still watch anastsia, i love it so much. i very much enjoyed reading it, and intend 2 read it again once it is returned (i let my friend barrow it). i would like 2 warn younger readers (probably about 12 and under. i say probably bcuz it depends on maturity level. 4 example, my friend whos currently barrowing it couldve read it when she was 8) that it does have more mature parts in it. i would recommend having 1 of ur older friends reading it (make sure theyre a teenager and know u well enough 2 judge weather u could handle it or not) and telling u weather they think u could do so as well and enjoy it. anywho, i definitely loved it, and i hope u do, also. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2