Customer Reviews for

Tuck Everlasting

Average Rating 4.5
( 830 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(549)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

a must read for all

This book is for all ages and it makes one stop and think....how should I live my life before I get to my final destination. I read the book a few years ago and still think about the bottom line of the book on a regular basis. Think of how much the Tuck family could h...
This book is for all ages and it makes one stop and think....how should I live my life before I get to my final destination. I read the book a few years ago and still think about the bottom line of the book on a regular basis. Think of how much the Tuck family could have done while living forever - how much good they could have done for others. We're all in our 'rented' space for a brief period on earth - make the best of our time and don't be idle with the gifts you have to share with others. A great book for middle schoolers through adults - I highly recommend the book.

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Tuck Everlasting

I unfortunately was required to read this story for school. For people who're really into reading, maybe you'd enjoy it, but I hated it.
It does have an interesting main plot, but it is put together so badly it was horrid to read. There is a magical spring where uf you ...
I unfortunately was required to read this story for school. For people who're really into reading, maybe you'd enjoy it, but I hated it.
It does have an interesting main plot, but it is put together so badly it was horrid to read. There is a magical spring where uf you drink it you can liver forever, hence Tuck Everlasting. That could go places, but the main character falls in love with a huge age difference between them. I just really disliked this. I apologize for lack of detail, I read this a while ago. Bad memories...

posted by 16542490 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 833 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    a must read for all

    This book is for all ages and it makes one stop and think....how should I live my life before I get to my final destination. I read the book a few years ago and still think about the bottom line of the book on a regular basis. Think of how much the Tuck family could have done while living forever - how much good they could have done for others. We're all in our 'rented' space for a brief period on earth - make the best of our time and don't be idle with the gifts you have to share with others. A great book for middle schoolers through adults - I highly recommend the book.

    54 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I enjoyed every minute reading this. Can only recommend

    45 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    Tuck Everlasting is Amazing

    This book review is about a book titled Tuck Everlasting. It is by an author by the name of Natalie Babbitt. The story is about a family ¿the Tucks¿ who drink from a magic spring, and become immortal. The Tuck family meets a little girl named Winnie Foster who comes upon their secret. So they take Winnie, and told her what happens when you drink from the magic spring. During all of this, a mysterious man tries to steal the magic spring water, and sell it for a profit. If you want to find out any more, I guess you¿ll have to read the book for yourself.<BR/> I thought this book was very unique. Natalie Babbitt uses very descriptive words. When you read this book you will feel like you are right there with the Tucks. When the book describes Winnie Foster it will remind you of when you were a child, always running around and exploring. I believe the message to this story is ¿Be careful what you wish for¿. That is the theme of the story because some people in the real world ask for things they wish they had, but they never know how bad it could be if they did get what they want. This is a good but unique book.<BR/> If you like books really unique story lines, and good endings this is a book for you. Tuck Everlasting makes you think about life. What would you do if you could live forever? Would you think it is a good thing, or would you think that it is horrible that you could never die? What do you live for if you can live forever? This book is one of the best books you will read in your life time. Tuck Everlasting is a book for you!

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Excellent book

    My 10 yr old daughter loved it.

    24 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An everlasting story

    I read the book Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbit. It is fun, magic and fantasy all in one book. The book is about a ten year old girl named Winnie Foster. She has a really boring life living behind a fence in the woods. So Winnie decides to run away. She meets a boy named Jesse Tuck and discovers that his family has a secret: they have eternal life after drinking from a magic spring. The Tucks then have to kidnap Winnie until she promises not to give away their secret and explain themselves. Winnie grows close to Mae (the mother), Tuck (the father), and Miles and Jesse (brothers). But trouble arises when an evil man tries to take Winnie away and give away the Tuck's secret. I loved this magical adventure. The positives were the characters. They are funny, nice, and add love to the book. Also, there were many cliffhangers that encouraged the reader to keep reading. And finally, the magic and fantasy made the book really enjoyable. But there were some negatives, too. Parts of the story were rushed, so not enough details were given, making some things confusing. And the beginning was a bit dragging, so it may not pull readers right away. But other than that, the book is very well done. The writing style is a bit old-fashioned. The author uses terms that aren't used as often anymore. Also, she has a very formal way of writing. I recommend this book for any age because it is a fun fantasy, and the characters are likeable. It is appropriate for young kids, and not too "little" for older kids. It can be read for pleasure, or anything else, like reports. Fans of Harry Potter and Twilight might like this story, because it has a familiar theme: a lonely kid falls upon a secret and bonds with the people that share it. It's more similar to Twilight because as in that book, the people will always be alive. Also, the book Ingo, by Helen Dunsmore, has a similar theme of discovery. Finally, Tuck Everlasting was a great book and can be enjoyed by everyone.

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    i find that stories like this can carry you away for days on end wheather you are visiting neverland or spending a day with lassie you will always find comfort and care in the hands of these unforgettble charecters

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Real Interesting but GREAT!!!

    this book gets really boring in the beginning but then it gets really into to the story that make you never stop reading the book and i didn't even want to read it in the first place but i had to for a grade.i loved the book and i'm so glad i read this book

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Great story!

    this was required reading for my sons' fifth grade class but I enjoyed reading it as well. It is beautifully written.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    OMG! This book must be the best of the year!

    OMG! This book is amazing. I also reccomend the movie, too. It has alot of great actors. It is about girl who learns a seceret, one which she can never tell. Along th way she makes four fabulous friends, which she wil keep forever.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Tuck Everlasting

    I unfortunately was required to read this story for school. For people who're really into reading, maybe you'd enjoy it, but I hated it.
    It does have an interesting main plot, but it is put together so badly it was horrid to read. There is a magical spring where uf you drink it you can liver forever, hence Tuck Everlasting. That could go places, but the main character falls in love with a huge age difference between them. I just really disliked this. I apologize for lack of detail, I read this a while ago. Bad memories...

    8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Sweet!!!

    This is a must read. Do it. If you dare!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    Amazzzing

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Awesome

    I love this book. I am only 10 and cried at the end. I reccomend it to evryone of all ages.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Hey!!!

    I love this book you should read it! Im Jadelyn (Jade-lin) Kiryun (Kur-in) Gilluion (Gill-ie-on) and im tweleve (12) and i post of reviews and im in 5th grade! So if you see my name somewhere or see the name Jadelyn KG, tht would be ME!!! Oh an by the way, im a girl :-)

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    Tuck Everlasting

    Books that I commonly read convey chatoyant covers, which urge me to read them. Tuck Everlasting is a non fiction novel. It's about a family, the Tuck Family, who once drank water from a spring that prevents anyone who drinks it to age. Soon a young girl and a bitter stranger find out about the Tuck's secret, and an adventure begins when the Tuck's and the young girl struggle to protect the spring from being found. Blithely, I can state that Natalie Babbitt is a divine author who puts a great deal of thinking into her work. This book is an all time favorite for most of its readers, and if you haven't read Tuck Everlasting, I potently recommend you to read the synopsis and become as thrilled as I was the first time I read it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    6th grade student in Glendale, AZ TUCK EVERLASTING

    This book is one of the best books that I have ever read. The magical story of the Tuck family is both exiting and so good you can't put it down. Many years ago, the Tuck family found a spring and drank from it. Turnes out, the spring was magical. When a young girl named Winnie came along, they were forced to tell her their secret. When she wants in on the spring, one of the children her age gives her a bottle of the water and tells her she can drink it. That water was magical because if you drink it, you can stay the same forever and never grow older. I loved reading this book, and I gave this book a rating of five stars. Also I think that girls would find this book more interesting than the boys would find it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    OMG

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!
    ITS WORTH THE $$

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Better Than It Looks

    Tuck Everlasting is an AMAZING book. If you don't think it will be great, just read it. I read it in class and was hooked from the beginning.
    Not only is it an amazing story, it really makes you think about life.
    I recomend it for all ages!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    TAP ME!

    Hi im a girl. My name is Nayelli S. I am 11 years old and last year in 5th grade i read it and i totally loved this book i toatally recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Awsome

    At first its confusing but after u start reading a cople chapters u just want to read on and on

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 833 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42