Customer Reviews for

The Tudor Throne

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Historical fiction, not as factual

The Tudor Throne is written in the first person narrative, giving both Mary and Elizabeth's points of view. I'm generally not a big fan of changing points of view back and forth in a novel, but I think the author, Brandy Purdy, did a nice job of it.


For me, the ...
The Tudor Throne is written in the first person narrative, giving both Mary and Elizabeth's points of view. I'm generally not a big fan of changing points of view back and forth in a novel, but I think the author, Brandy Purdy, did a nice job of it.


For me, the story got off to a slow start. I think beginning with Mary and her austere, disapproving undertones made it feel draggy, even though it was just a few pages. Also, the history as presented by Ms. Purdy was not all factual. Even though this is a work of fiction, it's historical fiction, so I prefer such books to be as factually correct as possible.


Given that, the book gave an excellent depiction of the religious and thus political struggles between Mary, Elizabeth, and their brother Edward. The danger of the times in having differing religious views as the crown is clearly shown; as is the juxtaposition of the crown having differing religious views as the majority of the people. It's interesting reading about a time where religion and politics were so closely tied together.


This is a good book for historical fiction fans who want to read for just sheer enjoyment. Do beware that there are some graphic sexual scenes, so this wouldn't be appropriate for everyone. Also, FYI, this book is published in the UK as Mary & Elizabeth by Emily Purdy.

posted by ToReadPerchancetoDream on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tudor Throne

Brady Purdy has written a book that fully submerges you in the Tudor Period, England. She reminds you of the elegance of dress, hairstyles, and architecture. In this book, you are drawn in to an England that is in upheaval from many years of infighting and succession b...
Brady Purdy has written a book that fully submerges you in the Tudor Period, England. She reminds you of the elegance of dress, hairstyles, and architecture. In this book, you are drawn in to an England that is in upheaval from many years of infighting and succession battles. Yet is still a powerful influence in Europe.
I believe that all historical facts in this book are correct. Still, I found conflict with the representation of the two most powerful women in English history. Mary was represented as a jealous, insecure and shallow woman with a child-like mind who never got over her father's abandonment. Elizabeth, who is undeniably one of the most influential women in history, was represented as a meek, fearful child full of deceit and immoral attitudes. The story has her as a seductress before puberty and a confused victim at the same time. The great and powerful of England were represented as fumbling idiots.
This said, I have to admit that I love the descriptions and details of the life and fashion of the time period.

posted by Amdanda_Woodward on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Historical fiction, not as factual

    The Tudor Throne is written in the first person narrative, giving both Mary and Elizabeth's points of view. I'm generally not a big fan of changing points of view back and forth in a novel, but I think the author, Brandy Purdy, did a nice job of it.


    For me, the story got off to a slow start. I think beginning with Mary and her austere, disapproving undertones made it feel draggy, even though it was just a few pages. Also, the history as presented by Ms. Purdy was not all factual. Even though this is a work of fiction, it's historical fiction, so I prefer such books to be as factually correct as possible.


    Given that, the book gave an excellent depiction of the religious and thus political struggles between Mary, Elizabeth, and their brother Edward. The danger of the times in having differing religious views as the crown is clearly shown; as is the juxtaposition of the crown having differing religious views as the majority of the people. It's interesting reading about a time where religion and politics were so closely tied together.


    This is a good book for historical fiction fans who want to read for just sheer enjoyment. Do beware that there are some graphic sexual scenes, so this wouldn't be appropriate for everyone. Also, FYI, this book is published in the UK as Mary & Elizabeth by Emily Purdy.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody Mary vs. Virgin Queen

    Henry VIII has died and on his death bed he knows that his son Edward, son of Jane Seymour, is not strong enough to rule and will be himself ruled by the sixteen men appointed to guide him until he is old enough to take the throne but he fears that if Mary, daughter of his first wife Katherine of Aragon, becomes queen all will be lost. His one true regret is that Elizabeth (Bess), daughter of Anne Boleyn, wasn't a boy. He knows she has what it takes to rule but since she is a girl and third in line to the throne, he knows there is no hope that she will be queen.

    After the death of Edward, Mary and Bess embark on a battle for the crown. Even though Mary had basically raised Bess like a daughter she knows that she is also her biggest enemy. Bess is truly beloved by the people and Mary knows that. Bess is also the reason that Mary's husband -to-be, Philip, says he won't come over. Until she is gone he doesn't feel safe, or so that was what Mary is told.

    Both ladies have a very different view on how the kingdom should be ruled as does their advisors. There were times that your heart just breaks for Mary and her quest for love turns her into a sniveling weak minded woman. She was one who definitely let her emotions rule. Elizabeth's approach was quite different but started the same. Her love of Thomas Seymour destroyed her also but in the wake made her stronger and more determined never to let emotions rule her. Her heart hardened and she vowed to never let anyone see her weaknesses.

    At first I was unsure about how I was going to like the chapters written in Mary's POV and then in Elizabeth's POV. I truly enjoyed having both viewpoints put forth for me and they are mainly focused on how each woman felt at this moment or that moment. We are swept from the death bed of Henry VIII all the ways through Bloody Mary's rule and end up with the Virgin Queen taking her rightly place on the throne.

    I highly recommend The Tudor Throne for all those historical fiction fans of the Tudor Era.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bloody Mary vs. The Virgin Queen! A Knockout Fight!

    Yes, King Henry VIII and his children are certainly not a new subject for readers. In fact, vampires would be the only category to outrank old Henry the VIII's regime. But Ms. Purdy has done a truly excellent job of reigniting the wonder of what England became when Mary and Elizabeth came into focus. A new future was about to begin for England, and the half-sisters would decide it all!

    England's throne was in a dangerous predicament when Henry VIII passed on. And his daughter Mary - the woman who would soon become 'Bloody Mary' to all - was beyond rigid when it came to her beliefs, emotions, and the Church. Now, on the other side of the fence, was Elizabeth. This was a girl who literally had to figure life out as she went. With the woman who some considered a monster, while others considered her the only smart wife King Henry VIII ever had - Ann Boleyn - as a mother, Elizabeth had to walk carefully through the English royal world. Of course, when her half-sister Mary was declared a bastard in favor of Elizabeth - her strength, determination, and disposition became as fiery as her red hair.

    Mary was reinstated, of course, and took the throne as Britain's Queen. But that brutal religious fanaticism of Mary's literally terrorized the British people, and had the whole country turning to Elizabeth for help. The bond between the two sisters begins to rip apart as Mary soon believes that Elizabeth is the only real enemy she has on Earth. Not only that, but Elizabeth literally truly loves the people's pride they have in her and her beloved country, so she must go against her tyrannical sister whether she likes it or not. Bloody Mary vs. The Virgin Queen.there was no fight better!

    Whether the first book or the thousandth about King Henry the VIII and his spawn - it really doesn't matter. This is THE family that England is and will always be known for. They were absolutely riveting, and the author has once again done an excellent job of delivering a novel that will entice, astound, and deliver! Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Excellent Book - you will enjoy this very much

    This book gave you a new insight into the lives of Mary and Elizabeth. I enjoyed it very much and found that although these two women were very different they still had some feelings for each other. Both women lived through very turbulent times in their lives, but both were survivors. If you enjoy this period in English history, I think you will enjoy this book and author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Loved this!

    Great reading! I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Tudor Throne

    Brady Purdy has written a book that fully submerges you in the Tudor Period, England. She reminds you of the elegance of dress, hairstyles, and architecture. In this book, you are drawn in to an England that is in upheaval from many years of infighting and succession battles. Yet is still a powerful influence in Europe.
    I believe that all historical facts in this book are correct. Still, I found conflict with the representation of the two most powerful women in English history. Mary was represented as a jealous, insecure and shallow woman with a child-like mind who never got over her father's abandonment. Elizabeth, who is undeniably one of the most influential women in history, was represented as a meek, fearful child full of deceit and immoral attitudes. The story has her as a seductress before puberty and a confused victim at the same time. The great and powerful of England were represented as fumbling idiots.
    This said, I have to admit that I love the descriptions and details of the life and fashion of the time period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Good Historical Fiction

    Written in the two main characters "own words" this is an intersting (although not original) account of the Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth era in England. If you are unfamiliar with historical fiction this is an excellent starting point, however if you have read the accounts before there is nothing new to learn or gleen from the book, Well written, interesting dialogue.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Not what you think!!!!!!!!

    If you like historical smut, you will like this book. Most of this book is about love affairs between Elizabeth and Mary. The smut isn't even that great!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Great novel for lovers of Tudor England!

    [I received this novel from the author as a review copy for my blog Historical Fiction Obsession.]

    Over the past several years I have read many books dealing with the Tudors. Most of them have dealt with Anne Boleyn or Elizabeth Tudor, and a few have been about Henry VIII's other five wives, his sisters, and his daughter Mary. THE TUDOR THRONE, however, is the first Tudor novel that I have read that gives both Mary and Elizabeth Tudor's point of view together, following their father's death. All of the books that I have read about Elizabeth have mentioned Mary or even had Mary play a large part in the book, or included Elizabeth in a book about Mary, but never have I read a book that placed equal importance on both Mary and Elizabeth's point of views. The novel was written as a first person account of their lives, so the chapters alternated between Mary's point of view and Elizabeth's. Although I have read their stories a hundred times from a hundred different books, it was still a terrific novel that held my interest until the end.


    Switching back and forth between the sister's perspectives enables the reader to really get to know both Mary and Elizabeth. Their fears and insecurities come to light in a way that only a first person narrative can provide. Both women were deeply affected by their father's treatment of their mothers, and of women in general. Any future relationships with the opposite sex are indirectly tainted by their father's treatment of women. Both Mary and Elizabeth are frightened of and desperate for love. Mary is desperate to find the love she lost from her father for so many years when she was young. She easily succumbs to Philip of Spain's half-hearted courtship of her, and although she is the Queen of England, she allows him to rule her, as well as her country. After taking care of herself, guarding her emotions, and having no one to lean on for so long she is more than willing to put her life and love into Philip's hands, though he is no way worth it.


    Elizabeth turns out much differently when it comes to love and trust. Rather than throw everything away for love and companionship as her sister did, she puts up a wall around her that is impossible to penetrate. She refuses to end up like her mother, or any of the other women that her father loved passionately, only to discard when bored, angry, or seeking an heir. Elizabeth, unlike Mary, refuses to rely on anyone, especially a man. She wants to be her own woman, and to make decisions for herself and for her country. Years of sadness and loneliness had weakened Mary's resolve, but it had strengthened Elizabeth's. While both women were talented and extremely intelligent, it will forever be Elizabeth who stands out in people's minds because of the idea of womanly strength and power that she stood for.


    I would recommend this book to any reader who enjoys Tudor history. While Ms. Purdy did take creative license when it came to several parts of the book, it was still a well researched Tudor novel. I was impressed by what a quick and easy read it was. There was never a dull moment, and I was able to transport myself to Mary and Elizabeth's Tudor England every time I opened the book. The fact that it was written in first person, from both women's perspectives, (both before and after becoming Queen of England) added to the enjoyment and excitement of this fascinating novel of historical fiction.


    I without a doubt give this book five out of five st

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Shadow

    WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE RIVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Pretty good.

    This is a very nice book. However,there is some language. If you are a child in middle school or younger,it is not your best choise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1