Customer Reviews for

The Tudors: The Complete Story of England's Most Notorious Dynasty

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT SCHOLARSHIP This is one definitive book about the Tudo

EXCELLENT SCHOLARSHIP
This is one definitive book about the Tudors. If you are after a very good read with minute information about the Tudors, then this is the book for you. The book is divided into parts I to IV, starting with Henry VII up to the children of Henry VI...
EXCELLENT SCHOLARSHIP
This is one definitive book about the Tudors. If you are after a very good read with minute information about the Tudors, then this is the book for you. The book is divided into parts I to IV, starting with Henry VII up to the children of Henry VIII. The chapters are presented with an anti chapter as a background for the coming chapter so as not to mislead the reader. This book used to be more than one monograph that was collected to make one book and Meyer is successful in gathering the books into one manuscript, divided into parts. Generally, this book is one of the most comprehensive, about Tudor times in renaissance England. I highly recommend this for Tudor fans and those who wants to study Tudor times in British history.

posted by alexphilAU on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Do Not Recommend

A fan of history I was deeply disappointed by Meyer's approach to this book which was suppose to capture the era the Tudors reigned in. While the information in her book is fascinating, the format she chooses to write it at times makes the reader feel winded with extrem...
A fan of history I was deeply disappointed by Meyer's approach to this book which was suppose to capture the era the Tudors reigned in. While the information in her book is fascinating, the format she chooses to write it at times makes the reader feel winded with extremely long paragraphs with numerous parenthesis throughout. Whenever I would sit down to read, it felt like more of a chore than of enjoyment due to her very long-winded writing style. Any book surrounding something as immense as the Tudor Dynasty is expected to be lengthy, but her dissertations at the end of every chapter seem repetitive and often add more confusion than is necessary. If I had to chose to read about the Tudors I would surely chose another source other than Meyer.

posted by 6561837 on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLENT SCHOLARSHIP This is one definitive book about the Tudo

    EXCELLENT SCHOLARSHIP
    This is one definitive book about the Tudors. If you are after a very good read with minute information about the Tudors, then this is the book for you. The book is divided into parts I to IV, starting with Henry VII up to the children of Henry VIII. The chapters are presented with an anti chapter as a background for the coming chapter so as not to mislead the reader. This book used to be more than one monograph that was collected to make one book and Meyer is successful in gathering the books into one manuscript, divided into parts. Generally, this book is one of the most comprehensive, about Tudor times in renaissance England. I highly recommend this for Tudor fans and those who wants to study Tudor times in British history.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Scholastic quality

    I like reading about the history of the Tudors. This was a pretty comprehensive account. It felt disjointed because of the technique used to explain certain terms in each chapter. I would rather have it in consecutive order and have the terms, etc., explained right after reading about the term, person or event. Well reserached.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Do Not Recommend

    A fan of history I was deeply disappointed by Meyer's approach to this book which was suppose to capture the era the Tudors reigned in. While the information in her book is fascinating, the format she chooses to write it at times makes the reader feel winded with extremely long paragraphs with numerous parenthesis throughout. Whenever I would sit down to read, it felt like more of a chore than of enjoyment due to her very long-winded writing style. Any book surrounding something as immense as the Tudor Dynasty is expected to be lengthy, but her dissertations at the end of every chapter seem repetitive and often add more confusion than is necessary. If I had to chose to read about the Tudors I would surely chose another source other than Meyer.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tudor History

    This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in Tudor History, which was such an exciting time in English history. I know the Henry VIII story seems to have been overdone, but this is a very good book if you want to really learn about English History!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Excellent!

    Absolutely engrossing and needed balance to the popular mythologizing of Henry XIII.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Great book.

    A good book, easy to read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Tudors

    Don't buy this book if you like the tudors this book is possibly factual but not very interesting. I have read many books about Queen Elizabeth I but this was the worst. A lot of information about things not very interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Excellent history of the Tudors

    This book is very well written and easy to follow. Excellent background information is included to help the reader understand the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Interesting History Lesson

    It is a little dry at times and it took quite a while to get through. However it was very informative. I've always been quite interested in Henry, his wives, and children. Now I see their lives and actions in a completely different light. Which is not a bad thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It is so helpful to have the entire story of the Tudors in one c

    It is so helpful to have the entire story of the Tudors in one collection, researched/compiled by one author.  Meyer's writing style captures the attention and makes it hard to put down.  I also appreciated the background information provided after most chapters to tell some of the 'behind the scenes' events that impacted the Tudor dynasty.  I did sense a mild bias by Meyer in the Protestant/Catholic debate, but overall I feel he tried to present both sides fairly and accurately.  All in all, highly informative and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Awesome

    Great writing style. A concise yet in depth enough view of a dynasty. Gives a unbiased vision of their sordid history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great history

    This book is very interesting, informative and fun. I like the style and research he puts into his work. And off topic, the book was written by a man, to the one who reviewed it poorly and said the author was a she. I also recommend the Borgias the Hidden History by Mr. Meyer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    A bit biased but still good

    This book was informative but biased in many aspects. I wish the author would have stuck to facts instead of their own opinions. Still, it was a decent read and if you are interested in the time period its worth a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Looks good

    Sample size very disappointing

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3