Customer Reviews for

Tuesday

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Why I like the book.

    I really like the book, because its allows you to use critical thinking to figur the story out.Me and my kids spend close to an hour to figuring what is going on with the story. I also like that the book has this mistyry to it, you never know what will happend in the next page untill you get to it.I would deffenetly recomend the book for ages 3-10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    I remember "reading" this book when I was young with m

    I remember "reading" this book when I was young with my mom. It was so much fun to make up the story as we went and I loved that I could "read" it by myself too. Not to mention the beautiful art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Use your imagination

    This book allows the reader to tell a story to a child that can be tailored to the child's age and imagination. Just a few words in the entire book lends to filling in what ever the reader wants. Have bought many copies to give as gifts and cherish the one I purchased years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    A Little Bit Different!

    I like this book, but it is a little different. It is about frogs floating around on a Tuesday and what happens when dogs and people see them. There are very few words and kids can make up their own story to go with the pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book! There are many reasons he won an award for this one!

    I bought two of these! One for my 1st grade daughter and one for her teacher to have in the classroom.
    I "read" it aloud to her class (though there are few words), I shared the amazing illustrations with them and they LOVED it!! The teacher was very happy when my daughter gave her the book for her classroom.

    Awesome book, get 2. . . one for you and one to share :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for Pre-Readers!

    This book breeds a new kind of imagination, asking kids "can it happen? would it happen, and what would HAPPEN!?" I love this book for the discussions it can start while looking at the pictures, and I love this book because a child can read it quietly with no help from an adult. The illustrations are so realistic and comical that any adult will enjoy them. I have found that Tuesday is a necessary addition to any collection, and I give it as a gift for children ages 2-3, for holidays, birthdays, or any time. This book will instill a love for reading before they can even read. It is fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great for writers and struggling readers

    As a teacher, its a fun book to have around. I use this for my ESOL students and struggling readers. It helps with writing exercises as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was a Caldecott Medal Winner in 1992. I can see why this book won the award. It is filled with colorful illustrations about a frog that wakes to find that he is flying on his lily pad. This is a picture book that has no words just times to help us track what time of night it is throughout the story. During the frogs Tuesday night adventure a man who is up late eating a snack also sees the flying frogs. The frogs are chased by a very `playful¿ dog and then the frogs turn on him and begin to pursue the dog. The next morning we see a detective examining the odd ordeal along with the ambulance and reporters. What could possibly happen next in a town like this? This is book has very creative pictures that will definitely spark the mind of a child. It is appropriate for children ages 4-8. David Wiesner is both the author and illustrator of Tuesday. He also won a Caldecott Honor Medal in 1989 for the first book he wrote called Free Fall. He was born and raised in New Jersey and graduated from Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in Illustration. He now lives in Brooklyn with his wife Kim, where he devotes full time to illustration and she pursues her career as a surgeon. Wiesner, David. Tuesday. New York: Clarion Books, 1991.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    a great picture book

    Wiesner David, Tuesday, Clarion books, New York ,1991 As a child growing up in suburban New Jersey, Wiesner re-created his world daily in his imagination. His home and his neighborhood became anything from a faraway planet to a prehistoric jungle. When the everyday play stopped, he would follow his imaginary playmates into the pages of books, wandering among dinosaurs in the World Book Encyclopedia. The images before him generated a love of detail, an admiration for the creative process, and a curiosity about the hand behind the drawings. Wiesner has always been intrigued by and curious about what comes before and after the captured image. His books somehow convey the sequence of thoughts leading up to and following each picture, and that quality explain why they are frequently described as cinematic. David Wiesner has illustrated more than twenty award-winning books for young readers. Two of the picture books he both wrote and illustrated became instant classics when they won the prestigious Caldecott Medal: Tuesday in 1992 and The Three Pigs in 2002. Two of his other titles, Sector 7 and Free Fall, are Caldecott Honor Books. An exhibit of Wiesner's original artwork, 'Seeing the Story,' toured the United States in 2000 and 2001. Among his many honors, Wiesner holds the Japan Picture Book Award for Tuesday, the Prix Sorcières 'the French equivalent of the Caldecott Medal' for The Three Pigs, and a 2004 IBBY Honor Book nomination for illustration, also for The Three Pigs. Flotsam, his most recent work, was a New York Times bestseller and was recently named winner of the 2007 Caldecott Medal, making Wiesner only the second person in the award¿s long history to have won three times. This another picture book. It showed frogs floating in the air. They drifted through the sky and caused a great commotion. No one could figure out why they were flying it shows times and reactions of people and animals to this mysterious even. In the end all you see is lily pads left on the road after they pads appear to stop and all the frogs hop away. Then suddenly pigs start to fly. I think Children will enjoy this book. any child at any age and enjoy a picture book. Kids will have fun guessing and making up storied to explain why the frogs then pigs are flying at night. The colors and pictures were very descriptive and bright. No words are needed to make this book enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Tuesday Review

    This Caldecott Medal Award Winner titled Tuesday by David Wiesner is rated as a five. This story is well worthy of the award because it sparks the imagination of the younger audiences not to mention the brilliantly crafted illustrations which grabs the interest of the audience. This picture book is age appropriate for ages four to eight years. Even though this picture book doesn¿t consist of many words at all, the beautifully crafted illustrations themselves inform the reader and audience the story being told. The plot of the story is that there are frogs flying throughout the town on their lily pads on a Tuesday night taking on new adventures of their own. The main idea of this flight of the imagination is to give the younger audiences an adventure they can take pleasure in experiencing. The illustrations strongly enlighten the audience with imagination, excitement, and laughter. The age group that would be suitable for this picture book is naturally the younger audiences since it contains mostly illustrations. This picture book evokes excitement for the audience throughout the whole adventurous story. The uniqueness established in the illustrations are the way the author, David Weisner, used the watercolors which are obviously breathtakingly beautiful. This picture book clearly enhances the audiences imagination. The plot of this story is naturally linear since it has a beginning, middle, and an ending. The characters in this story are essentially static for the reason that they remain the same throughout the story. The classification for this story is visibly a fantasy genre seeing as frogs can¿t really fly. The author as well as the illustrator of this stunning success is none other than David Weisner. Weisner, David. Tuesday. New York: Clarion Books. 1991.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Great for all ages!

    This picture book is almost all pictures. The pictures tell a story of frogs who one Tuesday night at 8pm that a magical journey. The colors are so vibrant and the illustrations are so detailed that you think you are right in the story. The night scenes depict the darkness with vivid realism. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. Kids will love going on the journey too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    A reviewer

    The book begins with the only text of the story on a Tuesday evening around eight. A few frogs are gliding over a swamp, flying atop lily pads like magic carpets. Their numbers gradually increase as they move across the countryside until they come to an unsuspecting town. The frogs wreak havoc by startling birds, waving at people, and changing the channels on a sleeping old woman¿s television. Other than a few startled eyewitnesses, some scattered lily pads and a spooked dog, they leave a minimum of evidence of their visit. At the books end, the frogs hop back into the swamps, leaving their lily pads behind. The next Tuesday, at the same time, we're given a hint that a different species of animal develops the ability to fly. This is a imaginative tale that pique the interest of pre-readers and readers alike. I highly recommend this book. It is a must have for every collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    The 'Magic' of Tuesday

    Magic lily pads careen across a night sky each topped by a majestic frog embracing the sights of a small town. This is a story that truly evokes the imagination of readers of all ages. The lack of words in this fantasy does not detract from the story on the contrary, this delightful story starts the creative juices flowing in the mind of its readers. With each turn of the page the reader is captivated by the humor of the illustrations. Not only do the wonderful illustrations create stories in the reader¿s minds eye, but each illustration is a work of art in its own right. A must read book for any age. Author / illustrator David Wiesner studied at the Rhode Island School of Design where he was able to explore wordless storytelling. David Wiesner has illustrated more than twenty award-winning children¿s books. Wiesner both wrote two Caldecott Medal winners: Tuesday in 1992 which is also a Japan Picture Book Award winner and The Three Pigs in 2002. Sector 7 and Free Fall were Caldecott Honor Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    A pure masterpiece!

    This book absolutely dazzles me every time I experience it! Wiesner's illustrations are breathtaking and tell a mesmerizing story with very little words. The story is pure magic, and guaranteed to enthrall readers of any age. Wiesner's frogs are as beloved to me as any classic storybook character! Everyone should own this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Wonderfully imaginative

    At 24, and in graduate school, this book is a wonderful distraction from hectic daily life. I haven't begun my family yet but this will definately be one I save for that day. Until then I will have to share it with godchildren and my neighborhood kids. The illustrations are captivating and any child of any age will love its whimsical nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Amazing, creative fun

    I cannot wait to use this book to teach creative writing with my fourth graders!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    A must for every preschool curriculum!

    This absolutely delightful book will have you laughing out loud, right up to the surprise ending. The vivid, whimsical illustrations and expressions in the frogs' faces draw you right into what they must be feeling during their night of adventures. This book has very little text, and it doesn't need it. The pictures are enough. As an early childhood educator, I highly recommend this book for preschool-1st grade classrooms for the many opportunities to build language and imaginations. A perfect book for encouraging children to 'write' their own text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    Magical Night time journey

    As the moon rises, so do the frogs on their lily pads. They glide over a sleeping community, through laundry, into an open window to watch late-night TV, and over a surprised dog. The magic stops when the sun starts to rise. A dazed and confused news team tries to put together what has happened. Funny and beautifully illustrated pictures encourage children to make up dialogue for the many frogs and animals who encounter the outrageous and impossible situation. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2002

    Amazing...

    I will be using this wonderful wordless picture book with my third grade class. They are currently workign on the mastery of sentence structure along with the parts on the story. I am letting them each have a place and we are adding words---it will be so much fun...Wish me luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    Funny!

    Dave Wiesner's artistic and creative genius are at an epitome. You can almost hear the sole witness' testimony at the end of the book ('Well, I was having a midnight snack when...') This book is fun for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2