Customer Reviews for

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson

Average Rating 4.5
( 1723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1266)

4 Star

(335)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Tuesdays with Morrie

I hate reading with a passion. When I had to read a book for English class i really didn't like the idea of having to read a book. When my teacher explained the story of this book i was actually looking forward to reading it. When i read the first sentence i knew that i...
I hate reading with a passion. When I had to read a book for English class i really didn't like the idea of having to read a book. When my teacher explained the story of this book i was actually looking forward to reading it. When i read the first sentence i knew that it was going to be a good book. from the front cover to the back cover it took me back to my child hood and the people i have lost in my life. I was amazed that one person lived so On the edge and really didn't care about the details of life, Morrie lived life like he wanted to and didn't care of what other people thought. This is how everyone should live their life the way Morrie did. When i got to the last day or time they saw each together and Morrie couldn't talk and as Mitch said "Whispering" it reminded me of me and my grandpa talking to each other for the last time. I HAVE NEVER EVER CRIED OVER A BOOK!! This book made me cry I'm a 15 year old kid who doesn't have emotions. This book is a great read and I recommend it to anyone who doesn't like to read. This is a book that you do not want to put down. It changed my way of looking at life and i hope it changes yours :)

posted by J_Hargrove on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student

Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student of morries who was his favorite professor. when he heard he was dying he goes back to visit him every tuesday. He learns so much from morrie, it is life changing for him. After all his visits with morrie he...
Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student of morries who was his favorite professor. when he heard he was dying he goes back to visit him every tuesday. He learns so much from morrie, it is life changing for him. After all his visits with morrie he really sees everything differently. Morrie Schwartz- a professor who gets sick and has to quit is job he loved somuch. He suffers from ALS which leaves him not able to do anything for him self untill he passes away. He is a great person who teaches many life lessons he is so greatful for everything he has and tries to pass his love and wisdome onto mitch. Setting: Early to mid 1990's in West Newton Massachusetts in Morries house. Theme: the greatest things come from the most simple things main events: Mitch was a student of Morries who got sucked into his job and forgot about everything else. something he said he would never do. when he heard his favorite professor was passing away he eventually quit and started visiting Morrie every tuesday they would just talk for hours and hours. Mitch learned a lot of great things through out his life from morrie. he eventually became a news reporter a new job he loves and although he is very sad about morries death he grows a lot from it and it really helps him out in the end. Review: Tuesdays with Morrie is a great book. while reading it its almost like Morrie is talking to you, teaching you all of thease great life lessons. This book was not just written for entertainment it was written to teach you something. This book is written in such a great wayyou can really get attached to the characters and put your self in their shoes.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1725 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Tuesdays with Morrie

    I hate reading with a passion. When I had to read a book for English class i really didn't like the idea of having to read a book. When my teacher explained the story of this book i was actually looking forward to reading it. When i read the first sentence i knew that it was going to be a good book. from the front cover to the back cover it took me back to my child hood and the people i have lost in my life. I was amazed that one person lived so On the edge and really didn't care about the details of life, Morrie lived life like he wanted to and didn't care of what other people thought. This is how everyone should live their life the way Morrie did. When i got to the last day or time they saw each together and Morrie couldn't talk and as Mitch said "Whispering" it reminded me of me and my grandpa talking to each other for the last time. I HAVE NEVER EVER CRIED OVER A BOOK!! This book made me cry I'm a 15 year old kid who doesn't have emotions. This book is a great read and I recommend it to anyone who doesn't like to read. This is a book that you do not want to put down. It changed my way of looking at life and i hope it changes yours :)

    36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slow Down

    Although death is a constant subject, the novel Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom is actually a book about life. It's a true story about what happens when an insightful and brilliant professor conrtacts the fatal disease ALS, and the way one of his students from years ago stayed with him until the end.
    This book is so personal because Mitch's voice shows you his deepest and most personal thoughts. Also, the main character and the author share a name. this gives off a feeling of actually being there. Morrie was Mitch's farvorite college professor. When Mitch learns about Morrie's illness, he begins meeting with him every Tuesday to talk. Mitch is so touched by Morrie's insights and thoughts on life that he feels as if no time at all has passed since he was Morrie's student in college. At the beginning of the story, Mitch cared more about about money and his job than his wife or being a good person. After meeting with Morrie, he doesnt care so much about answering his cell phone, he lets himself think about life, and, well, he writes bestselling novels.
    Morrie gives insights on life, love, forgiveness, wants and needs, anything Mitch needs to talk about. As the end for him becomes closer and closer, he becomes more and more accepting. As his disease takes over, slowly looses control of his body. First he can't walk, then can't lift his arms, or finally eat solid food, until he is just a useless lump. He doesnt see it this way, though. He doesn't want pity; he wants people to visit him, to call him, to tell him about their problems. Sometimes, it seems like Morrie has an answer for everything. He doesn't like the way our culture is in such a hurry. He thinks people should slow down and take the time to live life. i think this is the most important lesson that Mitch learned from Morrie, and the most important lesson everyone can learn from reading this book, and the most important lesson everyone can learn from reading this book. This book doesnt give off a sad, depressing feeling, though. It takes the heavy subject of death and keeps it in a pretty light tone. Life is too short to keep rushing through it. Take the time out of your busy life to read this book.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read For Hospice

    I read this book when I was working hospice. What a beautiful and dignified story. Even if you are not a nurse this is a book that teaches the value we have on one another. It is also a easy weekend read.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tuesday with Morrie

    I love this book...The story was really enlighting to me. Morrie had experience so many great relationships with his students in his lifetime and had so many wonderful stories to share. He lived life and yes he felt like he was missing something. He felt love for his life but yet I fell he felt empty at that he wished he could of accomplished more and the lesson he gave to his students were the kind they would never forget.
    I love Mitch Alboms book they are short stories yet they all have such great meanings and lesson to them.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    Tuesdays With Morrie is a true beautifully written story

    I have enjoyed this reading very much, and I am very happy that I enrolled in this reading class. By reading this book, I have learned a great deal, but most of all I have had a chance to look at my inner-self and also assimilate how a positive lifestyle gives a person a better understanding of all of life's situations. This book has given me a chance to better myself in the future and it has made me think about what is important in life and how to live life to its fullest

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This book was required for us to read in class but i ended up loving it! great life lessons and it helps really open the eyes on what we could be missing on life. Morrie seems like a great person!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    I loved every chapter of this book!

    This is my first time reading Mitch Albom's and I really loved this book! It brought a smile to my face, tears to my eyes and touched me deeply. It was very inspirational and I highly recommend it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Worth-While Book

    It never occured to me how strong a bond between a student and professor could be, until I read Mitch Albom's story. While reading Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom, I felt as if I was sitting in the comfort of Morrie's home, surrounded by friends. Although you are not truly included in the dialogue, Mitch and Morrie make you feel engaged, as if you are a part of their talks.
    Morrie was Mitch's old professor but it's long after the final bell rang and Morrie has never stopped teaching. He continued to teach life lessons, like the idea that we all need to "love each other or die." Even while battling ALS, Morrie continues to teach and he never loses his special touch.
    This is an interesting and worth-while memoir that demonstrates some of life's greatest lessons. By reading this we learn to love the people in our lives, and appreciate the small things. Tuesdays With Morrie has left a lasting impression on me, and I highly suggest you read it so it can do the same for you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tuesday's with Morrie

    Great book. You become a silent 3rd person in the room. Very warm and touching. It motivated me to change some things in my life. Less than a month after reading it I decided to quit smoking!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    'The Teacher Lives On'

    Tuesdays with Morrie is a fantastic novel. The novel touched my heart. Morrie is someone to cherish for a life time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Must Read! This book is very interesting and a great read. This

    Must Read!
    This book is very interesting and a great read. This novel contains many heartfelt moments and is difficult to put down as a reader. Mitch is a young man who in some way needing advice which he seeks from his old professor. Every Tuesday Mitch goes and visits Morrie as they discuss topics in life. They both enjoy eachothers company and never miss an appointment, The novel is in the time of 1990's in Massachusetts, mostly in Morrie's home. I enjoyed reading this book and I advise others to read it aswell.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    After having to read this novel in my English class, I enjoyed i

    After having to read this novel in my English class, I enjoyed it for the most part. The problem I had with this novel was that I could not connect with it based off of personal expiriences. Throughout the book, I got to thinking about the novel and how it can happen to anyone at any given time regardless of how good of a person you are or not. I am not an emotional person, but there were parts of the novel that had me thinking about things and how although its not me, it is happening to people. There were many times as I was reading that I found myself into a deep thought and not wanting to put the book down. The first page wasn't appealing to me, but as i read on, and I started seeing the connection growing between these two men, it made me realize that everyday is a new day, and I have to live life to the fullest like Morrie did. A former student and his former professor connecting on things like this can really hit home to certain people. At some parts of the novel it did, but for the most part I was not effected.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student

    Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student of morries who was his favorite professor. when he heard he was dying he goes back to visit him every tuesday. He learns so much from morrie, it is life changing for him. After all his visits with morrie he really sees everything differently. Morrie Schwartz- a professor who gets sick and has to quit is job he loved somuch. He suffers from ALS which leaves him not able to do anything for him self untill he passes away. He is a great person who teaches many life lessons he is so greatful for everything he has and tries to pass his love and wisdome onto mitch. Setting: Early to mid 1990's in West Newton Massachusetts in Morries house. Theme: the greatest things come from the most simple things main events: Mitch was a student of Morries who got sucked into his job and forgot about everything else. something he said he would never do. when he heard his favorite professor was passing away he eventually quit and started visiting Morrie every tuesday they would just talk for hours and hours. Mitch learned a lot of great things through out his life from morrie. he eventually became a news reporter a new job he loves and although he is very sad about morries death he grows a lot from it and it really helps him out in the end. Review: Tuesdays with Morrie is a great book. while reading it its almost like Morrie is talking to you, teaching you all of thease great life lessons. This book was not just written for entertainment it was written to teach you something. This book is written in such a great wayyou can really get attached to the characters and put your self in their shoes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    I started reading this for a high school project and I have t


    I started reading this for a high school project and I have to say it is the best book I have read in a while. It was very poignant and has a really good message. I couldn’t help but agree with Morrie’s philosophies. I can’t lie, I cried at the end, not to give too much away.

    I really liked the message it had. People need to enjoy the things in life that are most important. Don’t worry about things such as technology. I’m not sure if it because it is based on true events that it really gets me or something else but this book really made me emotional because of the people I know that have passed away and how much they taught me. I guess I kind of understand where this Mitch Albom was coming from when he wrote this.I would definitely recommend this book to people. It is a good book and I believe that everyone who reads it will enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    life changing

    this book is just amazing. my uncle died of ALS and my aunt handed me this book and said "find peace in morrie's words" and i did. And i cried. and have read this book five times. i recommend this book to everyone. i have given mine out to all my friends to read and they have gone out and bought their own copies. i love this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    Phenomenal and unforgettable. Anybody could enjoy this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Tuesdays with Morrie is a very inpiring novel written by Mitch A

    Tuesdays with Morrie is a very inpiring novel written by Mitch Albom. The book is about a long lost student of Morrie Schwartz, a college professor. After sixteen years, Mitch sees Morrie ona show called "Nightline". Morrie talks about his disease (ALS). Mitch travels every Tuesday for fourteen Tuesdays to meet with Morrie. They discuss life lessons; love, regret, family, marriage, etc. Overall a very emotional and uplifting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Our Last Days This story is about a guy that went to college

    Our Last Days



    This story is about a guy that went to college and his favorite teacher. The guy's name is Mitch and his favorite teacher's name is Morrie. Mitch is actually the narrator of the story and he does a great job at descibing everyone too. After Mitch leaves school, and persues his dream as a writer, he comes across a show where he sees Morrie. He tells us in the story that Morrie is diagnosed with ALS and it is terminal. He doesn't have long to live, so Mitch decides to visit him and spends the last days with Morrie. They get along well through-out the story and it makes for an interesting read. Morrie drops some powerful jewels for most of the story and in my opinion it really is worth the read. Most of the setting is at Morrie's house and Brandeis University where Morrie was a Professor. There are other characters in the story. You have Ted Koppel who is the interviewer for Nightline. Peter (Mitch's brother), Janine (Mitch's Wife) and Charlotte (Morrie's Wife). They all have a significant role in the story and it makes for a very touching one. I think it was very thought-provoking and I enjoyed it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    For an indiviual as myself who is not a indepth reader, this boo

    For an indiviual as myself who is not a indepth reader, this book had drawn me closer than any other i have ever read in life! For a person's perspective like Morrie to be so similar towards mines still amazes me and futher encourgaes me to follow my heart and to continue to do what i know what is right. Just picture yourself being informed that you have suddenly been diagnosed with a terminal illness - what would you do? How would you cope with such devastating news? In this book, you will hear how a college professor, named Morrie Schwartz, who hasd been diagnosed with ALS. Shortly after, it concluded him from teaching at Brandeis, but not stopping him from contiuing his teaching sessions on life lessons and importance ot if. One of his past classmates, Mitch Albom, who had been so soaked up with the everyday life situations. He had caught his former professor having a televised interview about his shocking illness on NightLine, which later on reeled him back to reality of life and its true meanings thanks to having discussing sessions every Tuesday until his passing. Mitch had been going through a lot at the time stressing with his job decisions and his family and it seemed destine to get and keep in contact his old professor while Morrie was continuing to teach about his life lessons and willing to help others as much as he could. Morrie showed and opened up about how to not get caught up things not important to your meaning of life which opened the eyes of many around the world who heard this story. Not hiding or sugarcoating his illness, he proved that you can still do what you love and what brings life inside yourself. To him it was to love and help others all you can in which for Morrie it was to continue to teaching no matter what. This book really makes you second guess the things that are truly important in your current life and seemingly can brgihten up your future on what you TRULY desire to have and inquire before your time is up!
    - MG

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    "once you learn how to die, you learn how to live"(Alb

    "once you learn how to die, you learn how to live"(Albom,Tuesdays WIth Morrie). Though the novel, "Tuesdays With Morrie" is focused around the impending death of beloved college professor Morrie SChwartz, it is really a stoy about life, and finding its true meaning. When college graduate and workaholic discovers that his favorite college professor Mitch Schwartz is withering away from ALS, he immediatly decides to visti him- a thing he has not done since graduation day.  The story follows the two men through the last through months of Morries life, and the things that they learn from one another. the figurative language used throughout the novel lifts the story to new heights, and makes every page a thrill. Tok can appeal to a wide range of ages and interests because in covers countless topics and at least one of them is bound to spark anyones interest. i would reccomend "Tuesdays WIth Morrie" to anyone who enjoys reading a classichis bo, well thought out novel, and is not afraid to shed a tear or two. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1725 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 87