Customer Reviews for

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson

Average Rating 4.5
( 1701 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1256)

4 Star

(325)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Tuesdays with Morrie

I hate reading with a passion. When I had to read a book for English class i really didn't like the idea of having to read a book. When my teacher explained the story of this book i was actually looking forward to reading it. When i read the first sentence i knew that i...
I hate reading with a passion. When I had to read a book for English class i really didn't like the idea of having to read a book. When my teacher explained the story of this book i was actually looking forward to reading it. When i read the first sentence i knew that it was going to be a good book. from the front cover to the back cover it took me back to my child hood and the people i have lost in my life. I was amazed that one person lived so On the edge and really didn't care about the details of life, Morrie lived life like he wanted to and didn't care of what other people thought. This is how everyone should live their life the way Morrie did. When i got to the last day or time they saw each together and Morrie couldn't talk and as Mitch said "Whispering" it reminded me of me and my grandpa talking to each other for the last time. I HAVE NEVER EVER CRIED OVER A BOOK!! This book made me cry I'm a 15 year old kid who doesn't have emotions. This book is a great read and I recommend it to anyone who doesn't like to read. This is a book that you do not want to put down. It changed my way of looking at life and i hope it changes yours :)

posted by J_Hargrove on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student

Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student of morries who was his favorite professor. when he heard he was dying he goes back to visit him every tuesday. He learns so much from morrie, it is life changing for him. After all his visits with morrie he...
Great Life Lesson in a Book: Characters- Mitch Albom: a student of morries who was his favorite professor. when he heard he was dying he goes back to visit him every tuesday. He learns so much from morrie, it is life changing for him. After all his visits with morrie he really sees everything differently. Morrie Schwartz- a professor who gets sick and has to quit is job he loved somuch. He suffers from ALS which leaves him not able to do anything for him self untill he passes away. He is a great person who teaches many life lessons he is so greatful for everything he has and tries to pass his love and wisdome onto mitch. Setting: Early to mid 1990's in West Newton Massachusetts in Morries house. Theme: the greatest things come from the most simple things main events: Mitch was a student of Morries who got sucked into his job and forgot about everything else. something he said he would never do. when he heard his favorite professor was passing away he eventually quit and started visiting Morrie every tuesday they would just talk for hours and hours. Mitch learned a lot of great things through out his life from morrie. he eventually became a news reporter a new job he loves and although he is very sad about morries death he grows a lot from it and it really helps him out in the end. Review: Tuesdays with Morrie is a great book. while reading it its almost like Morrie is talking to you, teaching you all of thease great life lessons. This book was not just written for entertainment it was written to teach you something. This book is written in such a great wayyou can really get attached to the characters and put your self in their shoes.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 325 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tuesday with Morrie

    I love this book...The story was really enlighting to me. Morrie had experience so many great relationships with his students in his lifetime and had so many wonderful stories to share. He lived life and yes he felt like he was missing something. He felt love for his life but yet I fell he felt empty at that he wished he could of accomplished more and the lesson he gave to his students were the kind they would never forget.
    I love Mitch Alboms book they are short stories yet they all have such great meanings and lesson to them.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Tuesdays with Morrie is a very inpiring novel written by Mitch A

    Tuesdays with Morrie is a very inpiring novel written by Mitch Albom. The book is about a long lost student of Morrie Schwartz, a college professor. After sixteen years, Mitch sees Morrie ona show called "Nightline". Morrie talks about his disease (ALS). Mitch travels every Tuesday for fourteen Tuesdays to meet with Morrie. They discuss life lessons; love, regret, family, marriage, etc. Overall a very emotional and uplifting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Our Last Days This story is about a guy that went to college

    Our Last Days



    This story is about a guy that went to college and his favorite teacher. The guy's name is Mitch and his favorite teacher's name is Morrie. Mitch is actually the narrator of the story and he does a great job at descibing everyone too. After Mitch leaves school, and persues his dream as a writer, he comes across a show where he sees Morrie. He tells us in the story that Morrie is diagnosed with ALS and it is terminal. He doesn't have long to live, so Mitch decides to visit him and spends the last days with Morrie. They get along well through-out the story and it makes for an interesting read. Morrie drops some powerful jewels for most of the story and in my opinion it really is worth the read. Most of the setting is at Morrie's house and Brandeis University where Morrie was a Professor. There are other characters in the story. You have Ted Koppel who is the interviewer for Nightline. Peter (Mitch's brother), Janine (Mitch's Wife) and Charlotte (Morrie's Wife). They all have a significant role in the story and it makes for a very touching one. I think it was very thought-provoking and I enjoyed it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Tuesdays With Morrie was a rich and touching novel that had hear

    Tuesdays With Morrie was a rich and touching novel that had heartfelt moments around every bend. Have you really ever had someone that was a teacher? Not just math, or social studies, but a someone who teaches you about life? What Mitch Albom had was just that. Morrie Schwartz, Mitch's old college professor, was a man full of joy and energy. When he was diagnosed with the deadly disease of ALS, Mitch begins to start visiting him. Every chapter served as a meaningful lecture about life, whether it was about family, love, death, or regrets. He may have been a sociology professor but what he really taught us all, was how to live. “Once you learn how to die you learn how to live,” was just one of the many thoughts of Morrie, however all of them, were meaningful and touching. The book was spectacular for readers of all ages, and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking to learn how to live. By reading this, you may just learn life's greatest lesson. I hope you enjoy the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    A great book worthy of a read!!

    I read tuesdays with morrie in highschool and twice sense then. I love this book! Its a sad story, made even sadder because its true, of friendship that lasts forever. If you have never read this book then you really should, it will stickwith you for the rest of your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2014

    I read this book for my class thinking it was just another homew

    I read this book for my class thinking it was just another homework assignment, but as i read it and actually got into the book , it has some very strong meaning behind it.
    It is about a older man named Morrie that was a college professor. He had a student name Mitch that he became very close to. Morrie started to loose his ability of everyday functions that he was used to. It puzzled him at first until he was finally diagnosed with ALS. 
    This disease took a toll on him throughout his long journey with this illness. It actually taught me a lot that i didn't know about myself. Don't take life for granted because everyday is not promised. I highly recommend this book to anybody that is doing a project or even just reading for pleasure.
    You will most certainly enjoy this book and learn a lot from this wonderful man named Morries. Mitch Albom is a great writer. He himself can tell you first hand how his life completly changed after Morrie's death.         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    This was a great book to read! I chose to read Tuesdays with Mor

    This was a great book to read! I chose to read Tuesdays with Morrie because it looked like it would be easy to read and I kind of wanted to know what Tuesdays with Morrie was all about. It was suggested to me by a family member to read for summer reading. I would recommend this book to another high school reader that is looking for an easy read that is filled with wisdom and inspirational words about life. This book really met my expectations on having so many enriching and beneficial ideas of life and how to live it to the fullest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    One of the saddest, yet uplifting stories I've ever read. Tuesd

    One of the saddest, yet uplifting stories I've ever read. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Album is a memoir that makes you feel like you are right next to Morrie's bed. It tells the story of Mitch as he visits his old sociology professor from college on his death bed as he suffers from ALS. Mitch sees a news report on television about him and decides to visit him one day, which turns into a visit on every Tuesday. The two become extremely close as Morrie's end draws near. Morrie gives all sorts of wisdom to Mitch about love, marriage, values, happiness, death, and much more. Mitch Album is known for being a sports journalist so it was surprising to see how much of an impact an old sociology professor had on him. One of my favorite quotes from Morrie is "Don't cling to things because everything is impermanent.” Morrie talks a lot about how society has become so obsessed with material things and power. They don't truly focus on what's important and I agree with Morrie 100%. This memoir gives so many words of wisdom from the mouth of a wise old man. There is an important life lesson that Mitch learns in almost every single chapter. Even though he is dying, Morrie keeps a positive attitude and says he wouldn't change what is happening to him if he had the chance. This book left me with a whole new perspective on death and how there's no need to be afraid of dying since it happens to everyone. Religion is kept out of the book for the most part so it can be enjoyed by everyone. It was hard to put the book down even though the sad ending is clear from the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Title: Tuesday┬┐s With Morrie Stars: 4 This book revolves around

    Title: Tuesday’s With Morrie
    Stars: 4
    This book revolves around two main characters their names are Morrie and Mitch. Morrie is one of Mitch’s professor’s while attending college in West Newton, Massachusetts. They become really good friends until Mitch graduates from the college. After so many years Mitch locates Morrie while watching a t.v. interview with Morrie in it and decides to travel to Boston, Massachusetts to see him. Once Mitch meets Morrie they talk about plenty of thing revolving about life. While Morrie lies on his bed because he is unable to move certain parts of his body because of (ALS) amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. As Mitch continues to see Morrie on Tuesdays they talk about plenty of life lessons. Slowly Mitch starts to appreciate Morrie for his advice because Mitch himself wasn’t so happy about his life but as they to continue to meet Mitch begins to open up to Morrie and they both become attached to one another. As Mitch meets with Morrie he brings him food to show his love and care for Morrie. Mitch keeps meeting with Morrie until he dies. I enjoyed this book because he taught me many valuable lessons and the main idea I took from this autobiography is never take life for granted. I really enjoyed this book while reading it makes me think about the things I can do to change and live a happier life. And I recommend this book to anyone who is struggling to find happiness because of working too hard, the love they share for someone else or the world they live in, this book has the answers to them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    I think tuesdays with morrie was a four star book it was pretty

    I think tuesdays with morrie was a four star book it was pretty easy to understand it. The characters in tuesdays with morrie are mitch albom he is morries former student at brandeis university also the narrator of th book. Morris schwartz suffered from ALS also mitchs favorite teacher and the focus of the story. Ted koppel a famous living tv interviewers, he conducts three interviews with morrie for the news show "nightline". Charlotte not mentioned as much but shes morries caring wife. The setting of the story takes place early-mid 1990s in west newton, massachusetts. Overall I like this book because it's pretty easy to understand and I love how morrie changes mitches life, how mitch went from a person that didnt care about much to a very caring person. I also like morries attitude even though he knew he was dying he always kept a smile and didnt want people to feel bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    The main idea is: Live to the fullest, experience all tha yo





    The main idea is: Live to the fullest, experience all tha you can relish the memorys without regrets.Love and be loved inreturn is the best one can ask for.Tuesday with Morrie is a reflection on mortalityTo unstand what Morrie was driving at with his last lesson is that Morrie was teaching Mitch how to vbe human I myself rate this bookfour stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I have never completely finish a book the whole way through, but

    I have never completely finish a book the whole way through, but this one got me very close. tuesdays with Morrie was about an elderly man named Morrie who, in the past, was a professor Mitch. Morrie was Mitch's favorite professor because of his tactics, fun personality and his view on life. When many years passed, Morrie became ill with the deadly disease ALS. Mitch found out about Morrie being sick so he went to visit him. When he showed up Morrie and him talked for hours about life. This gave Mitch a new outlook on life. Because of how this made Mitch feel he made it consistent to see Morrie every Tuesday to gain life lessons. I enjoyed the overall theme of the novel. I felt as if i could relate to the book myself. It was consistent and gave me things to think about. I also felt like the book was repetitive and towards the end lost my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Tuesdays with Morrie The two main characters of Tuesdays with Mo

    Tuesdays with Morrie The two main characters of Tuesdays with Morrie are Morrie Schwartz and Mitch Albom. There was brief appearances by Morries wife and Ted Koppel. Morrie is Mitch’s college professor. This book was written after Morrie was diagnosed with a deadly illness. Mitch is Morrie's favorite student, Mitch wants to spend quality time with Morrie so they can roll back the years. Mitch wants to learn as much as he can from his old coach. This story takes place in Massachusetts where Morrie's home stands outside of Boston in the suburbs, the story flips back in time to the 1970’s, but mostly takes place in the mid 1990’s, until the end of Mitch’s last class with Morrie. The book was said but happy in its own right. The novel was very powerful, anyone that reads it will agree. The power of the novel will remain true throughout time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    "Best Book Ever" Morrie got diagnose with ALS in the

    "Best Book Ever" Morrie got diagnose with ALS in the 1900's. One of his old students Mitch saw it on the news, and went to Boston to visit him. Mitch started going there every tuesday to spend time with Morrie before he passed away. Morrie taught Mitch so many thing from death is not so thing to be afraid of, to if you love someone tell them before its to late."Tuesday with Morrie was one of the greatest books i have ever read. While reading the book and listening to how Morrie inspiried Mitch to change his life. He Inspiried me to change they way I have been thinking about life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    A simple account of the journey toward the end of life. Touchin

    A simple account of the journey toward the end of life. Touching, inspiring, motivating, well-written. It resonates with reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    With a smile on my face and tears in my eyes, Tuesdays with Morr

    With a smile on my face and tears in my eyes, Tuesdays with Morrie provided me with a whirlwind of emotions. The inspiring true story portrays Morrie Schwartz, a passionate teacher diagnosed with ALS.  Long after the final bell rang, Morrie continued to teach. Every Tuesday Morrie taught former student Mitch insightful lessons on living life. As you journey with Morrie through his battle with ALS, you see the lovable professor deteriorate. The heart-wrenching novel managed to be both comical and poignant at the same time. I thoroughly enjoyed Tuesdays with Morrie and I would advise others to read this touching memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I generally am not a huge fan of reading but the book kept me in

    I generally am not a huge fan of reading but the book kept me interested. It was really a life changing story that enlightened me to a great extent. Morrie is a person who has been through so much pain and agony but yet he wakes up everyday and he does not feel sorry for himself. Most people including me would be thinking about how horrible our life is yet Morrie seems to look at it in a way that really touches your soul and makes you a better person for reading the book. I would recommend this book to anyone, it is a relatively easy read but it still makes a profound point that really can not be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Death is an inevitable thing, and if there is one person who kno

    Death is an inevitable thing, and if there is one person who knows how to make the most of even something so dismal as the end of a life, it is Morrie Schwartz. Morrie grew up leading a rather lonely life, so he promised that as he got older he would not be like his father, and he would not die in such a sudden way that those close to him wouldn’t be there—like how both his parents both passed away. In truth, it was almost as if being diagnosed with ALS was a blessing and a curse; at the same time it gave people the chance to say goodbye to him, it was painful watching him go.
    However, Morrie simply proves that death can be a rather informative experience. Mitch, one of his former students, had come to realize what was truly important in life, not just wealth or power or fancy cars. The Tuesdays that Mitch spent with his dying professor enlightened him on what living really meant.
    In fact, Morrie enlightened all of the readers of the novel as well. This story draws you in and holds you, by means of Morrie’s wise preaching. Then, just as suddenly, Morrie is taken away from you as well as his friends and family. The fact that the story is based upon truth makes it that much more real, as if you were sitting in with Mitch on a Tuesday in the office of Morrie, occasionally glancing out the window at that ever-present Japanese maple tree. The smallest of details and the greatest of morals are always bringing the story to life.
    In my own opinion, this novel was incredibly written. The gravity of all that Morrie says could cause even the most stubborn politician to reevaluate how his mind sees the world. I know that that happened to me. Having read the book I now find myself appreciating the little things in life, like the first signs of my favorite season, or the simple joy of being able to sit and read an inspirational story.
    My only critique? The story is a bit overwhelming. It is difficult to take a hard look at life and question morals. Plus, the novel is about a real-life experience, and promises no miracles. The ending put me on the verge of tears, because while throughout the novel it is apparent and inevitable, no reader ever wants such a beautiful, melancholy book to end.
    To discover how to live, one must first discover how to die. Everyone knows that all people must die, but they never imagine themselves dying. Morrie spent all of his dwindling days thoughtfully, teaching until his last. This unforgettable, heart-warming novel will have readers flipping its pages for generations to come, and I highly recommend it for anyone seeking out a timeless story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    A must read!

    This is the third or fourth time I have read this book, which is something I don't normally do.
    I love anything by Mitch Albom,this being one of my favorites.
    It is a heart warming story, gives you a lot to think about.
    Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Great

    Pleasure to read. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 325 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17