Customer Reviews for

Tuesdays at the Castle

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Enchanting, delightful read!

What I encountered in reading this book was a darling mystery adventure that will really capture your heart. I quickly fell in love with the setting, the characters, the villians, the magic, the adventure--everything!

Castle Glower isn't a normal castle--it's enchant...
What I encountered in reading this book was a darling mystery adventure that will really capture your heart. I quickly fell in love with the setting, the characters, the villians, the magic, the adventure--everything!

Castle Glower isn't a normal castle--it's enchanted. It shifts its rooms and hallways to suit its mood and needs. It shifts to show favor. It does all of these things seemingly on its own, but it shows special favor to Princess Celie, our young MC who loves the castle eccentricities and spends much of her time creating an atlas of the castle. When Celie's parents and oldest brother go missing, she and her siblings, Rolf and Lilah, must work together with the castle to fight the bad guys who want to take over the kingdom, and Celie's knowledge of the castle comes in handy more than once.

Celie is an incredibly endearing main character. She's fiercely loyal to her family and deeply suspicious of outsiders. She's also really smart and thinks on her toes. She comes up with fabulous schemes to outsmart the bad guys and keep them guessing. It's easy to see why the castle favors her because she simply believes in its magic to its fullest extent.

Kids and adults alike will easily fall in love with this fun tale of daring tricks and escapes. I think kids will delight in the childrens' plans to outsmart and outwit the adults. It's the kind of novel that will let your imagination run wild, from the ever changing castle to the plans that kids devise. Magic is well-incorporated into the story and the castle really almost becomes a character in its own right. It's ever-changing rooms and it's secret passages are sure to strike a chord with kids. What kid doesn't imagine living and playing in secret passageways and spying on adults through secret peepholes hidden behind drapes? It's a kind of fantasy world that gives you a clear, beautiful picture of the surroundings but leaves a lot to your imagination.


The simplicity of the writing strikes a beautiful contrast to the imaginative landscape of the novel. This is a quick read because once you pick it up, you won't want to put it down, and Ms. George's writing simply flows wonderfully. One of the best things (for me) about this book is that it has a well-structured beginning, middle, and end--despite being the first in a series. Gone are the all-too-popular cliffhangers. This book will make readers want to pick up the next book because it's sure to be a fun, magical read--not simply because the author left them hanging in the previous book.

posted by ReadingCorner on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

To much violence

I hated this book it has to much blood at the end

posted by 11295365 on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enchanting, delightful read!

    What I encountered in reading this book was a darling mystery adventure that will really capture your heart. I quickly fell in love with the setting, the characters, the villians, the magic, the adventure--everything!

    Castle Glower isn't a normal castle--it's enchanted. It shifts its rooms and hallways to suit its mood and needs. It shifts to show favor. It does all of these things seemingly on its own, but it shows special favor to Princess Celie, our young MC who loves the castle eccentricities and spends much of her time creating an atlas of the castle. When Celie's parents and oldest brother go missing, she and her siblings, Rolf and Lilah, must work together with the castle to fight the bad guys who want to take over the kingdom, and Celie's knowledge of the castle comes in handy more than once.

    Celie is an incredibly endearing main character. She's fiercely loyal to her family and deeply suspicious of outsiders. She's also really smart and thinks on her toes. She comes up with fabulous schemes to outsmart the bad guys and keep them guessing. It's easy to see why the castle favors her because she simply believes in its magic to its fullest extent.

    Kids and adults alike will easily fall in love with this fun tale of daring tricks and escapes. I think kids will delight in the childrens' plans to outsmart and outwit the adults. It's the kind of novel that will let your imagination run wild, from the ever changing castle to the plans that kids devise. Magic is well-incorporated into the story and the castle really almost becomes a character in its own right. It's ever-changing rooms and it's secret passages are sure to strike a chord with kids. What kid doesn't imagine living and playing in secret passageways and spying on adults through secret peepholes hidden behind drapes? It's a kind of fantasy world that gives you a clear, beautiful picture of the surroundings but leaves a lot to your imagination.


    The simplicity of the writing strikes a beautiful contrast to the imaginative landscape of the novel. This is a quick read because once you pick it up, you won't want to put it down, and Ms. George's writing simply flows wonderfully. One of the best things (for me) about this book is that it has a well-structured beginning, middle, and end--despite being the first in a series. Gone are the all-too-popular cliffhangers. This book will make readers want to pick up the next book because it's sure to be a fun, magical read--not simply because the author left them hanging in the previous book.

    50 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Tuesdays At The Castle

    A captivating read. I recomend it to all who love Adventure,and retellings. Overall character design was simply marvolus, and the plot was engaging and well told. Four stars!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended, for a kid that likes magical, fantasy type stories

    I bought this book for my daughter, age 8, for Christmas based upon the person in charge of our local B&N kids' section. It took my daughter about 6 months and a school requirement to begin reading it. At first, she liked it and read it for 15 mins. every day. But, midway through the book, she told me that she didn't like it anymore. She found it boring. I think, based upon the books she then chose to read, that it might have been a little too old for her and not her favorite genre.

    I read some of the book with/to her and really liked the author's style and the book's premise. It was interesting and, when I made my daughter start reading it on her own, I kept asking her for plot updates. I wanted to know what was happening to main character next...with each new "mini-adventure."

    I would recommend the book for an advanced reader, if you give it to your child at 8, or more for the 10-12 year age group. My daughter would recommend the book for someone "who likes that kind of thing...you know magic and stuff." Hope this helps!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Celie and the rest of the royal family of Sleyne live in Castle

    Celie and the rest of the royal family of Sleyne live in Castle Glower - a notable thing because, while regularly adding and relocating rooms, the building has been known to creatively expel individuals for whom it does not care. This trait comes in handy for her and two of her siblings when the rest of the family goes missing and are presumed dead. With the help of their home, the three remaining children must hang on to the kingdom until the truth is discovered.

    A pure impulse buy, I picked Tuesdays at the Castle up for three reasons: One, the title is pretty much hilarious to me--not sure why; two, the cover is a pretty one that, instead of reviews of previous works, has a teaser on the back of it; and three, the premise kind of reminded me of House of Many Ways. Truth be known, it was actually these three items on top of one other that got this book a ride home with me. I picked it up, read the first page and fell in love.

    As I continued reading [The book only took a couple of days], I continued to fall in love with the writing, the story and the characters. The writing and story are both simple enough to attract a young reader but are at the same time neither childish or insulting to their intelligence. Not to be cloying or saccharine in excess, everything about this book [excluding the villains, of course] is sincere and very sweet.

    Celie, our protagonist, is eleven years old and the youngest of four children. Being the fact of the matter, she is largely unburdened by royal duties and, until circumstances require otherwise, unburdened by maturity or age. She is, to all, the expert on the Castle, spending her ample free time in an attempt make an atlas of their mysterious and ever changing home. But when her family is endangered, she does her best to shake off the fragility of age and station [or lack thereof] in order to step up as support, part-time tactician and cohort of the building itself.

    Watching the very real interactions of the three youths as their parents and brother disappear adn their home is essentially invaded under false pretenses, I was pleased to see that every voice was its own and that the exposition was overwhelming. I enjoyed the characters and the castle, the humour and excitement. All in all, this was a marvelous impulse buy. I highly recommend it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Wonderful book for preteens

    This was a fun book about a youngest princess and her ability to observe her surroundings and be something more. I loved this book as much as I loved the others written by Jessica George.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Amazing

    Such a good book i already read it 2 times

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    People stop

    Stop writing random stuff!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Recommend

    My daughter is nine years old and really enjoyed this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    THIS WAS A BIRTHDAY PRESENT FOR MY GREAT=NIECE

    SHE SAID SHE WOULD READ IT OVER THE SUMMER AND WRITE A BOOK REPORT ON IT NEXT SCHOOL YEAR.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Cute!!!!!

    I loved this book!!! It was really nice how these siblings worked together, and the castle being alive added an awesome twist!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Great book

    Good for all ages and is full of twist and turns

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Tuesdays at the castle

    I got this book for my birthday it is pretty interesting but then it starts to get boring then interesting again

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Really great book for the child that has not found their book excitement

    My daughter loved this book! Eagerly picked up the book every day. Wanted to read to me quotes from the book that she thought were hilarious.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    I loved it

    I liked it .but it seems to be so intence with all this killing. It not a bad book but i could use alittle more romance plus action if there is going to be a new book. Great job jessica keep writing more books your book lover,mommamea02 sorry my firt post had incorrect spelling

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    A good book. a easy read- I would read it again.

    A good book. a easy read- I would read it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Awesome

    Good book thought our well.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great book!

    Such a good book u will fall in love with ceile (:

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    It was good

    Even though i am half way thourgh the book it is nice!!!!!!!!!!!
    My cuzin introduce me 2 it and i luv it
    Hi jules

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2