Customer Reviews for

Tumbleweeds: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great summer read

Couldn't wait to read this new book because i so enjoyed Roses by the sameauthor. I was not disappointed! So enjoyable and fast moving. The characters are so interesting and so believable. The end is so cleverly plotted. Didn 't see it coming. I even went back and ...
Couldn't wait to read this new book because i so enjoyed Roses by the sameauthor. I was not disappointed! So enjoyable and fast moving. The characters are so interesting and so believable. The end is so cleverly plotted. Didn 't see it coming. I even went back and reread passages to find the authors clues. So nice! I didnt want the story to end.

posted by 8137821 on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Good, but a bit confused

SPOILER---
I enjoyed reading this novel, as it kept me interested and desiring to know what would happen next. However, I could not get past the simple fact that Trey HAD to be Will's father. If Trey wanted John to believe it b/c he would be around for him and Trey knew...
SPOILER---
I enjoyed reading this novel, as it kept me interested and desiring to know what would happen next. However, I could not get past the simple fact that Trey HAD to be Will's father. If Trey wanted John to believe it b/c he would be around for him and Trey knew he must have been the father, I would have liked Trey to have acknowledged it. Biologically, according to John's description of the incident, he was not the father! Some other minor events in the story bugged me, as well. I know life is messy, but some things need to make sense! In the end, it is hard for me to move past them.

posted by 10271448 on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Excellent book...highly recommended

    I read this authors first book- Roses- and loved it. It took a long time for her to come out with another book but it was well worth the wait. This book would be outstanding for book club discussions; it is so well written and holds your interest from the first paragraph to the last word. Can't wait for her next book!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    As with "Roses", I was spellbound by the story of &quo

    As with "Roses", I was spellbound by the story of "Tumbleweeds". The story moves quickly, the characters are interesting and contrary to a review that I read, the murder(s) are definitely a large part of the storyline--one affects a character's role in life and one brings the story to a tragic end--a great summer read. I cannot wait for the author's next novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Grand Read

    Couldn' t wait to get Tumbleweeds.... couldn't put it down....worth the wait! The charactors are very real and the story takes all the twists and turns of real life,yet in a very entertaining tale. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    After reading Roses, this one is a let-down. It is good, but it

    After reading Roses, this one is a let-down. It is good, but it had a ridiculous scene added that just threw off the storyline. I guess it was supposed to be a twist, but it blew it for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Good book

    It was a good book and I loved how the ending wasn't so predictable. However, I enjoyed Roses more. Roses is a must read. I will be a forever fan of Leila Meacham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    I enjoyed this story.  Keep me interested and a good read

    I enjoyed this story.  Keep me interested and a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Kept me captivated till the VERY END!

    What an amazing book. Loved the different relationships formed early on in the story & how they transitioned throughout the years, not exactly the way we would want or expext, but that's LIFE, right? This book definitely isn't predictible and that's why it keeps you on pins & needles until you reach the very end.

    I also loved Roses and am eagerly anticipating the arrival of this authors next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Good book - as good, or better than Roses

    My book club read this book and enjoyed it. Good twists towards the end, and an rather abrupt ending, but still good, not disappointing. Glad we picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Loved the book, except the author kept repeating what you alread

    Loved the book, except the author kept repeating what you already knew of the characters. Thus taking a 250 page book to an over 400 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Really got into this one!

    The twists and turns, varying personalities involved, unexpected events, all made this book an extremely interesting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book it was a great page turner and it was a quick read I really like Leila Meacham style

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommend- one day read

    This book kept your interest the entire time so that it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Couldn't put it down.

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Tumleweeds

    Loved this book! could't put it down!! I loved the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Strang writing style

    Did not finish this book, the author has a strange writing style and I just could not get into it enough to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    So Disappointing

    This book was disappointing from the beginning. Couldn't anything go right? I don't believe for one minute that the author accurately described how Will could have actually been Johns. It certainly wasn't possible from the description that was given. It was like she changed the story somewhere along the way. It was just a miserable story with miserable people. Not a fan of this and will probably not read another story from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Fantastic reading!

    Really great book! I could not put it down until I finished it. The ending was a shocker which made the book more enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Started out promising...

    I was so disappointed with this book. It started out well with the story of Cathy, Trey, and John-three young friends growing up together in a small Texas town. Unfortunately, it devolved into a soap opera-ish mess complete with a jilted teenage mother, a paternity identification crisis, auto-erotic asphyxiation, unrequited love for a Catholic priest (shades of The Thornbirds) and a murder mystery thrown in for good measure. Most disappointing of all was the unsatisfying conclusion. What could have ended with a bang, went out with a whimper instead. Give it a miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was such an exciting book to read, it had more twists an turn than Lombard ST. In S.F. I just had to read every page, every sentence, and every word, to finally find out how it all ends. The characters come to life in your mind. It shows how relationships who once were filled with love and trust can somehow end up destroying your life. I felt that Father John got off easy as an acconplice to the murder. Being a priest does not excuse him for what he did.
    This is an excellent story and all for $2.99. Forget you Nora Roberts and your $15 books. I think people buy her books because of her name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    hi

    Fail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6