Customer Reviews for

Tumbleweeds

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great summer read

Couldn't wait to read this new book because i so enjoyed Roses by the sameauthor. I was not disappointed! So enjoyable and fast moving. The characters are so interesting and so believable. The end is so cleverly plotted. Didn 't see it coming. I even went back and ...
Couldn't wait to read this new book because i so enjoyed Roses by the sameauthor. I was not disappointed! So enjoyable and fast moving. The characters are so interesting and so believable. The end is so cleverly plotted. Didn 't see it coming. I even went back and reread passages to find the authors clues. So nice! I didnt want the story to end.

posted by 8137821 on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Good, but a bit confused

SPOILER---
I enjoyed reading this novel, as it kept me interested and desiring to know what would happen next. However, I could not get past the simple fact that Trey HAD to be Will's father. If Trey wanted John to believe it b/c he would be around for him and Trey knew...
SPOILER---
I enjoyed reading this novel, as it kept me interested and desiring to know what would happen next. However, I could not get past the simple fact that Trey HAD to be Will's father. If Trey wanted John to believe it b/c he would be around for him and Trey knew he must have been the father, I would have liked Trey to have acknowledged it. Biologically, according to John's description of the incident, he was not the father! Some other minor events in the story bugged me, as well. I know life is messy, but some things need to make sense! In the end, it is hard for me to move past them.

posted by 10271448 on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Great summer read

    Couldn't wait to read this new book because i so enjoyed Roses by the sameauthor. I was not disappointed! So enjoyable and fast moving. The characters are so interesting and so believable. The end is so cleverly plotted. Didn 't see it coming. I even went back and reread passages to find the authors clues. So nice! I didnt want the story to end.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it e

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it end.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Great read!!

    Another book that left me with a book hangover! Highly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading this book, I have read Roses by same au

    I really enjoyed reading this book, I have read Roses by same author, which I enjoyed reading.
    Loved story line and I will recommend this book.  I like her writing. Can't wait to see what see comes with next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    highly recommend

    very good book, surprised me a very moving book I cryied alot reading this

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Wonderful

    A great read and development of characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I Thoroughly Loved This Book

    I read Leila Meacham's Roses and found her book Tumbleweeds so different. It is a very well written book and I enjoyed it very much. I did not find them similar at all but equally intriguing as they keep you guessing up to the end. I loved reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Great book. Enjoyed her first book, Roses. Love this author...can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Another great read!

    Leila Meacham has written her second novel and WOW! I was so sorry to finish this book. I truly wanted to see more about the friends! Following them from young to older it kept my interest and really made me look back on the friendship I have shared with my friend for 46 years. Really a book to enjoy and reflect on after you have finished reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: "Tumbleweeds" by Leila Meacham was some in




    Review:

    "Tumbleweeds" by Leila Meacham was some interesting read. In Kersey, this story takes place in the Panhandle...with the story being told in third person. These three orphans (Catherine Ann Benson and Trey Don Hall)and a abandoned child (John Caldwell),lead a very interesting life. I found this novel rather long but still fast enough to stay interesting for me. Be ready for a lots of twist and turns that will keep up turning the pages to see what was coming up next. You have three friends... two boys and one girl that become fast friends... however, both boys are in love with the girl. Now who would win her? After a series of happenings this completely comes apart. There will be a lots of secrets being revealed in the next twenty years...eventually gripping the reunion of the trio when they are all forty years old. The story will leave no part unturned and the plot thickens until the very end. Now, this is where I say you must pick up "Tumbleweeds" to see how this all comes together.

    The characters are all simply good and memorable....really adding passion, friendship and love to the dialogue and the importance of football in the small town of Kersey. This story will have one characters' life that leads to football, another to become a priest and the other to work in a diner. Even the dog importance was displayed...Rufus. In "Tumbleweeds" many decades of life's will be revealed in this good read.


    If you are in for a good read full of mystery and suspense... you have come to the right place. I recommend you pick up "Tumbleweeds" for a good read where you will find love, friendship, football, betrayal, secrets, murder, religion, sorrow, compassion misunderstandings and even forgiveness.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Excellent...best I've read in a long time! Highly recommend aut

    Excellent...best I've read in a long time! Highly recommend author's other book Roses...excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Excellent book...highly recommended

    I read this authors first book- Roses- and loved it. It took a long time for her to come out with another book but it was well worth the wait. This book would be outstanding for book club discussions; it is so well written and holds your interest from the first paragraph to the last word. Can't wait for her next book!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    As with "Roses", I was spellbound by the story of &quo

    As with "Roses", I was spellbound by the story of "Tumbleweeds". The story moves quickly, the characters are interesting and contrary to a review that I read, the murder(s) are definitely a large part of the storyline--one affects a character's role in life and one brings the story to a tragic end--a great summer read. I cannot wait for the author's next novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Grand Read

    Couldn' t wait to get Tumbleweeds.... couldn't put it down....worth the wait! The charactors are very real and the story takes all the twists and turns of real life,yet in a very entertaining tale. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Kept me captivated till the VERY END!

    What an amazing book. Loved the different relationships formed early on in the story & how they transitioned throughout the years, not exactly the way we would want or expext, but that's LIFE, right? This book definitely isn't predictible and that's why it keeps you on pins & needles until you reach the very end.

    I also loved Roses and am eagerly anticipating the arrival of this authors next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book it was a great page turner and it was a quick read I really like Leila Meacham style

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommend- one day read

    This book kept your interest the entire time so that it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Couldn't put it down.

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Tumleweeds

    Loved this book! could't put it down!! I loved the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Fantastic reading!

    Really great book! I could not put it down until I finished it. The ending was a shocker which made the book more enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3