Customer Reviews for

Tune Up Your PC in a Weekend

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Great Help!

    This is one of the best computer repair books I've found. I'm a novice and it makes everything very easy to understand. The author uses simple, detailed instructions to insure you are comfortable performing the repairs, upgrades, etc. I plan to rely on this and other of her books to keep me 'up and running' for a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    This book is great!

    Being a novice, this book talked to me in language I could inderstand. I now have my computer running at it's optimum , having done things I never would have attempted on my own. Lots of pride knowing that I did this myself! ( the book takes you step by step.) Having taking B&N univerversity class using this book, it also seemed great with the more experienced users!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    An Excellent Book and Easy to Understand

    This is a very thorough and easy to understand book. In a short time I have learned so much about maintaining Windows 98. I recommend it to anyone that is frustrated with some aspect of their computer's performance. This book's easy step-by-step instructions are an excellent resource to do your own computer improvements.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    Clear writing

    Wempen has taken a techie subject and written clearly enough for most non-techies to learn how to better use their computers and troubleshoot problems. This is an incredibly difficult thing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2000

    Clear, concise, powerful

    This book is clearly written and yet is able to pack a wealth of information in its' chapters. The only thing better than this book is to read it and take the Barnes and Noble online course with the author of this book herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    What A Goldmine!

    Like to tinker with things technical? Having trouble with your PC? Want to become more versed in what goes on inside that little box connected to your monitor? You'll find most of the answers in this simple to read and understand volume. Quit being frustrated with your PC and begin having fun with it. Faithe will launch you on the road to Happy Computing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2000

    You need this book BEFORE your computer dies.

    In college, I remember a favorite saying of one of my favorite instructors, 'You don't have to remember the details of something. Just remember where to find the details'. 'Tune up Your PC in a Weekend', is a book with the details of not only how to keep the computer in operation but how to understand the workings and enhance the performance of the machine. It's the book that should be in the bookcase when the BSOD strikes at 2AM. Buy it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    Excellent Book with step-by-step instructions

    I have just finished this book, along with taking the class thru Barnes & Noble University. This is one of the best computer books I have ever purchased. You do not need to be an expert to use this book or take the course. I really recommend this book to any one who owns a computer. Written in plain english that everyone can understand!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    This Book is like having a Computer Technician beside you.

    This is a wonderful book and it has helped me get my computer running smoothly again. I just finished a course at B&N University and it helped me tremendously. Everyone should have this book as a learning guide and reference book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    Not only helpful, but empowering!

    Excellent resource. Well-organized, understandable and thorough. Faithe Wempen has an awesome depth and breadth of computer knowledge. If you're tired of being intimidated by your Windows 98 computer, add this book to your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Excellent Book for the Non-Computer Geek!

    This book was non-stop reading! So many questions were answered about maintaining my PC computer. This book along with the course at Barnes and Noble University has really helped me to get my PC in peak running condition. Would recommend the book to anybody who has a PC!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1