Customer Reviews for

Tunnels (Tunnels Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Love it!!

This book is amazing because it really allowed me to use my imagination. The storyline is so unique and thrilling. Once I started this book I could not stop. I recommend it to anyone who wishes to read a unique, exciting and unbelievable story!

posted by 493889 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Unique Story Concept, Perfect For Young Kids.

This story really brought something new to the table. However, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was just too old to be reading this book. I love good fiction with a passion...and this wasn't too bad in terms of story and content. It just had a very juvenile approach ...
This story really brought something new to the table. However, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was just too old to be reading this book. I love good fiction with a passion...and this wasn't too bad in terms of story and content. It just had a very juvenile approach that I never experienced from other books like Harry Potter or Chronicles of Narnia. And that's not to say that "Tunnels" is comparable to those books...because it's not. It is a very different novel and I can't place what it is that makes it different other than that it is just very conservative. The authors never push any boundaries...every instance of danger is just not dangerous enough, every instance of creepiness is just not creepy enough. It was all very "PG" and I think it would have been better off as a "PG-13" story.

In terms of the book itself, I think it had a killer hook. The problem is, the hook doesn't pull you in until a few chapters in. Which is basically the major flaw the book had in my opinion: it was a great concept but it took too long to cut to the chase whenever a major event was going to take place. While reading this book, I got to a really dull section and I ended up putting the book down for a few months until I could get interested in it again. I've never actually had to do that with a book that I was reading for fun, but something brought me back to it and I'm really glad I read it through to the end.

The only other problem I had with the book is that the main character never really acted his age. I always found myself wondering, "how old is this kid again?" The characters in general were well described but not well established as people.

Overall I think that this is a GOOD book for someone in Junior High School. I also think that this entire book is really only HALF of a story that takes too long to play out. The ending is great and somewhat shocking but was not worthy of being the end to a story like this. It seems as if the authors specifically wrote this book so that it would have a sequel and I didn't appreciate that. Worth the read but definitely not for young adult.

posted by Patton-Athenae on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!!

    This book is amazing because it really allowed me to use my imagination. The storyline is so unique and thrilling. Once I started this book I could not stop. I recommend it to anyone who wishes to read a unique, exciting and unbelievable story!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, great story, keeps you interested

    I really enjoyed this book. The story was unique and interesting. The characters are interesting. I highly recommend it and the sequel Deeper. Read it!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unique Story Concept, Perfect For Young Kids.

    This story really brought something new to the table. However, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was just too old to be reading this book. I love good fiction with a passion...and this wasn't too bad in terms of story and content. It just had a very juvenile approach that I never experienced from other books like Harry Potter or Chronicles of Narnia. And that's not to say that "Tunnels" is comparable to those books...because it's not. It is a very different novel and I can't place what it is that makes it different other than that it is just very conservative. The authors never push any boundaries...every instance of danger is just not dangerous enough, every instance of creepiness is just not creepy enough. It was all very "PG" and I think it would have been better off as a "PG-13" story.

    In terms of the book itself, I think it had a killer hook. The problem is, the hook doesn't pull you in until a few chapters in. Which is basically the major flaw the book had in my opinion: it was a great concept but it took too long to cut to the chase whenever a major event was going to take place. While reading this book, I got to a really dull section and I ended up putting the book down for a few months until I could get interested in it again. I've never actually had to do that with a book that I was reading for fun, but something brought me back to it and I'm really glad I read it through to the end.

    The only other problem I had with the book is that the main character never really acted his age. I always found myself wondering, "how old is this kid again?" The characters in general were well described but not well established as people.

    Overall I think that this is a GOOD book for someone in Junior High School. I also think that this entire book is really only HALF of a story that takes too long to play out. The ending is great and somewhat shocking but was not worthy of being the end to a story like this. It seems as if the authors specifically wrote this book so that it would have a sequel and I didn't appreciate that. Worth the read but definitely not for young adult.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    Horrible!

    DO NOT waste your money on this book! I Hated it! I couldnt even finish the book. I hated the writing, it just ran on and on and on. It just bored me. The book just drages on.

    11 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful start to a wonderful series!

    This wonderful opening to a best selling series may just be the next Harry Potter.
    This action packed novel by Brian Williams and Roderick Gordon is a novel that has great characters( my favorites are Bartleby and Rebecca), an amazingly detailed plot, and is great for teens.
    I would probly recommend this book for ages 12-18.
    You wont be dissapointed with this series opener!

    P.S. Cant wait for Closer(Book 4)!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book..... but not good enough.

    I really wanted to fall in love with this book, I really did. And it was good at the start then it got pretty boring toward the middle. So my adivce, is to give it a try and if you find it not exciting then quit on it.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    An Incredible Thriller

    An outstanding fresh novel with vivid descriptions and wonderful characters.At first, it´s a bit childish but then, as it develops, it gets darker and better. I loved it, and the ending is so good I can barely wait to read the second part. There are several novels that have achieved undeserved fame, I think, like Twilight, but this one definitely deserves it. Fabulous. One of my favorite books!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Incredible!!!!!

    Best book ever. Really long though so if just looking for a short read dont buy it. But other then that, amazing

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Boring

    Its so bad dont waste your money it is themost boring book it is not even worth a penny. Take it from me. It is not the next harry potter book. I read the first book it doesnt even make sense

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting

    Well I just finished the book last night. What a crazy story this Will ha. I think the book is fun for ages 8 and up, not hard reading, very descriptive, but kind of boring till you get to page 100 and up. Then your in for a reading ride.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    My parents got mad at me for staying up too late on school nights reading this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Adventure and Mystery

    Great for kids looking for something to fill the void left by the conclusion of the Harry Potter series. However, Tunnels is more Science Fiction than Fantasy- so, no magic, dragons, or castles to be found. Will Burrows is an interesting character who will appeal to kids. There were parts that were a little scary, so I would recommend this for children ages 10 and up. Overall, a great read and leaves you waiting for the sequel.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Listen up now

    This book is really awesome but the rest in the series are WAY better. And yeah,the stories are a bit gory but there still great. How can some of you guys say that it sucked! It was awesome! I just finished Spiral. Oh great, now my Mum is yelling at me to get some sleep because 'its really late' or whatever. Bye fellow readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    In this adventerous novel written by Roderick Gordon is an u

    In this adventerous novel written by Roderick Gordon is an




    upbeat read for anybody ranging from 5th grade to 9th grade. If you are




    someone reading this book it could change your life, just like if you




    read, “Eat, Pray, Love.” Throughout this book the reader will go through




    many interesting and weird adventures. So, the book starts out like this,




    Will, the main character, is with his father, Dr. Burrows, and they are




    having there “Father-Son” time at their new excavation site they found




    and there digging and setting up all the necessary things that you would




    need to do what they do. Later on Will finds that he has a problem with




    his excavation site that he needs to fix the problem he has or his site




    could be gone forever. Throughout the book the characters keep




    digging and finding new things along the way.




    This book, Tunnels, could have many different dystopian themes but




    the one that stick out the most is equality. These people in the book are forced to live underground and they can't try to go back up to the surface. 




    The characters in this book have some depth. Will, the main character, is interesting. He loves to dig, just like his father, but when he has his own dig site he wouldn't let anybody help him with it until he found a new friend that he trust and that's very rare. Dr. Burrows on the other hand wants people to help him all the time except for his own personal work. So, I guess you could say that are alike in some ways, but in others they're different. Will's sister is pretty interesting too. She is like the housekeeper around their house. She does all the laundry, the dishes, she makes dinner every night, and makes sure that the house is nice and tidy. Will's mom, Mrs. Burrows is kind of weird. She loves to watch movies and TV shows, especially her soap operas, she loves them and can watch them 24/7. 



    Like I said before the book "Tunnels" has many different dystopian themes. I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it if  your looking for a fantastic and highly interesting book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    AMAZING!

    I loved this book because it was intrasting, and the things in it could actually happen in the future. A fantastic read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Great

    It takes a while for it to get exciting. That is the good part though. It makes you want to know what will happen.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Its a shadowy bloody violeny scary monstrous fascinaing horrific series. Is pretty good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    AWESOME!!!

    I had to read Tunnels as a project in school. At first i wasn't happy bcuz of the size. After I read Tunnels i was sooooooo glad we had to read it as an asignment. I STRONGLY recomend this book!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Awesome

    An excellent book that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Beastmode!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Cant wait to read Deeper.I just finished Tunnels.Wish I would have came across this series earlier

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10