Customer Reviews for

Turn Around

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Not his usual.  Don't know why.  I have Lie to Me and that Blows

    Not his usual.  Don't know why.  I have Lie to Me and that Blows me Away.  Johnny I love you.  I can so relate to the Blues and Johnny does it 

    better than Clapton and a few others.  Stevie Ray was maybe tied with this guy.  Saw him Live too.  Excellent.   I like #5 on Lie to me Matchbox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    jonny lang has a great voice with a great gospel sound

    jonny lang has been blesses with a special gift from god though his songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    mr. lang- keepin it real

    I have been a jonny lang fan for years and with 'turn around' i have found a new respect for him as an artist and as a person. By listening to the first few tracks you immediately know that he's not just singing the lyrics, he means them whole-heartedly! He is still as talented as ever, showing growth now in his songwriting. What a bold move- old and new fans alike should take a good listen to the Truth that he is singing about! This album excites me- can't stop listening to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Paging Jonny Lang...

    This is not the same Jonny Lang from "Smokin" and "Lie to Me". I have loved all his albums, until I bought this one, which is Jonny doing Gospel. The Blues are historically closely linked to Gospel, so I thought I would like it. Big mistake. Jonny sounds like Al Green or Stevie Wonder. And his virtuoso guitar is completely gone. This is not the same Jonny Lang. Personal evolution can be a wonderful thing. Look at Eric Clapton, another Blues great. He has evolved throughout his career from The Yardbirds, to Cream, to Derek & The Dominos to a solo career. His music changed, but the quality of the music remained top notch. Not impressed by this album. Would give it zero stars, if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    About Face

    If you are considering this title because you love Jonny's previous releases... stop! This is nothing like what he built a name on. I think many of his existing fans may be very disappointed in his new direction, I know that I am. This is more church organ than guitar. I assume that he is looking for a new audience with this release and losing his existing one. Good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I'm a throw back to the Jesus Freak days, when there was some hope that Larry Norman, Randy Stonehill, and Phil Keaggy were going to bring some original and significant rock to the Christian scene, and they did . . . to a degree. But there has been a long season of mediocrity. I've been able to assuage my hunger by listening to the old Clapton (when he was in Cream) from the early 70s and Bob Dylan's Christian albums, and I even find myself hearing Christian overtones in the newest Dylan album. I hope it isn't just wishful thinking. This album, "Turn Around," by Johnny Lang brings some real substance to Christian rock in the same way that Dylan's Christian albums did a while back. There is a bit of Joe Cocker in Lang, and some of the selections are a little less than outstanding, but there is a real spark here, some real drive, originality, and sincerity. Brothers and sisters need to pray for him: he may bring a voice worth listening to back to Christian rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    He's Done It Again

    As Jonny continues to grow as an artist and shift his musical style with each album, he continues to deliver an over the top experience with Turn Around. This album has gospel, funk, R&B, rock, his own unique style and so much more. His already dedicated fans along with so many others will continue to enjoy his originality and unbelievable talent. This is an amazing--must have album. I highly recommend it! Once you pop it in your CD player, you won't take it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding!

    Let me sum it up short & sweet- Johnny Lang stretches his talent and shows a great side of himself.I remember Johnny playing as an unknown in Annandale,Minnesota and what a great growth and transition-It clearly shows that while the groove and the riffs are just as great as always,Johnny isn't afraid to color outside the lines-Congratulations to Johnny Lang and also to A&M Records-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jonny Lang' Upper-Room Release

    Anyone arguing this album doesn't fit within the realm of blues is just plainly missing the point of blues. Plenty of blues songs reflect transition, and plenty of blues records have some kind of spiritual underpinning to them, although most of them seem to land squarely in the camp that leaves God "over there," as it were. Really, if one really wants to trace a logical growth arc, both musically and spiritually for Jonny Lang, than this album is the most logical one he could have done. And anyone feigning complete and utter surprise at his overt conversion should just knock it off right now, because the predications have been there from the start. Jonny Lang’s previous offerings had plenty of spiritual currency to them, and reflected not only a desire for more against the backdrop of human doubt (“Leaving to stay,”) internally, but a relationship predicated on the concept of a sovereign God (“The Goodbye Letter.”). That said, I do not consider this a “blues” album directly, but that delineation began with Long Time Coming, not this one. Let me say at the outset, that I love this album, especially from the standpoint of where Jonny has taken his ever-versatile vocal gifts. Lang manages to navigate between the grit and the whisper, and shows perhaps the greatest penchant for emotion since he started playing Irish Angel during his shows. The album is definitely an autobiographical one—one that carries Lang’s personal journey. While not passive in anyway lyrically, the album in no way indicts secular the listener into defensive mode, but rather conveys a sense of “would you perhaps try to see what I’m seeing?” Highlights for me personally: “The other side of the fence,” a very riffy song, even if one feels slightly cheated that Jonny doesn’t peel forth as much on his telecaster. “Don’t stop for Anything,” is a vamp, a bluesy/funky glottal fry that, besides putting the hair up on my arm, made me realize the Prodigal Son could get 21st century treatment without seeming pedestrian and cloying. And yes, his guitar shows up, too. I’ll avoid dragging this out with snippets of the whole thing, but I will predict that those inclined to believe Jonny Lang has entered some Dylan-esque “phase” by tinkering with Christianity will not have their predictions borne out. “That Great Day,” is not only blatantly traditional in its gospel construction, but carries certain revelatory clues about baptism and consecration that transcend the “I need a good phrase that rhymes here” lines that were never broached when Pete Seeger sang “Mary Don’t You Weep.” And maybe that will be perhaps the issue that re-defines his fan base. One cannot listen to any Jonny Lang song and come to the conclusion that conviction and belief are not present at every nuance—that is perhaps part of what made him who he is at a young an age that he is. And such is the case here. Not all of his fans will like Jonny’s neo-Apostolic emergence, but they will not need another album to arrive at this albums ultimate premise: “I’m Jonny Lang. I’ve been changed, and I mean it.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jonny Lang Comes Into His Own

    Future generations will look back upon the music of Jonny Lang's youth and wish they could have been there. Like Sinatra. Like Aretha. Like Elvis. The first generation of discovery is always the most satisfying. p Fortunately for us, this album tells the story of a young man coming into his own during a time of rapid change aspiring to live a life that is truly worthy of his calling and purpose. p Along with being a timely encouragement for anyone trying to find their balance in this world, the album stretches Lang musically as well. p Listen to the lead guitar. dang. Bring it, Jonny Lang. p In particular, we enjoyed the following: p "One Person at a Time" - how do we influence our world? p "Turn Around" - beg, plead, love, challenge, or whatever it takes. The end result will be worth the effort. p "My Love Remains" - a partnership with Steven Curtis Chapman. p "Thankful" - a worthy remembrance as we approach the Holidays. p "Only a Man" and "Last Goodbye" - if they don't make ya cry, ya got no heart. p "That Great Day" - something to look forward to. p This album was worth the wait. Bring on the concert! p pD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    Maybe I've been gone somewhere but I had never heard of Jonny Lang before. I was sent an email with a couple of snippets of songs from this album. I bought it and was absolutely blown away. What an amazing talent. I love this album and every single song on it. However, I listen to Turn Around over and over again. When I found out Jonny has been around 10 yrs. already, I had to look for his other albums. They sound good too and I will find out because I'm buying them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TURN AROUND...What a disappointment.

    Long-time fans of Jonny Lang who are expecting hard hitting blues numbers will be disappointed in this latest release. The songs are soft and churchy. Perhaps it should be called his gospel album as it certainly does not fit in the genre he is for which he is known. Even though I am all for artists trying new things, going in different direction, searching out new areas, it is not the style I was lookng forward to hearing from Jonny Lang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1