Customer Reviews for

Turn Coat (Dresden Files Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 588 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(449)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 594 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 30
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific and thrilling experience!!!

    I purchased the audio book as I know of Harry Dresden from the Dresden Files which used to air on the SciFi channel and did not know what to expect.

    I was pleasantly surprised by the story but most importantly, James Marsters Dresden-voice which really captured the attitude portrayed on the show as well as his ability to voice the other characters with such depth and ease that its hard to believe its his voice at certain times.

    Overall, I love listening to this audio book and will be hearing it over and over again. Great work from Jim Butcher!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dresden continues on

    Once again Butcher delivers a great fantasy rooted in real life adventure. I love the Dresden character which I first found on television. Once the series was canceled I went in search of the origninal concept and found Butcher's Dresden files. Now I can't wait for the annual installments. Turn Coat once again finds Harry battling the Wizarding heirarchy and learning new things about his own linage. There is betrayal afoot and not just in the White Council and Harry must find the culprit, even if it costs him his friends, heroes and loved ones. A great addition to the Dresden File legacy and a must read for any Dresden fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    Turn Coat - Jim Butcher

    Listening to this book was wonderful. I had a hard time putting my IPod down to do other things, so it made all of my driving a pleasure while I listened. It's a great story and James Marsters is a terrific storyteller. Since I have so little time to read unless I'm sick or on vacation, I'll probably be buying all of my future Jim Butcher books on CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Turncoat, trust no one, keep your wizards blasting staff handy for an exciting ride and avoid people who have a penchant for wearing pointy hats.

    The exciting part about Dresden is not only his crime solving abilities and magic but his inner conflict. The majority of the wizards think that Dresden is an evil wizard pretending to be good, while our hero is doing heroic deeds at great personal cost he is constantly under the microscope and is expected to slip up revealing his 'true' evil nature.

    The truth is that he is constantly offered magical powers and arcane knowledge from several sources of evil on a constant basis and one day when his friends are in peril, he may slip up and accept. Will our hero remain on the heroic path or will he succumb to the role of the villain?

    Love Jim Butchers work and his writing style is superb. Not a huge fan of the first book but from book two onwards I couldn't put it down. The mixture of historical knowledge and myth mixed into the story helps further the realism for a fantasy novel....what are you waiting for? Go grab it =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jim Butcher Strikes Again!

    I just finished the latest Dresden Files story from Jim Butcher. Turncoat had me on the edge of my chair through most of the story. As with all of the Harry Dresden tales, this is a great story with lots of fantastical characters. If you liked Harry Potter as a kid, this is the grown up version with much more realistic characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Annoying

    Annoying. Dresden's high moral stance is really getting on my nerves. Why in the world would you help someone that wishes you nothing but ill will and who was always looking for a reason to kill you? Leave it to Dresden to put his life and family on line for someone who made his teen/young adult years hell. I hate these one dimensional characters whose morality blinds them to reason.

    That being said, I am still a Dresden fan and this book was not too bad. It was fast paced with lots of action. Hopefully his next book is better.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The book is incredible to begin with, but being read by James Marsters makes it all the more better!

    Jim Butcher is a fantastic writer, whose books I would highly reccomend. But if you prefer audio book, or spend a lot of time traveling, or just love the Dresden Files, this is definately one to add to the collection. Marsters does a fantastic job reading Butchers already fantastic book.
    Great combination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    good book

    good book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    More Great Story Telling by Mr Butcher!

    Harry Dresden is the most enjoyable detective ever. Funny and action packed story telling. Enjoy another Dresden story!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jim Butcher pens another winning novel.

    Turn Coat entrenches Butcher in the annals of high quality series populated by the likes of the late Robert Jordan and Robert Heinlein.

    He has accomplished something truely marvelous, he has embued even the monsters and villians with believable personalities.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent addition to the series

    The premise seems obvious and the style of writing direct, but Butcher is able to caress a lot of subtly and intrigue from what could be a by-the-numbers series of novels. Blending together fantasy with modern noir themes, he creates a world full of the fantastic that is so believable I fear walking the streets of Chicago after dark (and not for the obvious reasons).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    WOW is all I can say , I love Jim Butcher

    Great book. Harry Dresden remains such a compelling character. Jim's surrounding cast with Harry makes it such great reading and has a message too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Another Dresden File Hit! I highly recommend it.

    I have read the whole series and they just keep getting better and better. True to form this one is the best one yet. The characters are well developed and the book keeps the suspense going. I didn't want to put it down once I started. This is one of the few books that I will probable read more than once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Another fun romp through Dresden Land

    Once again, Dresden finds himself in deep trouble right from the first page. The biggest problem I have with all Butcher's books is that I read them so quickly and then have to wait patiently for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OUTFREAKINGSTANDING

    The story starts out with excitement in just the first paragraph. I of course had to have it in CD form since james marsden IS the voice of Dresden. He's so perfect and captivating making the words on the page come to life.It's so way better than TV !!! If you can't stand the cheesy vamp books and don't like little boys in capes then this book is for you. All the dresden files are cool but this takes the cake. i cant wait to hear the next one and find out what happens with the Black Court.cue ominus music...lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    another hit for this series

    harry dresden is everyones hero, even if he is a witch. i enjoy all the little problems he goes through, and really enjoy the descriptions of chicago. jim butcher writes so vivid that you can see and feel everything that he writes. this is one of my favorite series because jim butcher makes everything so real, like it could really be happening, maybe, or is it??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I love Dresden

    I have enjoyed every one of the Desden books. My favorite character is Thomas and these books keep getting better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Awesome Continuation Of The Series

    A great addition to the series. Plenty of laughs, danger and adventure. Can't wait to see what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    The Series Just Keeps Getting Better

    When Morgan shows up at Harry's door asking for help, you know you'll keep reading! As always, the humor helps balance the intense action and I love that. The characters are getting better with each book. (My only disappointment was almost no mention of Michael! I'm waiting to see what happens with him!)As always, Harry gets beat up, but keeps on going. And Molly's development is fun to see grow. But best of all was seeing Harry taking on the White Council once again and with a bang! I'm not sure I'm too happy with what happened to Thomas, but I will trust Butcher to make it right. I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for the next one!

    Of course this book was amazing, because Jim Butcher wrote it. You get alot more into the "White Council" in this one. Harry helping out Morgan was definatly different. I loved how much the grasshopper evolved in this one. Turn Coat was absolutly amzing untill you get to the end, I know I'm not the only one who is pissed off about this one. Thomas Raith is my favorite character (2nd to Harry of course) and what happened with his character was horrible. Harry and Thomas finally had a good relationship, and then this happens, and now its all bad again. I'm wondering if that death curse is taking its toll and Harry Dresden is really going to end up alone. I cried at the end of the book, and cant wait to find out what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 594 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 30