Customer Reviews for

Turn Coat (Dresden Files Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 590 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(451)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 596 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    A great Read!!

    I loved it. It was very suspenseful, never knew for sure what was going to happen, it was funny and witty. A real page burner in the Tradition of Jim Butcher's writing. Ready for the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    I liked it, but some elements of the Dresden universe are starting to over stay their welcome.

    I liked it, but some elements of the Dresden universe are starting to over stay their welcome. The core of the story is good, dealing with trying to find a traitor within the wizard organization. It's just the other supernatural organization that shows up yet again that I think needs some time off. Given the relationship Harry has with one of his supporting cast, I can see why that organization shows up more frequently than some of the other individuals and groups established in the series so far. But understanding why they keep showing up is not the same as being happy when it's clear that they're going to be making another appearance. On the plus side, the ending makes it seem like we will be taking a little break from them, which I hope will allow us to explore some of the other groups that have been on the bench for a while (or maybe even something new all together).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/Unabridged/Urban Fantasy: This book was long and involved co

    CD/Unabridged/Urban Fantasy: This book was long and involved considering we walked into the story only to find out who was framing Morgan up for murder.
    The best part to me is Molly. Instead of being the problem I thought she was going to be, she has become a very likeable character. She still has a long way to go, ethics wise.
    There is a lot of Mouse in this book and not enough Bob. Morgan is Harry's house guest so there is some comedic scenes between Mouse, Morgan, and Molly. Morgan is self-righteous and stubborn and goes to the last place anyone would think to find him, with Harry. Anastasia, who was Morgan's mentor, and Harry are now dating.
    There is tragedy at the end as one of the regular characters dies. I didn't like the Counsel politics. I guess, I'm not suppose to.
    Again, James Marsters (aka, my future ex-husband) does a great reading. He does some proper English with the voice of Bob and some cockney English with the character of Binder.
    There are White Counsel members that we really don't hear much from that have a big part in this book. We are also closer to finding out about the "Black Counsel".
    The biggest surprise is Thomas. He has a small part in most of the book. I really felt that this book can not be read as a stand alone on just the Thomas issue. Between Butcher's writing and Marster's narration, Thomas is downright scary.
    There were some books in this series that made me want to give it up. But the last four books make me want to hurry with what I'm currently reading so I can get to Changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Harry Dresden just keeps getting better! Jim Butcher is an exce

    Harry Dresden just keeps getting better! Jim Butcher is an exceptional writer and you can tell that as he continues this series, the characters become even more complex (as does the plot) and they EVOLVE. Which I love! I will contiue to be a Dresden fan and when I have exhausted those...I'm on to the Codex Alera!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    sena

    On

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Ken

    Tightens ur n.ipples clamps as tight as they can go. He pulls your tounge into his mouth and bites it. Hes pulls your hips closer, letting him shove his dik deeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Suspenseful and poignant

    I started reading the series 1 1/2 months ago and couldn't put it down. This is the second to the last of the series to date, and it just keeps getting better and better. The characters are engaging and the style is a good mix of drama, excitement, and dark humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Another success for the Dresden Files

    Jim Butcher has produced another excellent chapter in the life of the main character, Harry Dresden. Butcher has a unique mix of magic, suspense, and comedy that makes the series among the best I've read. The magical underworld of Chicago (and the rest of the planet) comes to life in each and every novel, and this installment is no different. I also find it amazing that the Harry Dresden character can progress in each and every novel. Not just as a wizard, but as a person, too. The characterization is excellent. For the fans of the series: you'll enjoy this one just as much as the others. For those who have not read any of the Dresden Files before: well, you should save this one for later - start reading the first book in the series, Storm Front, and progress from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    health insurance

    Poor Harry! Always looking the other way when some one sneeks up behind him. Who is the unlucky health insurance carrier who pays to stitch him back together?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Dresden Files - Turnbcoat

    A friend gave me the first Dresden files book awhile ago. I had nothing else to read at the time, so I gave it a try. I was hooked after book one! Couldn't wait to finish so I could get the next. They're kind of like an adult Harry Potter. I'm on the last one now (Changes) - I think there's 13 all together.

    I'd rank Turncoat as definitely in the top 3. Lots of twists and turns, and of course, Harry's usual smart-alecky wit.

    Although not required, To get the best effect, I'd recommend reading them in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stunning

    Jim Butcher has done it once again. The Dresden Files are a work of art, art that should be in the Louvre, and definitely part of anyone's personal library. Butcher's writing style is among the greatest I have ever witnessed. Dare I say it, he surpasses even the great Raymond E. Feist, author of the Riftwar saga. Much of the imagery leaves nothing to be desired, and the plotline and character development are spectacular. Turn Coat is a book that will keep its readers on the edge of whatever they happen to be sitting on, and will surprise you multiple times before it is over with. The originality behind this series is great, and just endears the characters to the reader even more. I would recommend this book to anyone, buut especially those who love science fiction and/or fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    Excellent read!

    As with all of the Dresden Files, each time I picked this book up I was riveted to my sofa til the wee morning hours!

    True to form, Mr. Butcher spoils us with plenty of action-packed chapters of wizards versus bad guys. I found the plot to be fast paced and thoroughly involving up until the very end. Also, having read all of the earlier books, it was interesting to learn more about Morgan's character (ie - why he behaves the way he does towards Harry).

    However, what really sets this book apart from the others is we finally get to see some of the big-wigs on the White Council duking it out with the bad guys as well.

    If you're looking for a book to fall asleep to, this isn't it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Yet Another Fun Read in the Dresden Series

    If you like off-beat humorous fantasy then you will enjoy reading any book in the Dresden Files Series. This book adds another winner to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still hooked

    Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden series moves forward through well-defined episodes, each novel complete and compelling in itself, and each providing yet another scene in a whole that's still being created. Turn Coat is no exception-a fascinating story filled with twists and turns as wizard Dresden finds his long-standing arch-enemy collapsed on his doorstep and begging for help. There are fascinating, and thoroughly thought-provoking arguments about the merits of black-and-white adherence to rules and those ever-gray areas of human compassion and concern. There's the mystery of someone passing secrets and framing wizard wardens. There's the excitement of a super-powerful magical foe, and the horror of what he might do to Dresden's super-powerful, super-cool brother. Good people do bad, and grayly almost-bad things. Bad people do almost-good things. Strange alliances form for strange times. And Harry Dresden again proves to be capable simultaneously of more and less than he thinks he is. Turn Coat is another thrill-ride, filled with the author's trade-mark angst and insightful commentary, and told with the protagonist's self-deprecating good humor and wisdom. I loved it. But of course, I knew I would. And I'm eagerly waiting for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Harry's and friends are back and ready for the next adventure

    The good guys are facing insurmountable odds.........but Harry and friends are up to the challenge. As always a good read with a couple of plot twists to keep you on your toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent continuation of the series.

    There's a really good reason why a student like me with somewhat limited funds has bothered to buy the entire Dresden Files series: it is excellent. The book "Turncoat" actually closes the circle on a very long-running component of the series: the adversarial relationship between Harry Dresden and the Warden Donald Morgan. It starts with Harry as a virtual fugitive watched with a gimlet eye and harassed by Morgan who clearly despises him, comes to some symmetry with both of them sort of understanding one another and now ends with Morgan as a literal fugitive sheltered by Harry. Moreover, out of numerous ways that Butcher might have put the final touch on the long arc, I can't think of a better way than he did.
    I also appreciate the way that Butcher uses Harry as a fulcrum to develop secondary and supporting elements: revealing more of how people like "Injun Joe" Listens-to-Wind and Ancient Mai perceive the world, giving the reader more insight into things vaguely hinted at in previous books (like the source of The Gatekeeper's warning to Harry at the beginning of "Proven Guilty"), and even injecting real-world characteristics of international organizations into the White Council.

    My recommendation to anyone who enjoys a detective adventure intermixed with classic fantasy elements like supernatural monsters and magic is to get their hands on the entire series and especially this latest book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for the next book!

    I stumbled across the Dresden Files by accident and was instantly hooked! I'm willing to watch sci-fi/fantasy but hadn't been willing to read it until I discovered Harry Dresden. Jim Butcher's writing brings even the unknown to life. I'm going to have to break down and start investing in the hardbacks to cut down on the wait time between books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Turn Coat, the Dresden Files, Book 11

    "Turn Coat" is the most dark, serious, and deadly installment to the Dresden Files series yet.
    The big shocker for Harry is when Morgan shows up at his front door bleeding and asking for his help. Morgan is a fugitive from the White Council for the murder of the Senior Council member LaFortier. Luccio, Morgan's mentor, is Harry's new love interest. Despite his history with Morgan, Harry finds that the case is further complicated with the involvement of the White Court vampires. And where the White Court vampires are involved, Thomas will be caught in the middle.
    Murphy suggests that Harry follows the money (6 million dollars) to find out who the mastermind is. The mortal seriousness of this case hits home when a spiritwalker attacks Harry and the Alphas. With the hilarious and loyal devotion of Toot-toot, and an extremely dangerous rite involving the evil spirit of a leyline, Harry tries reveal who the Black Council member is, that is trying to use the White Court vampires to escalate the war between the White Council and vampires. When Thomas is kidnapped and tortured by the spiritwalker, can he be saved? Morgan will go to trial, but will Harry be able to provide the proof needed to show his innocence?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Can't get enough...

    I have loved this series. Butcher is, in my opinion, on par with David Eddings, Terry Brooks, and R.A. Salvatore in the way he develops his characters and keeps you involved with the story. One of my top five favorite writers. His Alera series is a don't-miss also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Great Read!

    Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 596 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30