Customer Reviews for

Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step at a Time

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Journey at Amazing World Wonder

Mark Adams' "Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step at a Time" is a book that's a bit hard to classify. All at once, it's a serious (and seriously funny) travelogue; a smart and tightly written history; and an investigative report into the grea...
Mark Adams' "Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step at a Time" is a book that's a bit hard to classify. All at once, it's a serious (and seriously funny) travelogue; a smart and tightly written history; and an investigative report into the greatest archaeological discovery of the last century.

Author Adams spent time writing and editing for the now defunct National Geographic Adventurer magazine and despite working with and alongside some of the world's hardest core adventure travelers, he admits to not being much of one himself. He'd visited Machu Picchu with his son, but he'd done it the tourist way. He wanted to REdiscover Machu Picchu - the way its' original discoverer, Hiram Bingham, had 100 years ago this July. He wanted to hike, climb, slog, tent and explore his way through the Vilcabamba region of Peru and finish at the site that was recently named one of the new Seven Wonders of the World.

Adams doesn't camp and hadn't been in a tent for years leading up to his Peruvian excursion. His preparation for the trip was extensive, including dressing the part of adventurer. "Have you ever seen Mr. Travel Guy? He's the fellow who strides through international airports dressed like he's flying off to hunt wildebeests - shirt with dozens of pockets, drip-dry pants that zip off into shorts, floppy hat with a cord pulled tight under the chin in case a twister blows through the baggage claim area. All of this describes exactly what I was wearing. I could have been trick-or-treating as Hemingway."

Make no mistake. Adams trip was an uncompromising adventure. There were no soft train rides, or helicopter drops into the jungle. Adams hiked, slept in tents, and climbed miles of off-the-beaten-path terrain. His only chance at being successful in this endeavor was to surround himself with quality guides and support. He emphasized when he hired his guide, experienced explorer and discoverer in his own right John Leivers, that he wanted his trip to be about walking in Bingham's footsteps.

While Leivers was his primary guide, Adams was surrounded by a colorful and interesting crowd, some of which speak only the ancient language of the Inca - quechua. One guide genuinely feared a man-eating devil goat that guarded the entrance to a farm used as a campsite. Adams points out that rumors and ghosts are abound in Peru and particularly in the Andes where "the mischievous twins of Superstition and Legend tend to thrive." Adams also struggled to communicate with Leivers because they come from such different worlds and experiences. Adams finally strikes a note of commonality when a fairly severe bout of bowel issues made his adventurer guide reminisce about his own time with the same problem.

He takes seemingly meaningless interactions and with only a few words turns them into something substantive, funny and culturally eye-opening. "One of the things about Peru that I'd found it hardest to adjust to - even more so than the popularity of Nescafe in a country that grew some of the finest coffee beans in the world -- was la hora perunana, Peruvian Time. This is the code, indecipherable to North Americans, by which Peruvians determine the latest possible moment that it is acceptable to arrive for an appointment. The statement "I'll be right back" can mean just that, or it can mean that the speaker is about to depart via steamship for Cairo. The habit drove Bingham banan

posted by JGolomb on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating and Adventurous

An interesting travelogue of Mr. Adams' treks in Peru interspersed with data about Hiram Bingham, the purported discoverer of Machu Picchu and a history of the Inca Empire's downfall as Pizarro and his ilk pillage the Empire and murder its rulers. Mr. Adams descriptions...
An interesting travelogue of Mr. Adams' treks in Peru interspersed with data about Hiram Bingham, the purported discoverer of Machu Picchu and a history of the Inca Empire's downfall as Pizarro and his ilk pillage the Empire and murder its rulers. Mr. Adams descriptions of the ruins in several locations accompanied with his historical perspectives gives us a glimpse into what the Empire looked like in its heyday. Adams writes a compelling account and presents a great way to learn about this period in Peru's history. E readers should refer to the glossary and historical chronology at the back of the book for enhanced understanding of the text. I wish I had realized it was there before I finished the book.

posted by 16969067 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Journey at Amazing World Wonder

    Mark Adams' "Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step at a Time" is a book that's a bit hard to classify. All at once, it's a serious (and seriously funny) travelogue; a smart and tightly written history; and an investigative report into the greatest archaeological discovery of the last century.

    Author Adams spent time writing and editing for the now defunct National Geographic Adventurer magazine and despite working with and alongside some of the world's hardest core adventure travelers, he admits to not being much of one himself. He'd visited Machu Picchu with his son, but he'd done it the tourist way. He wanted to REdiscover Machu Picchu - the way its' original discoverer, Hiram Bingham, had 100 years ago this July. He wanted to hike, climb, slog, tent and explore his way through the Vilcabamba region of Peru and finish at the site that was recently named one of the new Seven Wonders of the World.

    Adams doesn't camp and hadn't been in a tent for years leading up to his Peruvian excursion. His preparation for the trip was extensive, including dressing the part of adventurer. "Have you ever seen Mr. Travel Guy? He's the fellow who strides through international airports dressed like he's flying off to hunt wildebeests - shirt with dozens of pockets, drip-dry pants that zip off into shorts, floppy hat with a cord pulled tight under the chin in case a twister blows through the baggage claim area. All of this describes exactly what I was wearing. I could have been trick-or-treating as Hemingway."

    Make no mistake. Adams trip was an uncompromising adventure. There were no soft train rides, or helicopter drops into the jungle. Adams hiked, slept in tents, and climbed miles of off-the-beaten-path terrain. His only chance at being successful in this endeavor was to surround himself with quality guides and support. He emphasized when he hired his guide, experienced explorer and discoverer in his own right John Leivers, that he wanted his trip to be about walking in Bingham's footsteps.

    While Leivers was his primary guide, Adams was surrounded by a colorful and interesting crowd, some of which speak only the ancient language of the Inca - quechua. One guide genuinely feared a man-eating devil goat that guarded the entrance to a farm used as a campsite. Adams points out that rumors and ghosts are abound in Peru and particularly in the Andes where "the mischievous twins of Superstition and Legend tend to thrive." Adams also struggled to communicate with Leivers because they come from such different worlds and experiences. Adams finally strikes a note of commonality when a fairly severe bout of bowel issues made his adventurer guide reminisce about his own time with the same problem.

    He takes seemingly meaningless interactions and with only a few words turns them into something substantive, funny and culturally eye-opening. "One of the things about Peru that I'd found it hardest to adjust to - even more so than the popularity of Nescafe in a country that grew some of the finest coffee beans in the world -- was la hora perunana, Peruvian Time. This is the code, indecipherable to North Americans, by which Peruvians determine the latest possible moment that it is acceptable to arrive for an appointment. The statement "I'll be right back" can mean just that, or it can mean that the speaker is about to depart via steamship for Cairo. The habit drove Bingham banan

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In the foot­steps of Hiram Bing­ham III

    "Turn Right at Machu Pic­chu: Redis­cov­er­ing the Lost City One Step at a Time" by Mark Adams is a non-fiction book in which the author fol­lows the foot­steps of Hiram Bing­ham III.

    Jour­nal­ist Mark Adams has spent a lot of time read­ing and edit­ing sto­ries for travel mag­a­zines. This time he decided to be part of the story and inves­ti­gate alle­ga­tions brought against Hiram Bing­ham III by retrac­ing the famous explorer's journey.

    Part travel jour­nal, part adven­ture story and part his­tory les­son, Adams takes the read­ers into the extra­or­di­nary and col­or­ful land of Peru in his search to find out what exactly was Machu Picchu.

    One hun­dred years ago today explorer Hiram Bing­ham III found Machu Pic­chu and brought his find­ings to the rest of the world. Mark Adams (web­site), who worked for adven­ture mag­a­zines, used his con­tacts to fol­low Bingham's foot­steps in the jun­gles of Peru.

    I vis­ited Machu Pic­chu in 1992, before there was a cap on vis­i­tors and the touris­tic part of the visit was not as oiled as it is today. We had to find our own guide, hired some mules on the way and hoped we had enough food to last us for sev­eral days while we walked the Inca Trail.

    At the time I didn't appre­ci­ate what I was doing, I was young, in shape and fig­ured that it's a "must do". Sev­eral years later it dawned on me what I was priv­i­leged to do and priv­i­leged to see and experience.

    In "Turn Right at Machu Pic­chu: Redis­cov­er­ing the Lost City One Step at a Time" Mark Adams takes my lit­tle trip a step fur­ther, he actu­ally walks in the foot­steps of Hiram Bing­ham III in places where few have ventured.

    The book is in part a funny/serious trav­el­ogue, part smart his­tory and part inves­tiga­tive report into Bingham's dis­cov­ery all encom­passed in an unbend­ing adven­ture. Mr. Adams, who was not a seri­ous adven­turer at the begin­ning of the trip, did well by sur­round­ing him­self with John Leivers , a pro­fes­sional guide who, for me, was the high­light of this book.

    I cer­tainly under­stood Mr. Adams' annoy­ance with what he calls "Peru­vian Time". It drove me, a per­son who con­sid­ers being on time as being late, absolutely nuts. There is a whole another issue which Mr. Adams passed on telling about the loose def­i­n­i­tion of "the truth" as well as for­eign­ers being "fair game" / walk­ing ATM machine, all of which sim­ply rang up a wrong nerve with me.

    Adams' jour­ney par­al­lels the one Bing­ham describes in his books "Inca Land" and "Lost City of the Incas". Adams writes a very read­able nar­ra­tive of his jour­ney, Inca his­tory, Bingham's adven­tures as well as a lit­tle Peru­vian his­tory and cul­ture tidbits.

    Being that the first hand research mate­r­ial that is avail­able for the Inca Empire has been chopped and diced by the emper­ors to glo­rify them­selv

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A Great Book of Adventure, history and Discovery and laugh out loud funny

    I bought this book because my college aged son was about to embark on a year-long volunteer position in the mountains of Peru. I wanted a little background and some history. I got both and more.

    Adams is an engaging and fluid writer, as you would expect from a desk bound editor of a travel journal finally adventuring rather than editing other's travellogs. What I did not expect was how funny Adams was, and how his personality lent itself to observation of the amazing Andes.

    His persoanal account of his own travels is woven nicely with the history of the exploration of the region by a Yale professor in the early 20th century, and a history of the Inca Empire.

    Adams writes with equal parts of admiration for the professor/adventurer and modern distain for the disrespect shown by a plunderer of the Lost City of the Incas. He also writes with humor and tenderness and an obvious love of the Andes, his guides and porters.

    I have recommended this book to a large and diverse group of readers, from my son, wife and father, to history buffs and to fans of "fish out of water" comedies and to readers of non-fiction adverture tales.

    You will not be disappointed by the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Great Adventure to Share

    Mark Adams has taken and documented a trip that many of us only wish we could take. This story captured me from the beginning and once started, the Nook was difficult to put down. Following the steps of Bingham, Adams travels in the Andes of Peru to visit several of the "lost" Inca strongholds, from the heights of the mountains to the depths of the humid Amazon jungle. Not only does he make these Inca areas sound wonderful to visit, but the human side of his adventure with John and the porters makes you feel like you are with him and his team.

    My Step Daughter has taken the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu and has experienced some of this adventure (of which I know I am unfit to do...at this time anyway). But Adams goes beyond the routine traveler's trip to Machu Picchu and does it the old fashion way - on foot and straight up hill in sweaty clothes, bitting insects, aching feet and strained muscles. Would recommend this book to anyone wanting to know more about Bingham, Machu Picchu's discovery and real adventure travel in general.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Wonderful book! Loved it!

    History and humor all together! I'm going to Peru in a couple of months and this book told the history in an interesting way with lots of humor thrown in. Mark Adams did an excellent job on this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i REALLY enjoyed this book!

    i REALLY enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Very good

    Very enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    EXCELLENT

    I was plesently surprised. I bought this book for my E reader as I am very interested in Machu Picchu and hope to visit there some day. I was expecting a history review. This book was everything I would like to know about Machu Picchu and more. It was an interesting story of the author's trip there but also was full of very funny stories that he told of his trip and his life. I was sitting laughing out loud at some parts. This is a great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    makes we wanna pack & go

    Machu Picchu is one those places I haven't visited, yet, but this book, magically, transported me there.The book kept me up at night wanting to learn more.
    Mark Adams is clever to debunk many myths about the Incas.
    I particularly enjoyed the historical facts about the original inhabitants of Peru, and the Spanish invasion.
    The only negative thing, I can say about this book, is that I wish there were more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Super Escape

    A great book for armchair explorers like me. I've always been fascinated by the Incas and this step by step adventure makes me sorry
    I can't go!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very informative and usedful whether you visit Machu Pichu or not

    Just got back from peru and visited Machu Pichu among other ruins and this book was extremely helpful during our trip - we had a guide with us and confirmed many of the things explained in the book by Mark Admas. REcommend highly whether you intend to visit Machu Pichu or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend!

    I loved this book! I've always wanted to visit Machu Picchu and this book gives a completely different view of one of the most well-known Incan city. It has definitely changed the way I want to experience Machu Picchu. Great book...especially as I had just finished "Ice Maiden."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2