Customer Reviews for

Turn of Mind

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling

This was my first book by Alice LaPlante and I don't regret giving it a try. The story is fantastic, the characters are very well developed. Can only recommend.

posted by theReader278 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not For Me

I'm sorry to say that I didn't care for this novel. Told through the first person narrative of Dr. Jennifer White, the reader is given a firsthand glimpse of the rapid deterioration that dementia has on the mind. While anything other than the first person narrative w...
I'm sorry to say that I didn't care for this novel. Told through the first person narrative of Dr. Jennifer White, the reader is given a firsthand glimpse of the rapid deterioration that dementia has on the mind. While anything other than the first person narrative would have left much to be desired within the novel, the narrative itself is extremely heartbreaking and, at times, difficult to follow. I have never met anyone with dementia, but LaPlante has created an all too real account of what it's like inside the mind of someone suffering from this disease as they rapidly go from one thought to the next, only to lose the previous one.
While there is much suspense and mystery surrounding the death of Jennifer's friend Amanda, I did find the novel overly repetitive at times, which only makes sense since Jennifer is constantly relearning the same information. However, repetition of events, especially sad ones, isn't really my forte. As I like more upbeat, happy novels, this was somewhat of a downer for me, as the treatment of Jennifer by her family, along with her own lapse of memories, creates a depressing tone and left me feeling dejected in the end, especially as the deterioration of Jennifer's mind increased. However, LePlante's revelation of the murderer does make it a worthwhile read--I never saw it coming. So, if you don't mind a little repetition and sadness that accompanies dementia, then I recommend you read this novel. Two and half stars.

posted by Read_A_Book on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    This was my first book by Alice LaPlante and I don't regret giving it a try. The story is fantastic, the characters are very well developed. Can only recommend.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    What a read!!

    Having a mother who passed away from dementia, this topic intrigued me and never disappointed. It is certainly a thriller and with the main character's children talking about her in the background, her declining level of awareness, the reader's knowledge of what is going on, I couldn't wait to get back to see what would happen next. At times, I felt as confused as Jennifer, the main character. I cried as I read parts of Jennifer's story, remembering what our family went through as my mother's mind lost its battle with this terrible disease.

    What I found at the core of LaPlante's first novel is what my family found, too - love. Somehow, the mind knows, in spite of the cobwebbed memories and great cognitive loss as well as warped friendship/s and well meaning people, love perseveres.

    I hope this is the first of many great novels for LaPlante; I look forward to reading more from her. I would recommend to those who want a glimpse into dementia and how this devastating disease takes its toll on not only the individual but on those around her. Book discussions would enjoy the mystery and with the 'Sandwich generation' this should generate much discussion for Baby Boomers for sure!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    "Turn of the Mind" is nothing short of amazing. "Something has happened." The first line raises a question that makes it impossible not to have the reader's curiosity peeked and then on to first-person point of view of Dr. Jennifer White, herself, who is a 64 year old retired hand surgeon with a grave problem, actually two grave problems. Her mind is disintegrating with Alzheimer's and Jennifer's best friend, Amanda, who lives three houses down the street, has been murdered .. and four fingers of her hand have been amputated, obviously by the hand of a surgeon. This book is heartbreaking, haunting and chilling. Masterfully written with vivid prose, this storyline is painfully sad, but also totally electrifying. This is a gripping, compelling who-done-it with another major foreground concern, the process of forgetting and the complexity of being aware of yourself disappearing. This is a brilliant piece of work. I'm sure this book will move to bigger and better things.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Interesting story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Excellent read

    This book was well written and kept me turning the pages. It was interesting to read from the prospective of the person suffering from dementia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    This is an amazing book. Alice grabs you in the first paragraph

    This is an amazing book. Alice grabs you in the first paragraph. She shows incredible insight into what a person with dementia might go through fading in and out. Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Well worth your time ....

    Haunting, compelling debut. Eager for the next book from this thoughtful, intelligent storyteller. Sections of this book made me want to weep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    An excellent suspense story as well as a perceptive account of w

    An excellent suspense story as well as a perceptive account of what may or may not go on in the mind of a victim of Alzheimers disease and the suspense keeps one reading and secondguessing until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Fabulous

    Talented author giving voice to a woman living with dementia
    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    A GREAT BOOK FOR YOUNG AND OLD.

    PLEASE READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    I never wanted to put this down until I finished.

    It was a fascinating look into the deteriorating mind of a very intelligent woman. It was as if Alice LaPlante was going through this herself. But, it wasn't a tear-jerker of a book. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    This book is achingly haunting. I felt like I became the main character, struggling to understand the world with an increasingly damaged brain. Alice LaPlante deserves every bit of praise and recognition she's received for this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    HIGHLY recommended -- I was absolutely fascinated -- odds are you will be too!

    I was uncertain how I'd like a novel told from the point of view of a person descending into Alzheimer's, but decided to take a chance. In fact, it was fascinating & poignantly depicted the utter frustration of a woman with a once-excellent mind experience her own deterioration (just as I watch my own aging process take its toll on my own brain -- I used to be a cracker jack speller -- now I can't remember if niece is 'ie' or 'ei'; today's a better day & I know it's the former! The ending had an excellent twist; it came out of nowhere -- but was entirely supported by the details of the plot. I thoroughly enjoyed it! I see it as a good candidate for a book club to choose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Wow!

    I loved this book. It twisted and turned for the whole story. I was amazed at the references with the Alzheimer's Disease...how right on! I almost found that the author was telling it as her own personal story.
    MORE, MORE, MORE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Riveting read

    My grandmother had alzheimers and this is a wonderful insite into the disease and how a persons mind works, what their perceptions are. It was educational and enlightening. I felt the pain and confusion on both sides. A great book, so insiteful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Immensely creative, thought-provoking book.

    The way the author put the reader into the head of a woman with dementia was absolutely transfixing. You knew you were dealing with an unreliable narrator in theory, but her moments of lucidity furnish the clues you need to solve the mystery. I found that I could not put this book down and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Highly recommended-a very good read!

    You will not be able to put this book down. If you ever wanted a preview of what goes on in the mind of someone suffering from this terrible disease, this is the book. The author tells the story with tenderness and honesty. This book is not easily forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really recommended

    This book was amazing. How the author could get in the mind of a person with Alzheimer's telling how they feel and almost explaining behavior. Amazing! As well, how a mother, well, always remains a mother. Outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Turn of Mind

    I nearly didn't purchase this book as I feared a sentimental, gloomy read. Actually, the main character's disability takes second place to a growing mystery and especially the relationships between the book's six significant characters. I am extremely happy that I didn't miss out on this excellent read. I will be looking for other novels by this author. It would lead to terrific discussions by a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MESMERIZING!

    Totally captivating,a great read!. I couldn't put it down. Love the perspective of the protaganist telling this story in 1st person. The story is sad, yet provocative: a female doctor experiencing the progress of Alzheimer's and struggling with the death of her closest friend along with past and present family issues had me wanting to know more,wondering what would be revealed(surprise ending-at least for me). The medical references are spot on. A view into the degenerating mind of the intelligent,strong and confident lead character. Seemed startlingly accurate: so much so that I hope I , or anyone I know,never have to go through the process of dementia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3