Customer Reviews for

Turning Angel

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Real Page Turner

This book really surprised me. I was looking for some ¿Southern writing¿ for my son, who is currently deployed. I mentioned it to a friend of mine who works at a library and he recommended this book. I don¿t often read books written by male authors, and this one is Germ...
This book really surprised me. I was looking for some ¿Southern writing¿ for my son, who is currently deployed. I mentioned it to a friend of mine who works at a library and he recommended this book. I don¿t often read books written by male authors, and this one is German, but he lives in Natchez, and the story is set in Natchez, Mississippi. I was hooked from the Prologue. The writing is so intense that each word leads into the next. The chapters are fairly short, and the end of almost each chapter drops a bombshell which leads into the next chapter. The writing is excellent, and describes a modern version of a smaller city in the South as well as ¿the way it used to be¿ and, for some people, still is. At least, that is the perception. This is a very complicated murder mystery, and covers many grounds of depravity which many folks may not wish to read. Or, at least, they may not wish to be seen reading. I was so hooked on what comes next that I could hardly put it down. Not too many books have done this to me lately. There is also a lot of technical information included, which tells me the author did a lot of research to come up with these items. He did not just use his imagination. I appreciate that. This is one of the best-written books I have read lately, even with the graphic details of horror that are included. I would, however, be careful in my recommendations.

posted by WritermomHB on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

a real let down after his other works

I found this work a tad over the top. A middle aged married doctor that is having an affair with his teen babysitter, that part is beliveble. The part that she was going to take off to the ivy leagues with her over the hill lover in tow isn't. Also every teenaged male i...
I found this work a tad over the top. A middle aged married doctor that is having an affair with his teen babysitter, that part is beliveble. The part that she was going to take off to the ivy leagues with her over the hill lover in tow isn't. Also every teenaged male in the book is protrayed as either stupid or violent,...except for the homosexual one! You don't have to summon Frued to see that the author is dismissing the teen male, and gloryfying the middle aged male. The beautiful and smart teen girls enjoy discussing books with the doctor and the lawyer and fantasizing about their friends dads. um,..ookay. Sure, why not. If you can stomach that stuff, the rest of the book has some good twists and moves at a nice fast pace. It's not a bad book, just not as good as his other works. The plus side is you will be snorting with laughter, the minus side, it wasn't meant to be funny.

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    A Real Page Turner

    This book really surprised me. I was looking for some ¿Southern writing¿ for my son, who is currently deployed. I mentioned it to a friend of mine who works at a library and he recommended this book. I don¿t often read books written by male authors, and this one is German, but he lives in Natchez, and the story is set in Natchez, Mississippi. I was hooked from the Prologue. The writing is so intense that each word leads into the next. The chapters are fairly short, and the end of almost each chapter drops a bombshell which leads into the next chapter. The writing is excellent, and describes a modern version of a smaller city in the South as well as ¿the way it used to be¿ and, for some people, still is. At least, that is the perception. This is a very complicated murder mystery, and covers many grounds of depravity which many folks may not wish to read. Or, at least, they may not wish to be seen reading. I was so hooked on what comes next that I could hardly put it down. Not too many books have done this to me lately. There is also a lot of technical information included, which tells me the author did a lot of research to come up with these items. He did not just use his imagination. I appreciate that. This is one of the best-written books I have read lately, even with the graphic details of horror that are included. I would, however, be careful in my recommendations.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    a real let down after his other works

    I found this work a tad over the top. A middle aged married doctor that is having an affair with his teen babysitter, that part is beliveble. The part that she was going to take off to the ivy leagues with her over the hill lover in tow isn't. Also every teenaged male in the book is protrayed as either stupid or violent,...except for the homosexual one! You don't have to summon Frued to see that the author is dismissing the teen male, and gloryfying the middle aged male. The beautiful and smart teen girls enjoy discussing books with the doctor and the lawyer and fantasizing about their friends dads. um,..ookay. Sure, why not. If you can stomach that stuff, the rest of the book has some good twists and moves at a nice fast pace. It's not a bad book, just not as good as his other works. The plus side is you will be snorting with laughter, the minus side, it wasn't meant to be funny.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Good Book

    I find that the more I read Greg Iles, the more graphically violent his books are getting. Sometimes, that is just too much for me. The book is awesome and well worth the read, if you are okay with the violence. I have to be in the mood for that.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Repulsive characters

    Iles tries to make a 40 plus year old professional man's involvement with a 17 year old girl palatable, and briefly toys with the 'knight' of the book, Penn Cage, having the same thoughts. Consequently Penn comes to understand his childhood friend's position. I just couldn't. Puke.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Sex, drugs, murder and porn

    I found this a lurid and unpleasant read. Its knight errant narrator, so pure and good he rejects the advances of his barely legal babysitter, is too much This too-good-to-be-true character remaining untainted amidst all the violence and depravity just wasn't credible. I've enjoyed Iles before but this one went too far. Iles needs to get out of Mississippi and see the world (like his fellow Mississippean John Grisham). I think kudzu has found its way into his brain.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    LURID

    Not up to the bar Iles set himself in"The Quiet Game,"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Kept me hooked!

    Sometimes it was really over the top unbelievable, but i still couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great!

    I could not put it down! It's a great read, highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    liked this book

    will probably read other books from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Too drawn out...

    I skimmed about half as I found it predictable. Also, some of the characters and their side stories were tiresome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    This is a WOW book!

    Couldn't put this moving story down. Great plot, believable characters, dialog and action. The small town gossip is remarkable and solving the murder and rape is a stunning conclusion. I'd rate this book a 10 if possible for the suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Turning angel

    I really enjoyed this book. It made you wanting to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Good book

    Could not put the book down......covers many of our social issues as well .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Awesome

    What a great read! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Looks Interesting

    Haven't read it yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Excellent

    This is the first book I've read by this author. I am going to shop for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Greg Iles is a genius!

    Greg Iles is a master at intertwining edge of the cliff fiction, that must be read cover to cover with no time for breath, with an incredibly respectful amount of social commentary. This is the absolute best fiction I have read since Caleb Carr's “The Alchemist“ and "Angel of Darkness“.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Very good

    Well written..part of a series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Anonymous

    Greg Iles is now on my shortlist of favorite crime drama authors. This is the second book I've read and I've already purchased two others. His character develpment is so realistic and he weaves a complex storyline so compelling it's hard to find a stopping place to work, eat, or sleep. I loved this book and can't wait to stsrt the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Amazing

    This book is a thrill a minute A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7