BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Turtle Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Turtle Moon is the tenth stand-alone novel by American author, A

Turtle Moon is the tenth stand-alone novel by American author, Alice Hoffman. Verity, Florida is a town that is home to an unusual number of divorced women, and Lucy Rosen is just one of them. It is also a place where the heat in May causes a sort of madness that makes ...
Turtle Moon is the tenth stand-alone novel by American author, Alice Hoffman. Verity, Florida is a town that is home to an unusual number of divorced women, and Lucy Rosen is just one of them. It is also a place where the heat in May causes a sort of madness that makes people do things they may later regret. When Lucy’s neighbour, Karen Wright is found murdered in her apartment, Lucy soon finds herself involved in the investigation: her twelve-year-old son Keith is missing, along with Karen’s fourteen-month-old daughter. Julian Cash, a forbidding policeman with a fierce German shepherd, sees through Lucy’s attempts to protect her son. But it’s mad May and he also finds it difficult to keep his hands off Lucy. This enchanting Hoffman offering has an original plot that somehow includes a high school reunion, a murder, an apparent kidnapping and tracker dogs; it has a cast of wonderful characters including an angel, a remarkable foster mother, and a troubled teen. Hoffman conveys the feel of this unique town with consummate ease: the Florida heat is almost palpable. Jodi Picoult has said that Alice Hoffman is her favourite writer, and it is easy Hoffman’s influence in her work. Just magical.

posted by cloggiedownunder on August 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Turtle Moon

I read this book based on another author's recommendation. I thought the book was good, but not outstanding. Since reading Turtle Moon, I have read other books by Alice Hoffman that I have enjoyed more, such as Here on Earth and Local Girls.

posted by 1557892 on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Turtle Moon is the tenth stand-alone novel by American author, A

    Turtle Moon is the tenth stand-alone novel by American author, Alice Hoffman. Verity, Florida is a town that is home to an unusual number of divorced women, and Lucy Rosen is just one of them. It is also a place where the heat in May causes a sort of madness that makes people do things they may later regret. When Lucy’s neighbour, Karen Wright is found murdered in her apartment, Lucy soon finds herself involved in the investigation: her twelve-year-old son Keith is missing, along with Karen’s fourteen-month-old daughter. Julian Cash, a forbidding policeman with a fierce German shepherd, sees through Lucy’s attempts to protect her son. But it’s mad May and he also finds it difficult to keep his hands off Lucy. This enchanting Hoffman offering has an original plot that somehow includes a high school reunion, a murder, an apparent kidnapping and tracker dogs; it has a cast of wonderful characters including an angel, a remarkable foster mother, and a troubled teen. Hoffman conveys the feel of this unique town with consummate ease: the Florida heat is almost palpable. Jodi Picoult has said that Alice Hoffman is her favourite writer, and it is easy Hoffman’s influence in her work. Just magical.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Sry res changed AGAIN so go to res two for chat room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Bri's bio

    Hair:brown/blonde/red Personality:non popular shy not real pretty songwriter clarinet/guitar player Body: changes from slim to lil chubs Wearing:a shirt with no sleeves and running shorts Dating: Taylor (a boy) Fave color:blue.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    To tanny

    Hi!!! Happy fourth!!!!! Love mac1202

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    To Mac1201 from the real Tanny

    Hello. I am here. Whats up?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Excellent

    My 1st Alice Hoffman novel. Read it again a few years later. Still wonderful. Read several more by Alice Hoffman. She creates amazing characters and sets each scene so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    STALLION STABLE

    Farmer dayle.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Jonah

    Whts that mean?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Nursury

    Nursury

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    One of the most memorable stories I've ever read!! Full of everything!

    My friend handed me this book 15 years ago and said "this is just the neatest book I ever read!" NEAT?? Well, 15 years later, still one of my favorites! Love this easy read with rich characters and plenty of twists and pace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Turtle Moon

    This book is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, as is everything Alice Hoffman has ever written. I found myself reading aloud just to savor the richness of her language --- it's like the best dark chocolate you can buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Alice Hoffman..what more can I say? I love her work!

    This book was another enthralling Alice Hoffman read. As always, I could not put down her book. I recommend anything written by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    One of my favorite Hoffman titles...

    No one writes like Alice Hoffman! A Hoffman read always lifts me up out of my reality and places me in another realm, somewhere between what is and what would be. Alice never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    This book rocks!

    Hey Trish, don't I have you on my MSN?! lol What a coincidence, anyway, to make a long review short, this book is a very well composed piece of literary work. My hat goes off to Alice Hoffman and her writing skills. Never have I read a book where a character gets laid three times, thanks for the slice of maturity Alice. >:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Excellent

    This book was really amazing, this is my second Alice Hoffman book, and i plan to read many more. Alice Hoffman leaves me in tears, even at the simplest line. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    A Sister from A.C.

    A Great book, just read it last night.Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Everyone goes crazy over Turtle Moon

    I thought that the book was great. It included action, suspense, drama. It was an all out ***** star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2