Customer Reviews for

Twas the Night Before Christmas: Edited by Santa Claus for the Benefit of Children of the 21st Century

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Still a lovable classic!

Twas the Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore has been edited to remove the reference to smoking in this lovable classic Christmas story! If you're like me, you would prefer not to portray to your children that Santa Claus is a smoker. The lines: "The stump of a p...
Twas the Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore has been edited to remove the reference to smoking in this lovable classic Christmas story! If you're like me, you would prefer not to portray to your children that Santa Claus is a smoker. The lines: "The stump of a pipe he held tight in his teeth, And the smoke it encircled his head like a wreath" have been removed to benefit young readers. This book is beautifully illustrated and I love that there is a little note from Santa at the end, stating that he has left smoking behind, and couldn't be happier and healthier. What an awesome and beneficial change to this book! Great Job!

posted by Jess_Marie on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Great book with great pictures,however this is a classic story thats been around forever i was very dissapointed that they left out the part about his pipe! Dont change a classic story!

posted by 10554540 on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Still a lovable classic!

    Twas the Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore has been edited to remove the reference to smoking in this lovable classic Christmas story! If you're like me, you would prefer not to portray to your children that Santa Claus is a smoker. The lines: "The stump of a pipe he held tight in his teeth, And the smoke it encircled his head like a wreath" have been removed to benefit young readers. This book is beautifully illustrated and I love that there is a little note from Santa at the end, stating that he has left smoking behind, and couldn't be happier and healthier. What an awesome and beneficial change to this book! Great Job!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Good

    I can't wait till christmas.We already boaght a christmas tree!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Loved this!

    I have always loved this and this version is so beautifully illustrated! It is a must for any ebook collection!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Twas the Night Before Christmasis a recipient of the prestigious

    Twas the Night Before Christmasis a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    BLAH

    DID U KNOW THAT ITS SOPPOSED TO BE "NOT EVAN A. MOUSE"
    THE AUTHOR HAD REALLY BAD WRITING BACK THEN

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2014

    twas the night before christmas

    And all through the house, not a creature was stiring EXCEPT FOR ME!I WAS SHAKING MY PRESENTS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    Choty

    Thankyou

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2014

    Twas the Night Before Christmas I found this book for free on A

    Twas the Night Before Christmas

    I found this book for free on Amazon and thought it was really interesting that this book had the part of smoking edited, by Santa Claus
    himself, out of the story.  That was one of the things that always got me thinking when I was younger about the original - my parents
    smoked for awhile, my sister does now, but I never have and always thought it was disgusting that he did.  

    This is one of my favorite Christmas stories - beautifully done with some amazing illustrations.  Definitely a must for people who love
    Christmas books, especially this story, and so worth what the author is selling it for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    The night

    Lllllllllkkdjcjdkalb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Llll Rudolph

    Great!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I think this book has good description. It is good for anyone who wants to read one of the many versions of the night before christmas:)!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    I loved this story and found this particular edition to be very

    I loved this story and found this particular edition to be very colorful with lots of details for the enjoyment of the little kids I read to. I particularly liked the reindeer characters who are darling. This was a big hit with my classroom kids and I recommend it. I have the hardcover edition and will treasure it as a holiday tradition.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    5stars

    Its based on a song

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1