Customer Reviews for

Tweak: Growing Up on Methamphetamines

Average Rating 4.5
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What kind of books you discover in your classroom?

I really enjoyed tweak. It was my first time reading a memoir based book and I thought it was very well written. Almost like you were right there by Nic sides experiencing everything he was experiencing. In was first was introduced to this in book in my Popular Literatu...
I really enjoyed tweak. It was my first time reading a memoir based book and I thought it was very well written. Almost like you were right there by Nic sides experiencing everything he was experiencing. In was first was introduced to this in book in my Popular Literature class. I was drawn into, because it seemed like one of those books you had to read. One of those books that was juicy and just plain bad. I don¿t mean bad because of the way it was written but bad because it was about drugs and the party lifestyle. Come on what high school kid doesn¿t want to know about drugs and there influences. But when I started reading the book I realized there was more to it then just meth. It was about Nic recovery and his constant battle with crystal meth. How hard it was for him to live his life like a normal twenty one year old and how his past reflected upon his future. I mean how he grew up so fast and instead of confronting his problems he turned to drug abuse. I mean putting anything into his body that he could. It made me realize how hard it is to just stop using drugs and moving on. Like they say once you have tried the drug and experience the high it offers you will be craving for it for the rest of your life. Personally I really enjoyed this book and it opened my eyes to how bad it could be, if you chose drugs instead of a normal life. It was interesting reading this book because it was written uniquely and shared every aspect of Nic life. I really could not put the book down till I finish. Defiantly, one of those tear jerking books without the sappy love story behind it. There is a little bit of something for every type of reader.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

More readable on drugs/ Irony?

I initially picked up this book because it was featured on an endcap at a local bookstore. I thought it might be an interesting tale of a child growing up on meth. Well, it is about meth addiction (among others) yet the term "growing up" is a bit misleading as it seems ...
I initially picked up this book because it was featured on an endcap at a local bookstore. I thought it might be an interesting tale of a child growing up on meth. Well, it is about meth addiction (among others) yet the term "growing up" is a bit misleading as it seems like he was well into his teens before picking up hard drugs. Instead it's basically about a privileged kid who has depression and unresolved issues because his mother and father got divorced when he was little, so he turned to drugs.

Mildly entertaining at best, this book is filled with undeveloped, ineffectual ideas, confusing flashbacks and a lot of name dropping and supposed celebrities that he is friends with. He tells us nothing of his childhood or what his worst times were really like. Also, there was a lack of real insight into addiction of self-understanding. But most irritating has to be his sub-par writing skills and his multiple mentions of what a talented writer he is and how other people think he is too (say nothing of just being a really gifted, amazing person?). It is bothersome when people are "artists" because they call themselves such. It seems to me that he is just another one of those people who have the right connections (his parents and everyone else in the book are successful famous writers/artists) because of where they grew up and who their mommy and daddy are, and get published. Meanwhile, there are people who have real talent and are struggling to get their work in print. Nothing personal, it just seems that this book with its questionable story and construction might not have been published otherwise. Maybe if he worked harder on the craft of writing and story-telling this book might not seem like such a hackneyed joke.

posted by 863187 on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 311 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    What kind of books you discover in your classroom?

    I really enjoyed tweak. It was my first time reading a memoir based book and I thought it was very well written. Almost like you were right there by Nic sides experiencing everything he was experiencing. In was first was introduced to this in book in my Popular Literature class. I was drawn into, because it seemed like one of those books you had to read. One of those books that was juicy and just plain bad. I don¿t mean bad because of the way it was written but bad because it was about drugs and the party lifestyle. Come on what high school kid doesn¿t want to know about drugs and there influences. But when I started reading the book I realized there was more to it then just meth. It was about Nic recovery and his constant battle with crystal meth. How hard it was for him to live his life like a normal twenty one year old and how his past reflected upon his future. I mean how he grew up so fast and instead of confronting his problems he turned to drug abuse. I mean putting anything into his body that he could. It made me realize how hard it is to just stop using drugs and moving on. Like they say once you have tried the drug and experience the high it offers you will be craving for it for the rest of your life. Personally I really enjoyed this book and it opened my eyes to how bad it could be, if you chose drugs instead of a normal life. It was interesting reading this book because it was written uniquely and shared every aspect of Nic life. I really could not put the book down till I finish. Defiantly, one of those tear jerking books without the sappy love story behind it. There is a little bit of something for every type of reader.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    More readable on drugs/ Irony?

    I initially picked up this book because it was featured on an endcap at a local bookstore. I thought it might be an interesting tale of a child growing up on meth. Well, it is about meth addiction (among others) yet the term "growing up" is a bit misleading as it seems like he was well into his teens before picking up hard drugs. Instead it's basically about a privileged kid who has depression and unresolved issues because his mother and father got divorced when he was little, so he turned to drugs. <BR/><BR/>Mildly entertaining at best, this book is filled with undeveloped, ineffectual ideas, confusing flashbacks and a lot of name dropping and supposed celebrities that he is friends with. He tells us nothing of his childhood or what his worst times were really like. Also, there was a lack of real insight into addiction of self-understanding. But most irritating has to be his sub-par writing skills and his multiple mentions of what a talented writer he is and how other people think he is too (say nothing of just being a really gifted, amazing person?). It is bothersome when people are "artists" because they call themselves such. It seems to me that he is just another one of those people who have the right connections (his parents and everyone else in the book are successful famous writers/artists) because of where they grew up and who their mommy and daddy are, and get published. Meanwhile, there are people who have real talent and are struggling to get their work in print. Nothing personal, it just seems that this book with its questionable story and construction might not have been published otherwise. Maybe if he worked harder on the craft of writing and story-telling this book might not seem like such a hackneyed joke.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    Incredible story; painfully graphic.

    An incredible story of addiction, healing and relapse. Tweak is painfully graphic, taking the reader through the darkest back alleys of drug addiction. This book should raise awareness that addiction is a powerful disease, and that addicts who fight it are brave, brave souls.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    A twisted life of an addict

    In the novel ¿Tweak: Growing up on methamphetamines¿ the author, Nic Sheff, takes the reader on a journey through an addiction to crystal meth, heroin, cocaine and a number of many other substances. Throughout Nic¿s whole childhood and years as a young adult, Nic always felt he could quit whenever he felt he wanted too. Though after a violent relapse in California, Nic shortly realized that it wasn¿t the case, and that help was most defiantly needed. The message the reader is supposed get from this book is that drugs are extremely scary and dangerous. Any substance can ruin the relationship between family and friends, and Nic does a good job showing the reader just what can happen to a relationship. Some of the pros on the novel are that it can give all non- drug users a reason not to use, and it can scare a drug user and convince a person not to smoke, drink, or shoot up. Throughout the whole novel the reader is watching Nic try and beat the physical and mental depths of an addiction; an extremely heartbreaking thing to watch, scaring the reader with a mental picture that is quite difficult to imagine. The cons about ¿Tweak¿, is that after awhile it is no surprise that Nic has relapsed, or that Nic has lost yet another job. It is simply just a life story about Nic¿s addiction, meaning, whenever a new conflict comes up, there is no surprise on how it is resolved. This novel is very informational, and shows the reader just what life is like as a homeless, drug addict, and a struggling young adult trying desperately to get back on track. Also, if the book ¿Tweak¿ was appealing, try the Novel ¿Beautiful Boy¿, a novel about addiction through a parent¿s eye. Overall, out of five, ¿Tweak¿ deserves four and a half ¿hits¿.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Life-changing

    This book really did change my life. I read it when i was a sophomore in high school and was starting down this path. Reading what i could turn into and what was in store for me really made me turn my life around. I reccomend this book to ANYONE, even my grandparents. He paints such a vivid picture that everyone should experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    This book focuses on the life of Nic Sheff who has experimented

    This book focuses on the life of Nic Sheff who has experimented with many drugs throughout his life and his road to recovery. He started abusing alcohol and smoking weed when he was just eleven years old. His use soon moved on to drugs like cocaine and ecstasy. Later in his life he becomes a heavy user of heroin and crystal meth. He has this thought in his head that his life is better when using and he can get clean to get more money for drugs whenever he wants. One summer he has his worst relapse ever and almost ends up dead. He gets to the point where even very large doses of meth mixed with heroin won't get him high anymore. One morning he wakes up sick, sweaty, shaking, and puking on the floor of his girlfriends parent's house. He calls up and old friend and seeks help. This time things are different and he managed to stay clean and follow through with his twelve step program and keep a job. Drug abuse is obviously a major theme in this book and Nic talks about all the bad experiences he had while on meth and heroin. His message is to show the world the truth about the life of a tweaker and also that it is possible to recover and start a better life although it is extremely hard. I think this is a great book to read if you're interested in learning about the life of a heavy drug user. He doesn't hold back on anything and is very blunt an honest about the things that happened to him and the horrible things he would do just to get high. He talks about everything from selling drugs himself to prostituting himself to other men in exchange for drugs. I love his style of writing -- slightly like a diary, easy to read, and very in depth and honest. There is not one part of the book that I didn't like. If you like this book then I would recommend Crank or any other book by Ellen Hopkins. Although Her books are fiction and Nic's story is non-fiction, they both write about similar topics and similar styles.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    One of the best books I've ever read

    I am completely serious when I say that. This book is so real and powerful and heartwrenching. I started crying when I was reading it. This book is so moving and good. I recommend it to everyon. Guys and Girls. <BR/>People need to be aware of how bad drugs are and how they affect your life negatively and perminately in most cases.<BR/><BR/>Read this!<BR/>It is worth every bit of your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    like a great sequel

    if you read his dad's book, then you have to read this!! i truly enjoyed this it just filled in the peices perfectly to 'a beautiful boy'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Life changing

    This book is incredible. I am a twenty year old recovering addict who always sees failure of sobriety. Finally someone leys it all make sense and how you can fight the disease. I want every addict to read this and understand that there is more to life than getting high

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    You find yourself addicted

    I had no idea what to expect from this book, but I never was able to put it down. Following Nic in his struggles and journeys was utterly fascinating and strengthening. I found myself addicted to Nic Sheff and his words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    A Great Book

    this book is mostly told in a conversational tone, but it is very well written and he gets the point across. i loved it. he has another book coming out sometime in april '11, We All Fall Down. i am looking forward to reading that a lot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    The journy through an addiction

    The book 'Tweak' takes you on Nic Sheff's journey through addiction, recovery, and relapses. Nic started doing drugs at a pretty young age which led him to his crystal meth addiction later on. By the end of the book Nick came to the realization that no matter what, his addiction would always be a struggle. He finally understands who he is and feels like he is a new person once he became clean again, hopefully for the last time.
    This book was full of his personal stories and was a hard book to put down. It was very engaging. It painted a vivid picture of addiction through the eyes of the addict. One thing I didn't like about the book was how it jumped around. It seemed like he told the story as he remembered it but not always in the order it occurred. Also the ending of the book seemed to be abrupt. He had such an impactful story, and it seemed he could have given more time to his final conclusion. I would recommend this book to 'young adults' because it gives you the image of what an addiction really looks like.There are several people who said the book helped them get through their addiction.
    Nick Sheff's dad wrote a book called 'Beautiful Boy' which is the story of his dad's journey through his son's addiction. I haven't read it but it has great reviews and is said to be a good book to read before reading 'Tweak'. Overall, I think this book was great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    A brutally honest journey

    In this gut wrenching memoir Nick Sheff, a young confused boy tells with brutal honesty the very dark journey of his methamphetamine addiction. After drinking for the first time when he was a child, Nick knew there was something different about him. This story tells about the dramatic lengths Nick went to, to support this addiction and his almost impossible road to recovery. This is one of the better books I've read for many reasons one being the way Nick is a very relatable person. Nick grew up the way many of us do with divorced parents, but parents who really loved and cared for him. His constant need for approval from his family and friends show his lack of self esteem and how that was the main cause of his downfall. From prostitution, to stealing from his own younger siblings Nick tells about the harsh reality of being a drug addict. Nick gives a great insight to what it's like to be homeless and hopeless to the point where you have nowhere else to go but up. I believe this book could help anyone through a tough time drugs or no drugs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Enjoyable

    I really liked this book. I thought he did a good job of detailing his life as a meth junkie. I also his dad's book after this one and it was interesting to see the different perspectives of the same events. His dad's book contains not only his struggle, but a lot of information about meth. I learned a lot and also felt an array of emotion. It is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Amazing

    This book is truly inspiring listening to his story. He is such an amazing author and his books are truly addicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    This book really is amazing. I read Tweak before I read his fath

    This book really is amazing. I read Tweak before I read his fathers book, Beautiful Boy. It provides so much insight into Nic's life and it is truly one of my favorite books. I could not put it down and I finished his book and Beautiful Boy very quickly. But then I did not want to be done reading it. I would recommend it to anyone over 15 years old. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Love

    This book is so good. I got it like a year or two ago and it was so frikin real. I was like daaaaang thats cray but it was very fast paced and a lil cringe worthy andvraw. Finaly a reall friggin great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    It was okay

    I bought this book on my nook after seeing the hardcopy in the store. It looked interesting and I had heard good reviews on it but it didn't turn out good at all. I felt it dragged on. I like drug abuse stories and this one just wasn't what I thought it would be. I don't recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Great book!!

    Cant wait to read the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Tweak in my opinion was not only a book about a heroin addict b

    Tweak in my opinion was not only a book about a heroin addict but a book about way more than that. Nic went through a ton in his life and also lost a lot throughout these hard times for him. I would reccomend this book to anyone over the age of 17 and looking for a true story. This is an unbelievable true story about the author himself. It will definitely make you question the life you are living today for the better. From the lowest lows to the highest highs, Tweak really draws in the reader and makes you question what you would do in Nic's shoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 311 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16