Customer Reviews for

Tweak: Growing Up on Methamphetamines

Average Rating 4.5
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What kind of books you discover in your classroom?

I really enjoyed tweak. It was my first time reading a memoir based book and I thought it was very well written. Almost like you were right there by Nic sides experiencing everything he was experiencing. In was first was introduced to this in book in my Popular Literatu...
I really enjoyed tweak. It was my first time reading a memoir based book and I thought it was very well written. Almost like you were right there by Nic sides experiencing everything he was experiencing. In was first was introduced to this in book in my Popular Literature class. I was drawn into, because it seemed like one of those books you had to read. One of those books that was juicy and just plain bad. I don¿t mean bad because of the way it was written but bad because it was about drugs and the party lifestyle. Come on what high school kid doesn¿t want to know about drugs and there influences. But when I started reading the book I realized there was more to it then just meth. It was about Nic recovery and his constant battle with crystal meth. How hard it was for him to live his life like a normal twenty one year old and how his past reflected upon his future. I mean how he grew up so fast and instead of confronting his problems he turned to drug abuse. I mean putting anything into his body that he could. It made me realize how hard it is to just stop using drugs and moving on. Like they say once you have tried the drug and experience the high it offers you will be craving for it for the rest of your life. Personally I really enjoyed this book and it opened my eyes to how bad it could be, if you chose drugs instead of a normal life. It was interesting reading this book because it was written uniquely and shared every aspect of Nic life. I really could not put the book down till I finish. Defiantly, one of those tear jerking books without the sappy love story behind it. There is a little bit of something for every type of reader.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

More readable on drugs/ Irony?

I initially picked up this book because it was featured on an endcap at a local bookstore. I thought it might be an interesting tale of a child growing up on meth. Well, it is about meth addiction (among others) yet the term "growing up" is a bit misleading as it seems ...
I initially picked up this book because it was featured on an endcap at a local bookstore. I thought it might be an interesting tale of a child growing up on meth. Well, it is about meth addiction (among others) yet the term "growing up" is a bit misleading as it seems like he was well into his teens before picking up hard drugs. Instead it's basically about a privileged kid who has depression and unresolved issues because his mother and father got divorced when he was little, so he turned to drugs.

Mildly entertaining at best, this book is filled with undeveloped, ineffectual ideas, confusing flashbacks and a lot of name dropping and supposed celebrities that he is friends with. He tells us nothing of his childhood or what his worst times were really like. Also, there was a lack of real insight into addiction of self-understanding. But most irritating has to be his sub-par writing skills and his multiple mentions of what a talented writer he is and how other people think he is too (say nothing of just being a really gifted, amazing person?). It is bothersome when people are "artists" because they call themselves such. It seems to me that he is just another one of those people who have the right connections (his parents and everyone else in the book are successful famous writers/artists) because of where they grew up and who their mommy and daddy are, and get published. Meanwhile, there are people who have real talent and are struggling to get their work in print. Nothing personal, it just seems that this book with its questionable story and construction might not have been published otherwise. Maybe if he worked harder on the craft of writing and story-telling this book might not seem like such a hackneyed joke.

posted by 863187 on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tweak, the emotional recovery.

    The book Tweak, by Nic Sheff, is a memoir that deals with the struggle to stay clean from a drug addiction. Nic was always the good child, helping his friends and family out, receiving a 4.0 throughout his high school career, wanting to become a writer and even having published work. But by the age of eighteen, Nic Sheff was addicted to the drug crystal meth and would do anything to get his hands on it, even steal from his own family. Defeating the drug addiction seemed never ending, going in and out of treatment centers throughout the years, and yet Sheff always relapsed. Being with someone, getting high and "living the good life" is all that Sheff seemed to care about. He would suppress his emotions by getting high and would do anything to receive that "first high". Sheff prostituted himself and stole from family, friends, and jobs he worked at. His parents would shut him out of their lives in order to not get hurt by their own son. After being homeless in San Francisco, Sheff realized he needed help and called his sponsor, Spencer, who then helped Sheff detox and rebuild his life little by little. From then on, everything seemed to fall back into place; he had a job, worked the twelve-step program, rebuilt a relationship with his family, and had friends. All this progress came to a stop when an old lover named Zelda came back into Sheff's life, everything fell apart and he relapsed once more. After being caught trying to steal a computer in his mother's garage, he is sent to the treatment center called "Safe Passage". While being there, Sheff must go through the past and feel the emotional struggles that have been suppressed throughout his life; self-image issues, relying on relationships and drugs to temporarily solve his problems, and hurting the ones he loves most. Tweak is an emotional roller coaster that deals with real struggles and real problems that you do not want to miss out on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A clear picture of the life of an addict.

    Of course I have read the father's side first, and then HAD to hear the son's version. I was not able to put down either one. I feel so sorry
    for the pain that Nic went through, that obviously started when he was
    young. To hear a kid admit all of his weaknesses and insecurities is so
    powerful and raw. I am certainly rooting for Nic in his battle and hope that he continues to surround himself with positive forces. It was
    really brave of him to write this memoir, with all the very ugly and low
    things that he experienced. I hope that it helped him and since we know that he relapsed after the publication, I hope he continues to find an outlet in writing. This was not easy to digest, but neither is addiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Raw and revealing.

    After reading his father's book, I had to hear from the son.
    Both are honest writers. I love when they describe a day of
    surfing and the beauty of California. If only the subject
    matter could be that light. This was a tough book to read
    because he held nothing back. The needles, the blood, the
    prostitution, the lying and stealing. You certainly don't
    see him as a sympathetic boy as in his dad's memoir but I
    am sure that it felt good to pour out his whole story,
    warts and all. I just hope that he doesn't relapse again.
    It is quite amazing to me that he did not kill himself with
    an overdose. The life of an addict can get so low, I hope
    that he stays healthy and clean. He is a talented writer,
    with so much to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Good and Informative

    Tweak did not fulfill my expectations after all the praise I heard about it, but it was definitely an informative read. I truly believe this book can avert people away from the appeal of drugs, and should therefore be read by everyone. I did enjoy reading this book and I thought certain parts of it were excellent. A big problem I had with it, though, was the writing style, particularly the usage of "like" many times. I almost feel that some readers disregard the quality of the book simply because it's about a heavy and personal topic, and in turn praise it without thought. Still, I did like Tweak and I do think Nic Sheff did a nice job with it, though not amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Challenging Read...

    Throughout the past year, I've been reading and studying the art of writing memoir. I am challenged by the idea that someone else's factual truth may not be the writer's Truth. After reading Tweak, I am more comfortable with letting the author give me his/her Truth and trusting him/her. Although it is tough to trust - Nic Sheff earned mine through his honesty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    This was a great read. It really helps you realize the life of an addict. The characters are realistic, with both their faults and attributes prominent. The writing seemed more like a thought process, than a novel, but that made it all the more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    tweak

    I really liked this book because of the overall actions. I'd recommend this book to anyone into real-life books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by coollibrarianchick for TeensReadToo.com

    Methamphetamine use, commonly known on the street as crystal, tweak, the New Prozac, and crank, has become a growing problem in the U.S. in the last several years. From what I have read, there is no worse drug addiction than crystal meth. It not only affects the person using but the personal relationships they have, as well. It is not just my humble opinion when I tell you that these drugs have the power to kill or cause great harm. A great example would be Nic Sheff, the author of TWEAK. At an early age, just a babe himself, Nick had his first taste of drugs and alcohol. Drug use escalated in Nic's case - he went from just smoking pot to abusing cocaine, heroin, and crystal meth. For over a decade, on and off, Nic used drugs. The book opens up with a bang - Nic relapsing after 18 months of being clean and sober. <BR/><BR/>You can call TWEAK a young adult book if you like, since Nic is a young adult, just in his twenties, but in actuality it is a book that will appeal to any age level, young and old alike. Teens will definitely gravitate to Nic's story because of the fact that it is someone about their age using drugs, and they can relate to it (maybe not completely but on some level). The general public may find it of interest, because it will give them an insight into the mind of an addict. Perhaps a reader may find comfort in this story, knowing that he is not alone. <BR/><BR/>It occurred to me as I was reading TWEAK that the book was like a cleanser for Nic; a way to cleanse his soul. Writing TWEAK couldn't have been easy for him, as Nic had to relive everything he did and put it down on paper. Some of what I read admittedly shocked me. I can't imagine what goes inside an addict's mind. The book was so honest; at times I ached for him. Other times I wanted to strangle him for what he was doing to himself and his family. I hate to say that I didn't think his clean and sober status was going to last very long. It was as if it was too good to be true. At the end of the book, we learn that Nic is now clean and dealing with his demons on an everyday basis. I expect that this is not going to be an easy road for him or for his family. <BR/><BR/>Everybody participates in addictive behavior in some way or another. Some people believe that people get involved in addictive behaviors because they are reckless, self-absorbed, and have no self-control. For the most part, I stand in the camp that believes that drug and alcohol addictions are diseases. You may choose to get treatment, but once an addict always an addict. Nic is never going to escape the addict label even if he does remain clean the rest of his life. <BR/><BR/>Nic's father, David Sheff, also has written a book about meth addiction. BEAUTIFUL BOY looks at Nic's addiction through the eyes of a parent. Mary Pipher, a psychologist and the renowned author of the book REVIVING OPHELIA, says on the jacket of David Sheff's book: "When one of us tells the truth, he makes it easier for all of us to open our hearts to our pain and that of others." Good reason to read Nic's book and his father's. Pick up your copies today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Inspiring

    This book was amazing. I just simply couldn't put it down as soon as I started it. I've always loved reading substance abuse books, and I was really happy to find one that was actually an autobiography. This book taught me a lot. It was pretty sad at points when things got out of hand with Nic's addictions. But I was inspired when he got through it all and changed his whole life around. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys substance abuse books and is looking for a true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    pretty freakin good!

    i thought that this book was written in a way that really connected to the reader and made you feel like you were right there with nic, going through the things he went through. overall, i thought it was awesome, but i wish there was more of an ending to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    It left me wanting more!

    This is a great first book and I commend him for telling people the raw honesty of life as a drug addict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    well worth the read

    i'll agree, this book will make you cringe and make you cry. i was overwhelmed by a sense of hope by the end of the memoir. really, a must read even if you haven't been affected by drug addiction in any way...this needed to be put out there. i hope the author keeps his chin up and continues to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4