Customer Reviews for

The Twelfth Enchantment: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

a strange yet engaging Regency fantasy

At sixteen Lucy Derrick eloped with Jonas Morrison, but their running away was never finished though it partially wrecked her reputation as being foolish but not a whore. She believes her aborted elopement destroyed her family. A few years later, her oldest sister Emi...
At sixteen Lucy Derrick eloped with Jonas Morrison, but their running away was never finished though it partially wrecked her reputation as being foolish but not a whore. She believes her aborted elopement destroyed her family. A few years later, her oldest sister Emily died just before her father passed. Her middle sister Martha married Mr. Buckles who rejects having Lucy in his house as he obeys his patroness Widow Lady Harriett Dyer. Lucy lives as the poor relation of her resentful martinet Uncle Richard Lowell and his towering abusive housekeeper Mrs. Quince. She is forced to accept a marriage offer from Mr. Olson, owner of a mill with brutal working conditions.

The poet Lord Byron arrives babbling she must not marry before collapsing. Medical man Mr. Snyder arrives and says he cannot help the cursed Byron; he suggests they consult with Miss Mary Crawford. Lucy and Mrs. Quince visit Mary. The "witch" guides Lucy as she lifts the curse haunting Byron. The strangeness turns weirder as Lucy becomes the foci of a colossal conspiratorial collision between the ancient and modern times. Lucy must find a mystical tome to save her country while two enigmatic males court her.

The Twelfth Enchantment is a strange yet engaging Regency fantasy starring a charming heroine struggling with being the unwanted relative fostered off to an engagement she does not remotely accept when her vision of the world is shattered. The storyline is leisurely paced especially towards the beginning to establish time and place (through Byron) and the laws of Liss magic. Readers will appreciate this twisting coming of age historical fantasy as Lucy Derrick tries to save a world she never knew existed until Byron arrived.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not the usual David Liss book

While this was an enjoyable read , it was not the book of previous David Liss's style. If I had known its true nature, I would not bought it. It was not awful, just not what I was expecting from the author.

Whereas the others were bit more political and set in yea...
While this was an enjoyable read , it was not the book of previous David Liss's style. If I had known its true nature, I would not bought it. It was not awful, just not what I was expecting from the author.

Whereas the others were bit more political and set in years gone by, this one dealt with witches and fairies and had some political statement
about factories and what they do to workers.It is set in almost medieval times as well, but the tale is much different then his previous work.
I had enjoyed the others more as they dealt with more historical values and also some facts about how monetary systems and trading evolved.
I was a bit disappointed that his usual characters were not in this story.
If you like tales of witches and spells etc, buy it. If not pass this one up.

posted by wcorrig1 on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a strange yet engaging Regency fantasy

    At sixteen Lucy Derrick eloped with Jonas Morrison, but their running away was never finished though it partially wrecked her reputation as being foolish but not a whore. She believes her aborted elopement destroyed her family. A few years later, her oldest sister Emily died just before her father passed. Her middle sister Martha married Mr. Buckles who rejects having Lucy in his house as he obeys his patroness Widow Lady Harriett Dyer. Lucy lives as the poor relation of her resentful martinet Uncle Richard Lowell and his towering abusive housekeeper Mrs. Quince. She is forced to accept a marriage offer from Mr. Olson, owner of a mill with brutal working conditions.

    The poet Lord Byron arrives babbling she must not marry before collapsing. Medical man Mr. Snyder arrives and says he cannot help the cursed Byron; he suggests they consult with Miss Mary Crawford. Lucy and Mrs. Quince visit Mary. The "witch" guides Lucy as she lifts the curse haunting Byron. The strangeness turns weirder as Lucy becomes the foci of a colossal conspiratorial collision between the ancient and modern times. Lucy must find a mystical tome to save her country while two enigmatic males court her.

    The Twelfth Enchantment is a strange yet engaging Regency fantasy starring a charming heroine struggling with being the unwanted relative fostered off to an engagement she does not remotely accept when her vision of the world is shattered. The storyline is leisurely paced especially towards the beginning to establish time and place (through Byron) and the laws of Liss magic. Readers will appreciate this twisting coming of age historical fantasy as Lucy Derrick tries to save a world she never knew existed until Byron arrived.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    Generally I don't read a lot of fantasy but I really enjoyed Liss's previous novels and I didn't read the plot summary on this one. I am glad I didn't as I may not have read it. I stayed up half the night to finish this- it is the best book I have read in quite a while. His books have such high quality plots and are thoughtfully written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Highly recommend. Brilliantly wove in Byron, Blake and elements

    Highly recommend. Brilliantly wove in Byron, Blake and elements of mythology. This one is for people who love historical fiction and like to learn something new along the way.... Loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic...but feels similiar

    It is a fantastic book. I couldn't put it down. I read it on the treadmill and it made me want to go back for more pain. It is earily simililar to Mr. Norrell and Dr. Strange, but Liss with his increadible ability to twist an ending did it again. I loved the book and hope he does more. I have read all his books, but Coffee Trader, which I couldn't get through. It is smart and fun. You can put some of the parts together as you read, but if forces you to be patient. I really enjoyed it and I highly recommend. Liss continues to leverage his uncanny knowledge of history to fashion a story that is believable and fun. He could of tightened it up a bit, but as a first attempt was really well written. I would recommend next time to make the parts harder to put together as in his other novels. I was impressed and he did have me confused until I got near to the end. I do hope he writes more novels like this one and applaude his attempt to do something different. Thanks again for the incredible novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    A must read

    Great story that grabs your attention from start. I couldnt stop reading to how what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Loved it!

    Couldn't put it down. Loved every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Great book for those who enjoy fantasy with a dash of history added in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    MAGNIFICENT

    A magnificent tale with twist and turns at every corner--or page. Supernatural magic and forgotten lore entwine this tale throughout. Mr. Liss has done a great job at creating a maze of words that delights the senses. Keeping the pieces to the puzzle, puzzling to a truly remarkable ending. Enjoy this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Loved this Book!

    The best compliment that I can give a book is that I can't wait to get to the end, but at the same time I don't want to get to end because I don't want to leave the wonderful world the author has created. This is such a book. I have never read another book by this author and I picked it up by chance. This author writes beautifully. Such formal and rich language, but it still manages to be exciting and fast paced. You grow fond of the main character as she slowly grows in confidence and magical ability. If you like regency romances you will like this book. I you like fantasy and the paranormal you will like this book. If you love a book with a rich vocabulary and poetic turn of phrase you will love this book. By the way this is the 1rst review I have ever written for a book. I just had to share how wonderful this book was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Loved it

    Truly surprising Regency!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1