BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Twelfth Imam

Average Rating 4
( 463 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Tension Rises in The Middle East, is this the End of the World?

Ripped from today's headlines concerning the conflicts in the Middle East with regards to Israel and the United States, the latest book from Joel Rosenberg, The Twelfth Imam, gives us a glimpse into the very near, possible future.

Using Christian fiction much like th...
Ripped from today's headlines concerning the conflicts in the Middle East with regards to Israel and the United States, the latest book from Joel Rosenberg, The Twelfth Imam, gives us a glimpse into the very near, possible future.

Using Christian fiction much like the writers of the Left Behind Series, Rosenberg takes us into the story sometime before the 9/11 attacks through the eyes of David Shirazi, who with a photographic memory and the ability to be fluent in Farsi, German and Arabic as well as English and French, it isn't long before the CIA find a real need in using David Shirazi to find out if Iran does in fact have the ability and is planning on building nuclear weapons.

Toggling back and forth through the book between what David is doing to help America win the battle against terrorism since the attacks on 9/11 we are taken into the heart of evil with the apocalyptic predictions of the rising up of a Twelfth Imam who will destroy the Zionists and the Christians before bringing about prosperity and peace to the world.

We see how Iran is secretly building nuclear weapons in an undisclosed location deep within the Zagros Mountains while they keep building a nuclear power plant to show the world they aren't terrorist but simply want an alternative power source. Since the invasion of Iraq, the United States isn't looking to make the same mistakes and launch an assault if that is all Iran is really doing. So in using David, they hope to learn what Iran is really up to.

This book is so eye opening to the headlines we read even today with the conflict between Iran and the US and being an ally to Israel. Is this book more true than not? To find out, you'll need to read it yourself and see how it all ends.

I received this amazing book compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and I couldn't wait to reach the end. I would honestly rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars not just for the story content but for the facts you learn about the Muslim beliefs through the Qu'ran and what they really believe about God and Jesus. This book is available in Hardcover, CD and spanish formats.

posted by Heart2Heart on October 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

re: how people read/review the book before publication

Most publishers send out advance reading copies to bookstores, critics, etc. Any legitimate review you see here before publication will be because of those advance copies.

posted by Pengwenoo1 on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    gripping the whole way through!

    this is my first read from Rosenburg, and its aswome. His genius blend of fact and fiction keep the reader both intertained and enlightend at the same time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Great First Impression

    While the description deals mostly with the problems surrounding Iran and Iraq, I find that I was actually most drawn to the more domestic issues, so to speak. I found the protagonist relationship with a girl that seems to have dropped off the grid more intriguing than when the CIA operative is fighting to prevent the utter destruction of two nations. I think that's more of my personal draw than the author's fault, if it's even a fault at all.
    The plot as a whole is fascinating. It takes place all over the Middle East to various parts of North America. It really delves deep into the culture of Iran and Iraq and the differences and the beautiful and also disastrous culture that the Iranian and Iraqi culture harbors.
    The author of this book could not have done much better with the characters. The main character is clearly defined, yet I also felt my passion in some of the side-characters who are fighting as hard as the protagonist, just for different things.
    The transformation of several characters was utterly beautiful and I loved watching them grow.
    All this said however, I felt my heart was more with one character that does not even appear for most of the book then any other character, save possibly the protagonist. Perhaps this was because of the protagonist's deep feelings for her, or maybe it was just me. You be the judge.
    I learned more in this book then any other fictional book I've ever read. Yet, it didn't feel like I was reading some boring attempt to intertwine fact and fiction. It felt smooth and natural. It flowed-and I loved the outcome. While this book was fantastic, I cannot give it a full five stars(pens). I think it was great, but I just don't think it will be one that resonates with me for the rest of my life. But don't take that as a negative for this book-go and get the book, you won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Loved it!!

    for those of you who called it a book without an ending... be advised this is the firstpart of a trilogy!!!! just like Lord of the rings! please be informed before you review!! apart from that the book is great!! if acomplishes the full attention of the reader, and the desire to read the next part!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Very easy to believe it could happen very, very soon.

    Because of the situations today in the Middle East and especially with Iran on the brink of having nuclear power...this is a very real scenario. It scars me to think how close to the truth it could very well be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoyed Joel Rosenberg's latest book. The ending of course leads you to the sequel, but I wish it would have not ended quite so abruptly. The story moves along and is believeable with a few shockers thrown in for good measure.

    I for one can't wait for the next one to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    It ends by leading to a Sequel

    Well worth the read. This fact based nover will both teach and entertain. Rosenberg's mastery of the Biblical and Koranic history requires no suspension of disbelief as he moves the plot along. Normally I don't start reading a book until the sequel is available, but in this case it slipped up on me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    very good read!

    very riveting, fast-moving action. It was the first book I read by Rosenberg, but it won't be the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    A page turner indeed.

    A small portion of one chapter got a little hoakey, but overall it is a good christian suspense.

    (I plan to write to the author on this one portion.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Aauugh!

    Ok I'm mad! This book ends with a cliffhanger that practically forces you to but the next book. This is why I despise series. Other than that it was a great read. A real edge of your seat page turner using current events that'll keep you up at night reading so you can see what happens next. Mr. Rosenberg is a master wordsmith. That being said, don't buy this book if you like your endings nicely tied up in a neat little bow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I read THE TWELFTH IMAM with anticipation after having read Jo

    I read THE TWELFTH IMAM with anticipation after having read Joel C. Rosenberg’s previous series which seemed to be eerily prophetic.

    This first in series novel focusing on Iran does seem to be au currant with world events. Though it seemed a bit slow to begin with, the pace picked up dramatically to leave me breathless by the end.

    This is a series featuring Iranian/American David Shirazi whose parents were secreted out of Iran at the beginning of the revolution in 1979 that resulted in the 444 day hostage ordeal of the American Embassy.

    When David enters the scene, he is a typical teenager who goes on a fishing trip with his dad and some of his friends and their kids. The trip is to last a week, but ends up lasting much longer due to the flight restrictions imposed after the events of September 11th.

    The novel chronicles David’s journey from intelligent, but rebellious youth to being recruited by, and mentored by family friend and CIA agent Jack Zalinsky. David’s early assignment to gain access to the nuclear plans of Iran and, increasingly, the inner circle of the newly revealed Twelfth Imam-Muhammad Ibn Hasan Ibn Ali, gains him wide respect within the Company.

    This is a novel that is hard to put down and leaves you believing it could happen at any time, or is currently being played out in some form. I encourage you to read it and be in prayer for world leaders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Really good read

    I liked the book from begining to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Thoughts running through my mind

    This book has been looking at current world events with keen eye. I am wondering why the christian faith followers continue to give into islamic faith based demands for rights respect when their faith does not offer the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This is a great book! It is almost like reading the newspaper as it is so relevant to our time. It has it all, suspense, intrigue and some romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Recommend

    Worth the read...very interesting! Much more believable than Left Behind series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Good start to another great series

    I've enjoyed Joel C. Rosenberg's other series and this is looking like another in the making. His fiction books have a habit of coming true in some form or another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Recommend

    This is the first book I have read by Joel Rosenberg. I bought it because it was recommended by Moody Radio Florida. It was very well written and even though this is fiction, a lot of it is based on facts. I learned some things that I did not know before and plan on sharing this book with other Christians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining...

    I didn't get a free advance copy of The Twelfth Imam, but I still give it four stars as I found it well-written and highly entertaining. It may be controversial for some as it has some of those "last days" elements to it. The author has Jesus popping up rather irregularly and with little reason for his appearances. Also appearing is The twelfth Imam, a more cartoonish character who seems to have a knack for being in the right disguise at the right time and being able to read people's minds. Some day, and maybe soon, we will have to worry about Iran and nuclear bombs. In the meantime, this book can get you thinking about it and having fun at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    It left me hanging!

    What happened with the Twelfth Imam? Did David get together with Marseille? Did he quit the CIA or did he answer the presidents call? These are all questions I have because the book just ended! Other than all my questions it was a good book. I was concerned it would be too political and confusing but it wasn't. It was very interesting and I wanted to keep reading to find out what happened but the book just ended so now I'll never know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thought provoking

    Charlie and his wife Claire discover that it is very dangerous to be an American in Tehran.
    Hamid watched as his dying master struggled to remain alive. Allah is in control after all.
    Najjar witnessed a family being gunned down by masked terrorists, but then the AK 47 was turned on him.
    With a host of many characters the reader will find the pace easy to keep up with. A suspenseful filled pounding novel of international terrorism proportions that will keep you turning the pages to the end. Excellent character development, dialogue and scene pulled the novel together. I found the overall message inspiring and would recommend this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Keeps you wanting more

    Captivating. Intriguing. Action-packed. Yes the CIA plays an important part in this political novel based on relationships between the United States and the countries of the Middle East. As new connections between the main characters are revealed one wonders how the battle of good and evil will play out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7