Customer Reviews for

The Twelfth Imam

Average Rating 4
( 463 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Tension Rises in The Middle East, is this the End of the World?

Ripped from today's headlines concerning the conflicts in the Middle East with regards to Israel and the United States, the latest book from Joel Rosenberg, The Twelfth Imam, gives us a glimpse into the very near, possible future.

Using Christian fiction much like th...
Ripped from today's headlines concerning the conflicts in the Middle East with regards to Israel and the United States, the latest book from Joel Rosenberg, The Twelfth Imam, gives us a glimpse into the very near, possible future.

Using Christian fiction much like the writers of the Left Behind Series, Rosenberg takes us into the story sometime before the 9/11 attacks through the eyes of David Shirazi, who with a photographic memory and the ability to be fluent in Farsi, German and Arabic as well as English and French, it isn't long before the CIA find a real need in using David Shirazi to find out if Iran does in fact have the ability and is planning on building nuclear weapons.

Toggling back and forth through the book between what David is doing to help America win the battle against terrorism since the attacks on 9/11 we are taken into the heart of evil with the apocalyptic predictions of the rising up of a Twelfth Imam who will destroy the Zionists and the Christians before bringing about prosperity and peace to the world.

We see how Iran is secretly building nuclear weapons in an undisclosed location deep within the Zagros Mountains while they keep building a nuclear power plant to show the world they aren't terrorist but simply want an alternative power source. Since the invasion of Iraq, the United States isn't looking to make the same mistakes and launch an assault if that is all Iran is really doing. So in using David, they hope to learn what Iran is really up to.

This book is so eye opening to the headlines we read even today with the conflict between Iran and the US and being an ally to Israel. Is this book more true than not? To find out, you'll need to read it yourself and see how it all ends.

I received this amazing book compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and I couldn't wait to reach the end. I would honestly rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars not just for the story content but for the facts you learn about the Muslim beliefs through the Qu'ran and what they really believe about God and Jesus. This book is available in Hardcover, CD and spanish formats.

posted by Heart2Heart on October 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

re: how people read/review the book before publication

Most publishers send out advance reading copies to bookstores, critics, etc. Any legitimate review you see here before publication will be because of those advance copies.

posted by Pengwenoo1 on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 196 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I couldn't put this down!!! Also read the next one, The Tehran Initiative and can't wait to get the third one. Amazing reading!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    excellent, I'm ready for more!

    well written and very timely as always. well worth the time and excellent for discussion time with others. i do wish the B&N discounts applied to Nook Books too, but then i would purchase more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Excellent

    Reads like today's headlines. Have read and enjoyed this author before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Edge of Your Seat Thriller

    Twelfth Imam was the first Rosenberg novel I've read, but it was so good, so well written, so thrilling... That since then I have purchased and read all previous novels by Joel Rosenberg.

    The book grabs you from the first chapter and keeps you on the edge of your seat throughput. I especially love the characters Rosenberg develops for us readers. They all have well developed back stories and Rosenberg does a great job of connecting all of the dots.

    By linking events like 911 and Argo to the book... It's as if you are reading headlines from the news. But much more thrilling, much more real.

    I strongly recommend this book to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Gripping!!!

    Read it on my Noon. Could hardly put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    The book is so good it keeps you spellbound.How a man could write a book and you can see it come true all around you is a amazing. The story keeps you wanting to keep reading till the end, then wish you had the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great Book

    Great book, Great series & cant wait for the next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Rosenberg's The Twelfth Imam is quite intriguing! It starts out slowly but increases in suspense as one progresses through the novel. It gives the readers insight into the beliefs of the muslim culture as well as the christian culture, and sets forth a senario of adventure, mystery and excitement set primarily in the middle east. He holds ones attention throughout but leaves you in suspense at the end ...causing you to want the follow up novel to see what happens next! I am awaiting the next book with anticipation. Certain groups of people might enjoy a discussion of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great Read

    Much of the content throughout the book seems like insider information and really adds to the excitement of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    A great Read!

    Keeps you on the edge and engaged in the story line. Although it is a fictional story it is so full of real to life truth and biblical truth. You are actual learn while being totally engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Excellent Book!

    Excellent Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Outstanding

    I loved this book. He really did his homework. I couldnt put it down. AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    The Twelfth Imam is a great book filled with lots of internation

    The Twelfth Imam is a great book filled with lots of international intrigue. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time, not wanting to put it down. (Though I had to because of chores, eating, and sleeping… don’t you hate it when life gets in the way of a good book?) I would definitely recommend it to anyone in need of a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    First time reading this author, won't be my last!

    I'm not typically drawn to books set largely in the political arena, but I am so glad I picked this one up.

    The Shirazi family escaped Iran in the late 70's, and has lived in the US ever since. Following the events of September 11, their youngest of three sons, David, is driven by love for a girl named Marseille, and a hate for Osama bin Laden. He is recruited by the CIA while still in his teens and they begin to put his extreme intelligence and background to use. Meanwhile, the Twelfth Imam or Mahdi begins to appear, seemingly fulfilling Islamic prophecy. Nuclear war is at stake, specifically intended to bring about the "End of Days", and many lives hang in the balance.

    The author is excellent at building the "backstory" on the characters, and yet we move at such an intense pace. This was my first time reading anything by Mr. Rosenberg. It was incredibly intricate and truly, it's a long book - but never slow - I just couldn't put it down. I even found myself shushing my family. :) I also loved all of the real-life press citations that were used throughout the book.

    I've just started book two, I can't wait to see what happens next, and I highly recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Great book!!

    Great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Tom Clancy Look Out

    Two families are trapped in Iran during the Iranian Revolution in 1978. Their choice to escape the country has profound and far reaching changes, beginning in 1978 and reverberating through time to the present day.

    Set in the near future, this book is a taut thriller centered on Islamic politics in the middle east and a possible nuclear armageddon, both of which continue to spin out of control and which may lead to devastating consequences across the world.

    The writing style is crisp, clean, and enthralling. The author's command of intricate story lines and detail is amazing, very similar to Tom Clancy's political thrillers. The novel is long, but the reader is rewarded with a fascinating narrative.

    There is no sex or language, but this book does depict plenty of violence, including shootings, beheadings, beatings, torture, disturbing behavior, burnings, a car wreck, and so on. The descriptions are not overtly graphic, and the scenes depicted are not extraneous but help drive the plot, often providing motives for the characters involved. In context, I did not find the violence to be overwhelmingly gory or gratuitous, but I'm pretty sure that at some point the main character would have begun suffering some pretty severe PTSD.

    Religion is without a doubt the central theme of this book. A radical sect of Islam is pitted against Christians, Jews, and the world at large. While many characters believe fervently in one faith or another, two main characters begin as weak followers of their faiths and the plot line watches them progress towards different points. Strangely enough, I did not feel invited to analyze these characters and their beliefs, because these spiritual journeys are mostly subplots buried in the midst of the chaos erupting in the world around them.

    Despite thoroughly enjoying this book, I wish that the author had been even more specific about how much of the Islamic mythology he invented and how much he sourced. I was so intrigued by the ideas presented, I felt compelled to research more on my own - something that I both enjoyed doing and was annoyed that the story did not include enough sourcing to stand on its own.

    I'd recommend this to anyone who gets a kick out of the thriller/spy genre, and who doesn't mind lugging around a heavy book for a while. It's quite a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Really made you think about what is happening in this world. Thi

    Really made you think about what is happening in this world. This book has it all CIA, Terroist networks. Ripped from what is happening today! It is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    You will not be able to put this book down!

    Fictional novel yet so much is realistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Where the summer season typically heralds many action-packed mov

    Where the summer season typically heralds many action-packed movies in theaters for general consumption by the masses, The Twelfth Imam serves as a fantastic alternative to being spoon-fed a visual depiction of a thriller type of movie. The theater of the mind comes alive with Rosenberg's depictions of recent history interwoven with current events in the international vein, and this book begins a thrill ride that is worth taking. As with many of Rosenberg's books, the research is well done, and the themes in the story line could very well have come straight from the headlines of today's newspapers. As I read this book, I discovered the work of Rosenberg to grasp my attention and give me a sense of credibility that legitimizes his characters in their development and growth as the story progresses. This will attract readers who enjoy political intrigue stories laced with a touch of romance and real life circumstances. I am glad I discovered The Twelfth Imam, and I am ready for the sequel :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better than Expected

    In an age when particular sects of Islam certainly do seek to achieve the ultimate goal of world domination in the name of Allah, a book that seeks to understand the spiritual underbelly of such an event has hit the presses. I have been a fan of Joel Rosenberg for many years, and the fact that he saturates himself daily in the goings on of the Middle-Eastern world adds to the unintentionally prophetic plausibility of this, his most recent novel (check out his personal website sometime---the man is a genius).

    Although Rosenberg himself is a born-again Christian, and all of his books angle from that direction, The Twelfth Imam does not even cover a thread of Christianity until the second half of the book. This fact alone drew me into the story, for Rosenberg displayed for me a glimpse of the Middle-Eastern world through the eyes of an Iranian Muslim. The action and intrigue of this CIA thriller held my interest until the very last page, and I cannot wait until Rosenberg releases Part Two.

    As far as thrillers go, I think The Twelfth Imam is top notch. And as I have found in all of Rosenberg's novels, it is so refreshing to put up an action-packed novel that not only teaches us about life and faith, it does so without the filth fiction-lovers have come to expect.

    © 2011 E.T.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 196 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10