BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twelve

Average Rating 4.5
( 438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Bailey, MS

This book was absolutely fabulas!!!! i think that every twelve year old girl should read this book. It shows girls that they aren's the only one who goes through embarresing things. I also think that it will bring a girl and her mother closer together. When I read it I ...
This book was absolutely fabulas!!!! i think that every twelve year old girl should read this book. It shows girls that they aren's the only one who goes through embarresing things. I also think that it will bring a girl and her mother closer together. When I read it I had some questions for my mom that we got closer, and I felt like I could ask her amything. So i hope this brings all girls closer to their mothers.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Makes Judy Blume books seem tame!

When my 9 1/2 year-old daughter requested this book, I said, "Sure, let's go check it out!", as I'm always game for a trip to the bookstore. After reading the synopsis of this book, I figured I'd better give it a quick read before she read it. Boy, was I glad I did! ...
When my 9 1/2 year-old daughter requested this book, I said, "Sure, let's go check it out!", as I'm always game for a trip to the bookstore. After reading the synopsis of this book, I figured I'd better give it a quick read before she read it. Boy, was I glad I did! My daughter has just learned all about puberty, and it has definitely been the subject of many conversations among her girlfriends as of late; however, this book is no "Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret...", a favorite of mine when I was a similar age. This book pushes the envelope in many, many areas, including language (someone is called a "douche"), bullying situations (one girl's eyebrows are shaved off at a slumber party), and some situations that are unlikely, and may cause unneceesary anxiety in a 'tween girl(the main character has her tampon come out in a swimming pool, and then kicks it away with her foot, and tries to swim away before anyone notices).

I can appreciate the author's desire to create literature that resonates with this age group, in a way that Judy Blume resonated with my generation; however, I truly feel that Ms. Myracle has missed the mark, and in her efforts to reassure young girls navigating through an often angst-ridden time, she has int his book, created scenarios that as adults we know are unlikely, but may given already anxious 'tweens even more to worry about.

posted by 1493734 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 442 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Bailey, MS

    This book was absolutely fabulas!!!! i think that every twelve year old girl should read this book. It shows girls that they aren's the only one who goes through embarresing things. I also think that it will bring a girl and her mother closer together. When I read it I had some questions for my mom that we got closer, and I felt like I could ask her amything. So i hope this brings all girls closer to their mothers.

    55 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Twelve: Good Book!

    "Twelve", by Lauren Myracle is a good book for any girl looking for a fun read. It has entertainment, romance, some drama, and a whole load of suprises that will make your mouth drop. Winnie Perry just turned twelve and she must deal with friendship issues, jealousy, embarrassment, and "Becoming a woman". I would recomend this book to girls 10 to 14 (but no younger.)

    31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite out of the series!

    i loveeeeeee this book so much! it can be a little descriptive about sexual topics, but it's honestly not that bad. this book kept me reading and its my fave out of eleven and thirteen. i wish lauren myracle would keep on writing to 100! haha that would be so awesome. i recommend to all :]

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    for pre-teens

    Hi,I think this book every girl should read.When i finished this book it made me relize how much girls have to go through.It gets u prepared and thinking about friendship. it gives alot laughter. She goes through embarassing moements like we do.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Makes Judy Blume books seem tame!

    When my 9 1/2 year-old daughter requested this book, I said, "Sure, let's go check it out!", as I'm always game for a trip to the bookstore. After reading the synopsis of this book, I figured I'd better give it a quick read before she read it. Boy, was I glad I did! My daughter has just learned all about puberty, and it has definitely been the subject of many conversations among her girlfriends as of late; however, this book is no "Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret...", a favorite of mine when I was a similar age. This book pushes the envelope in many, many areas, including language (someone is called a "douche"), bullying situations (one girl's eyebrows are shaved off at a slumber party), and some situations that are unlikely, and may cause unneceesary anxiety in a 'tween girl(the main character has her tampon come out in a swimming pool, and then kicks it away with her foot, and tries to swim away before anyone notices).

    I can appreciate the author's desire to create literature that resonates with this age group, in a way that Judy Blume resonated with my generation; however, I truly feel that Ms. Myracle has missed the mark, and in her efforts to reassure young girls navigating through an often angst-ridden time, she has int his book, created scenarios that as adults we know are unlikely, but may given already anxious 'tweens even more to worry about.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Good for 10 year olds

    Good conversation starter for girls with pre-puberty angst. Not too sexy but deals with issues kids want to talk about.

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Teaches Girls in a Fun and Entertaining way

    This book was amazing! It is very entertaining and also etaches girls about changes that they will go through. I recommend it for girls 9-14. When i read it I became closer to my mom, I felt like I could ask her anything! It was a very good read and me and my friends all erad it togteher, its great for sharing!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Luv winnie!

    This book is like the bible to growing up!It tells tou the ups and downs of growin up. Nothing was inapropriet, just descriptive! I would recomend this book for girls who have already been through the cycle of maturing or goin into it. Maybe ages...11 to 14.please take my word for it! I have just gone through the cycle and stand by my desicion. For the moms that ar worried to by this book, dont be! They have to find out about this stuff eventually.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Is this a good book?

    I am 11 and I am not sure if I should buy it and read it. Should I ?

    8 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Twelve

    This was just a great book and I loved it. I also loved Eleven and Thirteen. So try them to.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Such a bad book! don't read!

    I read this book in a book club my teacher thought it would be a decent book for 11 year old girls. Well! we were all surprised! I was SOOOO shocked This should Not be read by children parents should explain to their kids what is going to change in their body.
    I would NEVER recomend this book to anyone.

    6 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good

    good book to read if you want to read about friendship and changes

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Completely inappropriate

    This book is completely inappropriate for 12 year old girls. My daughter brought the book to me asking what the author was talking about when she gave details about a boy having an erection. This kind of information does not need to be in this book. I was horrified that I had bought it for her. Don't buy this book for your 12 year old.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    SO AWESOME!!!

    OMG!! This is one of my fav books. It's a great book that is never boring. This would be perfect for girls ages 9 and up. It is very funny as Winnie gets her first bra, her period, and first BF!! 'Boy friend.' You will love this book even though some parts are kind of sad. But in the end, it all works out! You will seriously enjoy this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    The Car Car Review

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!! Very funny. I recommend this book to GIRLS eleven and up!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is one of the most down-to-earth, hilarious, understanding books I have ever read. I read this book when I was twelve and I was so into it. Eleven and Thirteen are also great, but I could relate to this book because of what Winnie goes through. Her giggly personality and her honesty is what makes this book magical. I believe that this is a must read. And now, from reading this book, I will read more of her books. I just love love loved it!!!!! -Nikki

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Best Book

    This is the best book. It is perfect for the age 10-14.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Stinks

    Do not even bother. The sample they barley give you any pages. :(

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Good!

    I think this is a very good book! Maybe some parts are a little inappropriate, so I would say ages 11-14 would enjoy this book. Winnie can relate to many 12 year old girls. She is in many situations that 12 year old girl would go though! I loved this book and would recommend it to many of my friends!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You might want to read this...

    Love this book, although you might want to read Eleven first! It's a follow up on Eleven, beginning exactly where she left off in the previous book. Really good book!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 442 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23