Customer Reviews for

Twelve

Average Rating 4.5
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(314)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Bailey, MS

This book was absolutely fabulas!!!! i think that every twelve year old girl should read this book. It shows girls that they aren's the only one who goes through embarresing things. I also think that it will bring a girl and her mother closer together. When I read it I ...
This book was absolutely fabulas!!!! i think that every twelve year old girl should read this book. It shows girls that they aren's the only one who goes through embarresing things. I also think that it will bring a girl and her mother closer together. When I read it I had some questions for my mom that we got closer, and I felt like I could ask her amything. So i hope this brings all girls closer to their mothers.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Makes Judy Blume books seem tame!

When my 9 1/2 year-old daughter requested this book, I said, "Sure, let's go check it out!", as I'm always game for a trip to the bookstore. After reading the synopsis of this book, I figured I'd better give it a quick read before she read it. Boy, was I glad I did! ...
When my 9 1/2 year-old daughter requested this book, I said, "Sure, let's go check it out!", as I'm always game for a trip to the bookstore. After reading the synopsis of this book, I figured I'd better give it a quick read before she read it. Boy, was I glad I did! My daughter has just learned all about puberty, and it has definitely been the subject of many conversations among her girlfriends as of late; however, this book is no "Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret...", a favorite of mine when I was a similar age. This book pushes the envelope in many, many areas, including language (someone is called a "douche"), bullying situations (one girl's eyebrows are shaved off at a slumber party), and some situations that are unlikely, and may cause unneceesary anxiety in a 'tween girl(the main character has her tampon come out in a swimming pool, and then kicks it away with her foot, and tries to swim away before anyone notices).

I can appreciate the author's desire to create literature that resonates with this age group, in a way that Judy Blume resonated with my generation; however, I truly feel that Ms. Myracle has missed the mark, and in her efforts to reassure young girls navigating through an often angst-ridden time, she has int his book, created scenarios that as adults we know are unlikely, but may given already anxious 'tweens even more to worry about.

posted by 1493734 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 439 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    Good!

    I think this is a very good book! Maybe some parts are a little inappropriate, so I would say ages 11-14 would enjoy this book. Winnie can relate to many 12 year old girls. She is in many situations that 12 year old girl would go though! I loved this book and would recommend it to many of my friends!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You might want to read this...

    Love this book, although you might want to read Eleven first! It's a follow up on Eleven, beginning exactly where she left off in the previous book. Really good book!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Best Book

    This is the best book. It is perfect for the age 10-14.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I loved this book and could not put it down. I read it all in just five days, I was so into it. Every year I read the book of the age I am going to turn on my next birthday. I definetely recommend this book to 11 or 12 year old girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    ....

    The first couple pages were just talking about BOOBS. Which made me uncomfortable, then later talking of periods and errection loosely...... I had to stop reading. ~11 year old

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    $$$

    This book is entertaining,funny,and a great read. I would reccomend for ages nine or ten and up. It talks about pueberty,love,getting your first bra,having your period,and much more! This tells you all you need to know. It is one of my favorites! I hope you get as sucked into the book as I did. THANK YOU LAUREN MYRACLE!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    HATE

    Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Soo mad

    I had to archive this book because u only get to read 8 pages

    For Example: Copyright Pages






    XO

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    LOVE LOVE LOVEEEE<3

    I loveee this book! The author writes in a voice that is extremely relatable and all of the conflicts i found very realistic. Every girl should read this book!!!! i love winnie and i have grown up with her(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    well...

    I loved the book!!! But it seems more like something an advanced reader of 10 would read or exactly that, a girl whose twelve..... I'm kinda hiding the book from my little sister until i think she is ready for the book. But if you think your sister or daughter is ready for the story about a girl going through puberty and bras then this is her book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    CHECK THIS OUT!!

    looooooove it! laugh out loud funny it helps with girls having to face hard things like growing boobs, periods,and shopping for your first bra which can be embaressing. With Winnie she makes growing up hilarious with all the mistakes and accidents. She is just soooo FUNNY! PERFECT for every growing girl i cant wait to read the next 2!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally, Amazingly Awesome

    This book helps young ladies deal with things like getting boobs and bra shopping with Mom when you bump into the school snob. It also helps you with starting you period. Luckly Winnie started hers at home, as did I, but she had to go to a swimming party while she was still "enjoying" her monthly "present". Her Tampon swelled up and she left it floating in the pool. Need help with enbarassment? READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for 12 year olds!

    This book is very funny! How Winnie went skinny dipping in camp and the rest of the girls jioned her! This book is exciting. Yet its not my favorite book. Wish it would be longer. i think you should read this book because it tells about the girls body too. So this book is really different. And how her crush almost asked her out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lauren Myracle's book, Twelye

    I recently read Twelve, along with Eleven last summer. I absolutely LOVED the book. It's great for any girl that's growing up. The author puts everyday situations into words and makes them hilarious and believeable. I found myself laughing throughout the book. Myracle's writing style is absolutely magnificent. I absolutely love her books. This is a great book for summer reading. I would not recommend putting it in a classroom as it is strictly a "girl's book". But it's great for sharing with friends. I highly recommend you clicking the "add to cart" button for this great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite books!

    This book was very good. I think every girl age 11 through 13 should read these books. They are very funny and make you think about you and your body(in a good way).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Fun, Fun, Fun!

    This book was probably my personal favorite out of the three in the series. How does Myracle do it? AMAZING! It really relates to young girls who are trying to be perfect, but it tells you that nobody's perfect, and through all of the changes you go through, you're going to make mistakes. So funny, so great! LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    FANTASTIC

    I loved the first book in this series called eleven, When the second book in this series which is called twelve came out I was like, Yeah baby! This is what I'm talking about! This book is exactly what my life is like and I could not put it down! Every girl who is twelve or is going to turn twelve soon should definately read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    cool

    i just finshed reading it today and it....great. i'm going through what she is going through and it hard getting nagged all the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Twelve Totally Twist's Things Up!

    OMG! I read, Eleven, and I just had to read Twelve! This book shows the changes you have when your twelve. Each chapter gets more humourus and exctiting! I love this book s much I finished it in two days!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    OUTSTANDING!

    this is one of the best books i have ever read in my whole life!! it was way better than the first one. i can sooo relate to her!!! i deffinately reccommend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 439 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22