Customer Reviews for

Twelve

Average Rating 4.5
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(314)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Bailey, MS

This book was absolutely fabulas!!!! i think that every twelve year old girl should read this book. It shows girls that they aren's the only one who goes through embarresing things. I also think that it will bring a girl and her mother closer together. When I read it I ...
This book was absolutely fabulas!!!! i think that every twelve year old girl should read this book. It shows girls that they aren's the only one who goes through embarresing things. I also think that it will bring a girl and her mother closer together. When I read it I had some questions for my mom that we got closer, and I felt like I could ask her amything. So i hope this brings all girls closer to their mothers.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Makes Judy Blume books seem tame!

When my 9 1/2 year-old daughter requested this book, I said, "Sure, let's go check it out!", as I'm always game for a trip to the bookstore. After reading the synopsis of this book, I figured I'd better give it a quick read before she read it. Boy, was I glad I did! ...
When my 9 1/2 year-old daughter requested this book, I said, "Sure, let's go check it out!", as I'm always game for a trip to the bookstore. After reading the synopsis of this book, I figured I'd better give it a quick read before she read it. Boy, was I glad I did! My daughter has just learned all about puberty, and it has definitely been the subject of many conversations among her girlfriends as of late; however, this book is no "Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret...", a favorite of mine when I was a similar age. This book pushes the envelope in many, many areas, including language (someone is called a "douche"), bullying situations (one girl's eyebrows are shaved off at a slumber party), and some situations that are unlikely, and may cause unneceesary anxiety in a 'tween girl(the main character has her tampon come out in a swimming pool, and then kicks it away with her foot, and tries to swim away before anyone notices).

I can appreciate the author's desire to create literature that resonates with this age group, in a way that Judy Blume resonated with my generation; however, I truly feel that Ms. Myracle has missed the mark, and in her efforts to reassure young girls navigating through an often angst-ridden time, she has int his book, created scenarios that as adults we know are unlikely, but may given already anxious 'tweens even more to worry about.

posted by 1493734 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 314 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally, Amazingly Awesome

    This book helps young ladies deal with things like getting boobs and bra shopping with Mom when you bump into the school snob. It also helps you with starting you period. Luckly Winnie started hers at home, as did I, but she had to go to a swimming party while she was still "enjoying" her monthly "present". Her Tampon swelled up and she left it floating in the pool. Need help with enbarassment? READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for 12 year olds!

    This book is very funny! How Winnie went skinny dipping in camp and the rest of the girls jioned her! This book is exciting. Yet its not my favorite book. Wish it would be longer. i think you should read this book because it tells about the girls body too. So this book is really different. And how her crush almost asked her out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lauren Myracle's book, Twelye

    I recently read Twelve, along with Eleven last summer. I absolutely LOVED the book. It's great for any girl that's growing up. The author puts everyday situations into words and makes them hilarious and believeable. I found myself laughing throughout the book. Myracle's writing style is absolutely magnificent. I absolutely love her books. This is a great book for summer reading. I would not recommend putting it in a classroom as it is strictly a "girl's book". But it's great for sharing with friends. I highly recommend you clicking the "add to cart" button for this great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite books!

    This book was very good. I think every girl age 11 through 13 should read these books. They are very funny and make you think about you and your body(in a good way).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Fun, Fun, Fun!

    This book was probably my personal favorite out of the three in the series. How does Myracle do it? AMAZING! It really relates to young girls who are trying to be perfect, but it tells you that nobody's perfect, and through all of the changes you go through, you're going to make mistakes. So funny, so great! LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    FANTASTIC

    I loved the first book in this series called eleven, When the second book in this series which is called twelve came out I was like, Yeah baby! This is what I'm talking about! This book is exactly what my life is like and I could not put it down! Every girl who is twelve or is going to turn twelve soon should definately read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    cool

    i just finshed reading it today and it....great. i'm going through what she is going through and it hard getting nagged all the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Twelve Totally Twist's Things Up!

    OMG! I read, Eleven, and I just had to read Twelve! This book shows the changes you have when your twelve. Each chapter gets more humourus and exctiting! I love this book s much I finished it in two days!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    OUTSTANDING!

    this is one of the best books i have ever read in my whole life!! it was way better than the first one. i can sooo relate to her!!! i deffinately reccommend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Ages

    Fir the woman Emily James I don't think a 3yr. old should read this even if they are advanced it has some mature content about puberty and developing. The ages to read this book 9,10,11,12,13,14 and through the teens because this is when you experience what happens to the main charachter Winnie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Wat up gurls

    Greatest book ever. Buy it NOW!!!!!!!!! And BTW winnie did not just go oh im going to just shove this tampon in my u know what"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Twelve!!!

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Good book

    I thought it was interesting but kind of weird especially when Winnie gets her ... period. But it was a really good book and i would recommend it. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    BIRTHDAY

    It was my birthday yay and i am finally twelve when people start to take me more serious

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Love it!!!

    I have read 10,11,12,13, and 13+1 and love them all if you do not know to get it or not start with 10 and then you won't want to stop readding the rest of the siries

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Awesome

    Anyone can read this book.it is awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Winnies growing up!

    In my opinoin winnie kinda started her puberty stuff a little early.i think thirteen would have been more apporite but its still a really good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Twelve

    This book is about a girl named winnie perry,shee is growing up an entering womanhood! Shes getting her peroid going bra shopping and falling for a guy named larson but being a preeten is really hard find out all winne promlems in this halious book
    I would recomed this book to girls who are 11-13 this book you should defintly reed and enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    TO BELOW

    It is not inapropriate. It just has stuff to do with growing up. You should totaly nuy it if you wamt. It is my fave one of the sereies. Btw i lov e all books by laure myracle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    TAP HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was the best book ever i only have 2 books off hers if u are great u will respond and put love ya on the haeding

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 314 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16