Customer Reviews for

Twelve

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

for teens, not adults

ok for all you adults saying it was a bad book, its only cuz you dont understand it. i woudlnt recommend this book to an adult, it's way over your heads. For teens, though, it's one of the best books ever. Teens can connect to it on a totally different level than adul...
ok for all you adults saying it was a bad book, its only cuz you dont understand it. i woudlnt recommend this book to an adult, it's way over your heads. For teens, though, it's one of the best books ever. Teens can connect to it on a totally different level than adults or lil jr high kids. Also, it's got a great story line and is true to wat life is today. trust me, if you're a teen, you'll love it.

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dull Dull Dull!

This was quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. The characters were very flat and had absolutely no personalities. The chapters were extremely short - 98 in all and the book is less than 250 pages. The title is a bit deceiving because 'twelve' was only menti...
This was quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. The characters were very flat and had absolutely no personalities. The chapters were extremely short - 98 in all and the book is less than 250 pages. The title is a bit deceiving because 'twelve' was only mentioned a handful of times and only one character used it. I think all the praise around this book is due to the author being so young. Big deal! So he proves he's got a good vocabulary and is a bit more observant than your average teen. This book might appeal to teens and those who have very short attention spans, but for people who want a good read...definitely don't waste your time with this book.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    for teens, not adults

    ok for all you adults saying it was a bad book, its only cuz you dont understand it. i woudlnt recommend this book to an adult, it's way over your heads. For teens, though, it's one of the best books ever. Teens can connect to it on a totally different level than adults or lil jr high kids. Also, it's got a great story line and is true to wat life is today. trust me, if you're a teen, you'll love it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Dull Dull Dull!

    This was quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. The characters were very flat and had absolutely no personalities. The chapters were extremely short - 98 in all and the book is less than 250 pages. The title is a bit deceiving because 'twelve' was only mentioned a handful of times and only one character used it. I think all the praise around this book is due to the author being so young. Big deal! So he proves he's got a good vocabulary and is a bit more observant than your average teen. This book might appeal to teens and those who have very short attention spans, but for people who want a good read...definitely don't waste your time with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    unimpressive

    i just read this book, and it is very, very poorly written. one would think that with all the editorial help that the author's connections get him (his parents are rich and famous in the publishing industry; hunter thompson, joan didion, and richard price are all friends of the family; his godfather OWNS GROVE ATLANTIC, the publishing house which published the book) the book would be a lot better than it is. mcdonell can't even write a creative sentence--the structure for almost every single sentence in the novel is the same. noun, verb, object. noun, verb, object. and so on. and the drug trip (in which the author neglects to mention which drug his character is tripping on, apparently because he doesn't have any experiences of his own to draw on) is spectacularly unconvincing. i have to think that hunter thompson's blurb must be slightly sarcastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    very disappointing... don't believe the hype

    i really, really wanted to like this novel. the author was featured in entertainment weekly, and its comparisons to catcher in the rye really made me interested. now i see how undeserved those comparisons are. the things the characters do... i would say that they are out of character, but the characters are never fully developed... things just happen. i think in a few years, we are all going to see just how dated all of the imagery in the novel is... a nelly song that no one even listens to now is prominently featured, as are constant references to 'hip' clothing lines. that was the beauty of the catcher in the rye... i read it in high school (just 2 years ago), and it still made sense even though it was set in the 1950s. twelve does not make sense now, and it definitely wont in a few years... and the ending was horrendous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Quick Enlightening Read!

    Great book, easy and quick to read. Makes you really think about what goes on outside of your own world. Author did a great job tying the story lines together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible Novel

    As much as people will rave and rave about how good of it, I know better. I've read a lot of books and this does not come close to the good ones I have read. There is no real plot, nothing to keep you guessing on where the story is going to take you next. Chacters are all over the place and very undefined. I haven't gotten to the ending yet but since there is no real plot the ending is just going to be a dead end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Lacking Character Development

    I thought the plot was really good and it was worth reading. But the part I like most about books is getting to know the characters which the author didn't offer in this novel. The ending was also very abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    AMAZING!

    I was first intrigued by this book because of the movie trailer. The movie trailer sort of seemed like an episode of gossip girl but more in depth with drugs. But anyways this is my favorite book of all time. I recommend this to anyone and everyone! The ending was surprising. I wont give anything away but it was totally unexpected. I cannot wait til the movie comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Wow.

    I have read many books about drugs and dealers, but this one is different. This goes into the past of the dealer, White Mike, and looks at what made him into the shut off person he is now. Chace Crawford is going to play him in the upcoming movie and I am really interested to see how it turns out. The style the book is written is is interesting and keeps you on your toes. I recommend this to anyone looking for a thrilling book with a twist at the end. It is a really easy read that you can do in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    none

    I started out reading this book for a class project (we had to select our own books from a library) and ended up finishing it the night I got it! I'm not really into all the books about drugs and what not, but this book was REALLY good and kept me reading! The ending is very shocking but also very believable and I would quite highly recommend this book to anyone between the ages of 16 and 30! (Actually, I think I've already recommended it to all of my friends!) Immediately after I finished this book, I looked online to see if there were any other books by Nick McDonell and I'm starting the second one today. If you enjoy reading books about crazy kids you'll love this. If you enjoy reading in general, you'll love this. And if you need something to read quickly without trying to analyze it, you'll love this. Twelve is one of the best books I've read in a while!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    while my movie's on pause...

    I bought this book a year ago while I was on vacation and I read it right away. I figured that it'd be fun, since I'm a sucker for those 'violence, drugs, and sex' books, and I was right. I really enjoyed reading it. It's vivid and energetic. The story just sort of...feels as dirty and messed up as all of the characters are. I don't really know how to describe it. The fact that McDonell could produce something like this at such a young age makes me crazy with envy. I'm 17, and all I've done is a couple short stories and innumerable essays. Hunter S. Thompson and Joan Didion are talented writers, and if they speak so highly of it, no body should argue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    An Easy Read!

    This book a impressive coming from someone so young. The characters are a bit premature, but overall the book gives a good overall concept of the modern teens of today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Good stuff

    Tour de force! Excellent book. Fresh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    good ass book

    i think this is a good a$$ book it was easy to go along with .and im one of those with no patience

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    'Twelve' really was an amazing story

    I used to hate reading till I found this amazing book, the stuff that goes down in this book is something I can really relate to in my child hood.. and although I am only fifteen years old I am forced to reach adult hood at a young age. This is by far the best book i've ever read. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down I read through this book at least five times the first month I had it. I would love to read some more of mcdonells literature if he writes anymore. I think every person should read this book it really was a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Adults need to read

    I read this book based on a recommendation by a friend. As a teenager it is very hard to make adults realize things we must deal with these days, from drugs to sex and everything in between. This book was amazingly written and totally truthful. This is real reality reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    The truth hurts...scares and keeps you turning the pages

    The story in its entirety will keep you turning the pages. It ends too abruptly, otherwise readers will be quite pleased. Individuals who know not of the fast lane may find the contents a bit unbelievable. Sadly, bits and pieces of McDowell's characters reflect images of those I know or have known.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    Lover of Fiction

    Majoring in English, and being an avid lover of an assortment of fiction novels, I decided to purchase and read Twelve. Boy, am I sorry. I have to admit, this may be the absolute WORST book that I have ever read! Am so sorry that I wasted my time and money on this book, for it is an untalented piece and poorly written. It is actually annoying to read. A real struggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Shocking

    Twelve is one of those riveting novels that you cannot put down because it's so real. McDonnel pulls you into the characters' lives and forces you to see reality.. what's actually going on in teenagers' lives. It's sad (and shocking) to read what is happening in society, but it's true and you have to appreciate that fact. Read this novel not because of it's 'happy ending' but because of its style and appeal to all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    Finally a Young Autohr who knows what he's doing

    This is by far one of the greatest books I have ever layed my eyes on. I couldn't put it down, even if I wanted to. It captures one with interesting characters and keeps one attached to a truthful look at young idividuals lives. It may help to be a teenager to really appreciate the piece. I really hope that McDonell continues his career in writing. I am waiting for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4