Customer Reviews for

Twelve

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

for teens, not adults

ok for all you adults saying it was a bad book, its only cuz you dont understand it. i woudlnt recommend this book to an adult, it's way over your heads. For teens, though, it's one of the best books ever. Teens can connect to it on a totally different level than adul...
ok for all you adults saying it was a bad book, its only cuz you dont understand it. i woudlnt recommend this book to an adult, it's way over your heads. For teens, though, it's one of the best books ever. Teens can connect to it on a totally different level than adults or lil jr high kids. Also, it's got a great story line and is true to wat life is today. trust me, if you're a teen, you'll love it.

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dull Dull Dull!

This was quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. The characters were very flat and had absolutely no personalities. The chapters were extremely short - 98 in all and the book is less than 250 pages. The title is a bit deceiving because 'twelve' was only menti...
This was quite possibly the worst book I have ever read. The characters were very flat and had absolutely no personalities. The chapters were extremely short - 98 in all and the book is less than 250 pages. The title is a bit deceiving because 'twelve' was only mentioned a handful of times and only one character used it. I think all the praise around this book is due to the author being so young. Big deal! So he proves he's got a good vocabulary and is a bit more observant than your average teen. This book might appeal to teens and those who have very short attention spans, but for people who want a good read...definitely don't waste your time with this book.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Lacking Character Development

    I thought the plot was really good and it was worth reading. But the part I like most about books is getting to know the characters which the author didn't offer in this novel. The ending was also very abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    An Easy Read!

    This book a impressive coming from someone so young. The characters are a bit premature, but overall the book gives a good overall concept of the modern teens of today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    a little overrated-but true!

    I think all the hype over this novel is a little overplayed. Granted, the young man who wrote this is quite gifted and talented. Yet there are many points to this book that just leave one feeling unfulfilled. Perhaps, that is in keeping with the entire theme of the novel. Either way, the book kept me turning the pages (I finished it in three hours). The use of actual locations paints a vivid portrait for all those who are acquainted with Manhattan's Upper East Side (Especially Mimi's pizzareia). The best part was the reality of this novel. I can vouch from personal experience that the character Claude is based on an actual person, a boarding school student who shall remain nameless. I know because my friends and I from a lower income area of New York once got into a fight with a bunch of these Upper Easties after a friend of mine was assaulted with a Calude-esque weapon. During the ensuing battle, the character base of Claude used the fish-hook technique. We later learned of his episodes dealing with his display of his pet snake. The book is great for readers who know the turf McDonnel speaks of, but may be a little hard to follow for a 40 year old woman in Montant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Decent first effort, but there's something better...

    I have read two different books by teenage authors on the high school experience. Each takes a vastly different approach on the darker side of teenage life. "Twelve" is a satire of sorts, a quick read and the work of an 18 year old. McDonnell seems to have a passion for writing, but his ideals seem to aim to shock more than developing its story and its main points. I am one to believe that McDonnell is aiming to impress people with his views of teenage life and have them go "An 18 year old wrote this?" Meanwhile, Zach Borden, a 16 year old author, also takes a stab at teenage life in the first book of his "Alter The Stars" saga. The story takes place over four years, and the first book covers the first two years. Borden's darker side of teenage life doesn't deal with violence or drugs, but rather, insecurities and the pains of the human heart, how people deal with tough situations, adaptating themselves into new environments and a far more realistic as well as true perspective of the roots of people. "Twelve" is a decent book if you're going to spend an hour in a bookstore and want something to read (I finished it in about an hour), but for a more satisfying read, I would go with "Alter The Stars." Not only is it more than double in size, but it's more carefully structured, original, touching, realistic an

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    over rated

    I was hoping to find the next Catcher in the Rye, as it was described, but it simply seemed to be and 18 year old trying to write the next Catcher in the Rye. It wasn't as shocking to a 15 year old as it was to adults and I therefor was thoroughly let down. Don't get your hopes up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Good, but not JD Salinger

    A friend recommended this book to me, giving me the impression that it was amazing - a modern day Catcher In The Rye. I heard it received a great review from the New York Times and since I now attend a private school in Westchester I was interested in reading it since the author went to Dalton in the city. While I was reading it, I thought it was entertaining, funny and provacative. However, the ending did not satisfy me. It is ended somewhat abrubtly and does not allow any reflection. There are no further insights or interesting events. I was not looking for a resolution, but I do like to walk away from the book feeling, "Wow. That was good." Instead, I walked away feeling, "...Eh..." It is interesting to know that a 17 or 18 year old wrote this book, but knowing that, I can't help but wonder if he just made ambiguous comments to lead the reader to think he was incorporating symbolism into his novel. I am also unsure if what he wrote was really imaginative versus an embellishment of the lives of people he knows. It is provacative, but it is no Catcher In The Rye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Not bad!!!

    I thought this book was pretty good but not as good as people are saying it is. It is one of those books everyone says is great and so your expectaions are high and the book just can't live up to them. It is fast paced, easy to read, interesting, but predicatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Roll The Dice

    Interesting book. Incredible knowledge and reference to current pop culture. Great character development. Unfortunately, this book will build you up and leave you hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Shows Talent

    I just read the first chapter, so this review should not be taken as gospel. I felt the writer was descriptive and had somewhat of a story to tell. What disturbs me the most is the hype he is receiving, when there are brilliant novelists, who are extremely talented and have been pecking away at their typewriters for years ad infinitum... but hear ye! Hear ye! For along comes a little glimmer of hope that here is the next J.D. Salinger and that he will rise to a height above the rest of the hacks that are also roasted on the pit of praise that is simply a brain-washing mechine for the masses, who, incidently spend more time watching over-rated movies like American Beauty,etc. then they do reading serious fiction. Sorry, but one does get bitter before the Big Chill Descends. Besides, what are the sufferings of the rich compared to the poor who freeze to death in ghetto apartments that lack both heat and human dignity?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    Drugs,Sex,and Designer clothes

    Twelve was a fast-paced and engrossing read. I sat in the store for four hours and read the whole thing. Its strong point is the overall feel and image it gives to the empty lives of the rich kids who are supposed to have everything. It made me almost physically sick to read about the superficial lives run by popularity and money. The characters were not well developed and the ending was disgusting and over the top. It would probably be expected from a 17 year old author who is trying too hard to impress and shock. He does have moments of beautiful imagery when it is not lost in a adolescent akwardness to sound impressive. I loved the description of the christmas lights on the trees at night. If you are curious, read it, it's short. It gives a chilling insight into the minds of the young elite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    Excess in Extremity

    I read this book in three hours. It's short, and somewhat very simple. Most of the novel is written in present tense, which, at times can be annoying and tedious. Overall, the book is surprisingly similar to most teen life today although I think most of it was a bit over the top. The final scenes were obviously an attempt to reawaken half forgotten fears of Columbine-esque events. A good read, and a solid first effort. I hope to see more of Mr. McDonell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1