Customer Reviews for

Twelve Mighty Orphans: The Inspiring True Story of the Mighty Mites Who Ruled Texas Football

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I purchased this book for a 94 year old woman who with her 4 si


    I purchased this book for a 94 year old woman who with her 4 sisters lived in this masonic school until high school graduation. According to her, some of the things were untrue in this book.
    I was less impressed with the author of this book recently being arrested for his 3ed or 4th DUI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Best book

    Best football book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT Football Book

    Better than what my title suggests - it is just a great book aboout people overcoming through grit, determination and basic values. As usual, Dent offers a superb story about the boys at the Home, a Texas orphanage during the Great Depression. Working with no equipment, being vastly undersized, dealing with tremendous emotional traumas and initially knowing very little about the game of football, these boys mature through the guidance of Rusty Russell who could have coached elsewhere for greater glory and money. Instead, he took the boys under his wing and they collectively rode to well deserved glory. Fabulous book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Not As True As You Think. . .

    I am a family member of the Dickensons,and while this is a well written book, and very entertaining, it is not true in the least way. It portrays Ray as stupid, and Tex as a momma's boy and an altogether baby. Furthermore, it mistakes events, and calls many people by the wrong names! Mr. Dent, next time you want to make a story and sell it as true, get your facts right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring and Touching, A Glimpse into Texas and Football History

    First let me say that I'm not a big sports fan. I married one of the biggest sports fans in Texas and it's been interesting for both of us as I try to learn more about sports and my husband tries to teach me. Reading Twelve Mighty Orphans was a great history lesson for me not just in Fort Worth's history but also in the history of football. Jim Dent did an excellent job of describing the players' personal history and wrapping you in the story of their lives before the orphanage and growing up in the orphanage. I got a little lost in all the football talk, with the plays and passes and just general football language I didn't understand, but that's nothing against Mr. Dent and has everything to do with me and my lack of detailed knowledge of the sport. What I really enjoyed most was learning more about Fort Worth's history. It was very enjoyable to learn about Amon G Carter and see him as a real person. After reading the book, I also enjoyed driving around Fort Worth and looking at some of the places mentioned in the book. I've never given a second thought to them before as I drove past but now it's great to know so much history is wrapped up in this town. The book definitely gives more life to Fort Worth and the game of football. For someone who is not that knowledgeable in sports or the history of Fort Worth, Mr. Dent did an excellent job of keeping me captivated and interested in the story. I also loved reading about how Mr. Dent came to learn about the orphans and his journey through the research. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a touching story of determination as well as anyone just looking for a little glimpse into football history or Texas history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Tale that transcends the sports genre

    Jim Dent's "Twelve Mighty Orphans" tells the story of a man who brought life to Texas and the nation during the Great Depression in a uniquely powerful way. Coach Rusty Russell dedicated absolutely every second to guiding destitute orphans to glory. The biggest underdogs in history (although the smallest in stature) worked their way into the hearts of virtual everyone and became the light that guided them through the depression. Dent discusses the heartbreaking and inspiring tales that surrounded the scrappiest runts in Texas and how they triumphed over legends the likes of Davey O'Brien.
    I was completely captivated by this book and I wholeheartedly agree with Verne Lundquist who said it might be "the best sports book ever written." Yet I hardly feel as if I am doing the book any justice by calling it a sports book. Football serves only as the tool Coach Russell uses to enlighten the orphans and and anyone who was touched by them. The true subject of the story is the indefatigable spirit of the downtrodden and the open hearts Americans. I could hardly believe that such sad and funny stories could be true. Jim Dent produced a brilliantly written piece of literature. His storytelling ability and voice establish his excellence as an author. He introduces the characters with their often heartbreaking and always riveting histories. Although dedicating most of the pages to touching drama, Dent manages to effectively bring justice to the historical significance of Russell's genius to the sport of football. Coach Russell was the innovator of the now extremely popular spread offense. It shows his true greatness by stating that he dominated rich football powerhouse schools of 1000+ students with a group of 12 orphans who were typically outweighed by around 50 pounds per man. The unbeleivable facts of the book are what captivated me the most. Readers are drawn to the book by the promise of exciting action (which is delivered) and are surprised by one of the most inspirational stories in written word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    My Family

    This story just grips my heart not only for the Coach and the children. But due to the fact that my family members were/ are a "Mighty Mite"... Dewitt Coulter. I am so proud to be related to him. My mother gave every one in our family these for Christmas.....All 168 of us...Praytors and Coulters in Lindale, TX.<BR/>This is truley a story that will grip your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Definitely a 'movie' contender

    Heartwarming story of perseverance, strive to be the best and a 'never give up' lesson! Loved it. A wonderful book for a MOVIE....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Well written

    This story shows that heart matters. It was written very well, and is very inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    My father was at the 'Home' during the days Jim Dent wrote about. Reading about that era brought back all the names and stories my Dad told me. The 'Mighty Mites' were a very special group of boys and girls. Thanks for making them live again for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Great Read

    Could not put this book down. After success in our small school in football, this book brought back all those emotions I felt then. This story if not equal to, is a close second to 'Remember The Titans'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    Every 'Home Kid' should read this book. I graduated from Masonic Home in 1976. Brought back great memories!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    It's real, it's true, it's inspiring, enjoyable to read.

    It's about the 1920's to the mid 1940's. About children who had been sent to an orphanage, a difficult place to be at a difficult time in our country's history. A man, who was an educator, but had used football as his ticket off the farm and into college, who thought football might do the same for the Masonic Home. Jim Dent's extensive research with the people in the book as well as the many archival articles, gives real life and meaning to the pages. The story itself was the central figure of the book, and Dent brought it out with superb writing. It's about people overcoming obstacles, nurturing each other, making a difference, and having very little but making the most of it. There was a reason that this little football team of 12 players had the newspapers all over the country covering their games, and although they had few 'home' fans because of the small size of the orphanage- school, seemingly the entire state of Texas adopted these kids as their own, their hope during the depression. Its not a football book, it's a 'life' book, and everyone 'including children, especially athletes' would gain real perspective from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2