Customer Reviews for

Twelve Ordinary Men: How the Master Shaped His Disciples for Greatness, and What He Wants to Do with You

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Jesus chooses

    I loved this book. It let me know that it is Jesus who chooses and He never makes a mistake in His choice. I was uplifted and encouraged that I can go beyond my mistakes and continue to walk with Christ. Thank you very much. I needed this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    I can be useful, too!

    John F. MacArthur's done it again! He delves into the lives of the Twelve Apostles (somewhat humorous, at times), and how Jesus transforms them into bigger-than-life leaders. I found myself trying to identify with one apostle or another. This book gives you a sense of value, knowing that Jesus can use me, too! Twelve Ordinary Men is a must-read book! I could not put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    does not work with nook color

    This is the only book I have found that doesn't work with nook color. Barnes and Noble helped me endlessly with the problem and were professional. When I contacted the Macarthur web site about the problem as a favor (although Barnes n Noble already agreed to credit me) they kissed it off. Very disappointed in John Macarthur. I believe I purchased his last book.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    A Fine, Meaty Book.

    Twelve Ordinary Men
    by Dr. John MacArthur.
    We read this fine meaty book with our KJV and NIV open our our laps, my Mother and I. It was a great way to meet the Apostles, in all their Humanness and yet touched by Gods hand and used to mightily to serve Him. This book gave solid Scriptural teaching, context of what each verse meant, and a look at the culture of Israel when the Apostles were chosen. This provided insights into Just how powerful the Gospel is when a Zealot, Simon, can serve God with a tax collector, Matthew. If Christ had not saved Simon he would have killed Matthew.
    I had not understood why each Gospel lists the Twelve men with slightly different names and this book was really helpful in understanding that some of the men had two different names, Like Matthew was also called Levi. We had to make notes in our Bible as to who was who!!!

    The thing dearest to me about Dr. MacArthurs book is the Rich Tapestry of Scripture he weaves. He hunts throughout the whole Bible for every things that he needs to explain a difficult passage in context. For example, Why Did James and John want to Call down fire on the people in Luke 9 verse Fifty Four? When Dr. MacArthur points out that they were remembering how Elijah as recorded for us in Two Kings Chapter One, had called down fire upon the arrogant pagan army captain (who was coming to arrest him) and his men in the same area hundreds of years before and they wanted to do the same, then we understand. James and John received a rebuke for this, because it was not the time or place to call down fire, and they did not have the authority to do that. Later on in Acts some of the people from this place were converted, and we can be glad that God had mercy on them.
    I really love the way Dr. MacArthur does this, bringing Scripture from all the Bible together to illuminate the text he is working on. Dear Peter, the brash, bold young man who chopped an ear off the man who was going to arrest and hurt his Lord, this same Peter would write the wonderful letters of One and Two Peter! Dr. MacArthur rightly says that God made Peter with leadership woven into him, but without Salvation he would have led in the wrong direction. Once touched by Grace then he became a leader of the Early Church for the glory of God.
    And then, according to tradition, Peter would die by Crucifixion, crucified upside down because he was unworthy of His Lords Death.
    The way that each mans story ended with his death was perfect- I always think that it is perfect when a Christians story ends in Death, because for us that is the step into Gods Presence. As Doctor MacArthur said, "Thomas was speared to death in India. How fitting was this death for the man who had not believed His Lord was Risen until he touched the spear mark in JESUS side, and it was a fitting death for a man who longed to be back with his Lord again."
    This Book is going to my 16 year old cousin this Christmas, because I want him to know that God uses young, Bold, Brave, Immature men. God wants those years of their life. He wants all of our lives! Give them to God and He will use you now, and God will make you conformed into the Image of Christ.
    God Bless you!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    YES PLEASE SISTERS AND BROTHERS IN CHRIST JESUS GET THIS BOOK

    THIS BOOK WILL TRULY TRULY CHANGE AND BLESS YOUR LIFE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Do you think you know all there is to know about the first 12 disciples? Read this book and you might find out differently. John MacArthur packs a lot of information in a fairly short book. I would recommend this book to anyone studying Jesus' ministry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    a man must read

    This book is a must read for all men who love the lord and for all men who feel they just don't add up.If you have ever felt like no!God can't use me not after what I done and after who I have been or who I am, then you must read this book.You can feel the bond this book creates in you the reader and the ordineriness of the disciples.We all face the doubters when we give our life to God but this book soothes the doubters sting and shows that each of the twelve chosen were chosen because they were different and were not the normal society chosen one that should accompany someone as special as Jesus.Thanks be to God that he looked beyond their faults and saw all their needs and how their faults and abnormalities would show the world that because of who you are and sometimes who you aren't that God chose you.This is the best book I have ever read and certainly a good book for the babes in religion that are not sure of there call what ever it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    History, understanding and application

    There are three aspects I like bout this book. First is the fact that it provides a solid historical background of the twelve most influential men ¿ aside from Jesus ¿ in world history, complete with understanding on a personal level. Second, the author will teach you how these ordinary men were used of God; what they did and what motivated their actions. Third, MacArthur teaches how we can learn from them and apply what we learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Twelve Ordinary Men

    such a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3