Customer Reviews for

Twelve Times Blessed

Average Rating 2.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Very disappointed

    Like some of the other reviewers, I was very disappointed. I have read many other Mitchard books, and have enjoyed them, but I found this one very lengthy and draining. I kept reading, hoping the story would gel enough for some satisfaction out of the story, but it kept plodding along. I found it frustrating and I, too, just wanted to shake True out of her blathering. I found the dialogue unrealistic, too. Not Mitchard's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    Anyone else noticing the technical INCONGRUITIES?

    I almost don't feel it's fair to give stars to this book yet as I'm not finished with it, but there's an inconsistency in it that drove me crazy. Early in the True-Hank relationship, True asks Hank where he was when he heard JFK was killed, and is shocked when she only realizes a while after he begins to tell his story ('I had just moved here and started the business,' etc.) that he thinks she means JFK JR! But why on earth would she ask him a 'cultural touchstone' question like that when she HERSELF (given that she's 43 and the story is clearly set in 2002) would only have been 4 years old when JFK Sr. was shot? The author has to realize that 'Where were you when Kennedy was killed?' is no longer an 'inevitable question' most adults ask each other, unless they're over 50 or so. Many of today's adults in their 20s and 30s were not even born yet, and many in their 40s are too young to remember. Jacquelyn Mitchard has her 43-year-old character thinking with her author's 53-year-old brain (or thereabouts). OOPS! I'm 42 now and was 40 in 2002, and I'm not old enough to remember JFK Sr. I would have picked a different cultural touchstone, like having the characters run into some John Lennon on the radio and True asking Hank where he was when he heard Lennon was shot. And he admits he was only 12 at the time, and had no clue who the Beatles even were...THAT would have made more sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Save your money

    Don't buy this book! I normally don't finish reading bad books. But I read this complete book. I kept waiting for it to get better. It didn't. It was predictable and just plain boring. I was disappointed because I have read two other books by this author and enjoyed them. But this book was 544 pages too long. Again, save your money or buy a different book by Mitchard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Superficial Character Make Selfish Choices

    Implausible and overlong, Twelve Times Blessed was not what I expected from Mitchard, whose sensitive Deep End Of The Ocean must have been a fluke. In this novel, the sentimentally named True, a widowed entrepreneur with a flourishing cottage industry of handcrafted baby gifts, derails her generative, bustling life and the lives of her helpful but domineering mother and precocious ten year old son when she falls for a philandering restaurantaur, Hank. Hank is the most confounding character in this tangled mess--moody, hateful, unfaithful, selfish, and yet mysteriously "alluring" to the heroine. He withholds affection and attention from her son, resents her business success and close relationships with her employees, and suddenly transforms (temporarily) into a decent stepdad, only to erupt in vitriole at the merest suggestion of difficulty. THe bulk of this 500+ page novel is spent by True pining over her wretched beloved to the degree that she neglects to notice her son's appendix has burst until he collapses days later. Her choices are portrayed as courageous and well-deserved, yet they come across as shallow, lascivious, and ungrateful to those who loved and supported her in the intervening years between her first husband's death and her second husband's fall from grace. Dreadful, pandering, and an insult to the ostensible intelligence of the characters and the actual intelligence of the reader. Read Elizabeth Berg instead, for a woman's story with heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Not as bad as other reviewers think...

    If I had read these reviews first, I probably wouldn't have touched this book. I do agree with some of the complaints - why didn't the main female character do more to communicate with her younger husband once things started to fall apart? And why wasn't she more dismayed when he (Hank) didn't seem to show up when both she and her son were quite ill? Still, the book kept my interest. I enjoyed a lot of the self-revelations that both protagonists went through - that seemed realistic. However, True's mother and her past behavior should have been figured out by both True and her brother far sooner. That whole situation, which came to a nasty climax near the book's end, was probably the most unrealistic part of the novel. On the whole, though, if you are a fan of the author, I think it was worth the read. Some of the lesser characters were quite fleshed-out and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    Terribly written -- not to mention hate-filled

    A great deal of this book is devoted to Christian-bashing. The sole purpose of one of the characters is to serve as a vessel for the author's hatred of evangelical Christians. The character is introduced as a 'super-Christian' who homeschools her children and is revealed to be a malicious, lying, violent, child-hating gossip. (Would Mitchard have created a 'super-Jewish' or 'super-Muslim' character like this?) At another point, the main character and her best friend find themselves in a bed-and-breakfast with needlepoint Scripture verses on the walls, which they find frightening and disturbing. These are only two examples. Odd from an author who preaches 'tolerance' in her newspaper column ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    One of the worst books I've ever read

    I bought this book based on other works of the author that I had enjoyed, but to say that I was disappointed is an understatement. It is poorly written, the characters are completely unbelievable, and the dialogue doesn't come close to sounding like the way real people would talk. It feels like the author couldn't decide whether she wanted to write a dramatic work, a comedy, or a trashy romance novel. It also feels like she was making up the characters as she went along...with the result that we feel nothing for any of these people. The fact that this book is 700 pages feels like a punishment. It seems like the longest twelve months I've ever experienced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    This book was disappointing to the bitter end!

    I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book because I have enjoyed reading Mitchard's other books. Unfortunately, this one did not even come close to my expectations. To make matters worse, I wouldn't even let myself quit reading, thinking maybe it was me and hoping it would get better. It never did! First of all, I thought True was a whiny, insecure, and two-faced character when it came to Hank. I kept thinking, 'For God's sake, Woman, tell him how you really feel and then work out the problems instead of constantly whining about them.' Second, I thought much of the dialogue was contrived and some of the narrative difficult to follow. I had to go back multiple times to try to figure out what Mitchard was trying to convey. And last, but not least, I thought the main characters were just not believable. What a disappointing read--but, now I remember, so was Theory of Relativity. I think Mitchard peaked with Most Wanted and held it together with Deep End of the Ocean. However, I'm bailing. Mitchard is off my list of favorite authors. I have read review after review, and they were all good! Am I the only one out here who feels this way?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    MUST READ

    i've read various types of women-fiction books, and by far this one is the most realistic and thrilling book to read. when i was half way through, i already went on the web to search for more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    READ WITH CHARM AND UNDERSTANDING

    Jackie Mitchard won a host of fans and hearts with her appealing novel, 'The Deep End Of The Ocean' (also brought to life on the big screen). It was the story of a family; the dynamics that held them together, the pain that pulled them apart. To date, Ms. Mitchard has pretty much stuck to this familiar turf which she limns so well. Such is surely the case with her latest. TV and stage actress Robin Miles imbues her reading of Twelve Times Blessed' with charm and understanding as listeners meet and come to care about 43-year-old True Dickinson. Many would think that True has or has had all that life offers. She is widowed now; it has been eight years since her husband died. It was a blessed union, but now she's raising their young son alone. Her business is a resounding success, and she has a large group of supportive, good friends. Yet, in her heart, True knows something is missing. Chance steps in when True and her assistant are driving home on a winter's night and slip off the road into a snowy ditch. Their rescuer is Hank Bannister, a handsome young chef (actually, ten years younger than True). Nonetheless, the chemistry between them is undeniable, and immediate. After knowing each other only briefly the two marry. This is a surprise to True's son, but he soon adapts to having Hank as a permanent part of their home. Yet, Hank has spent a few years unencumbered. A half grown son is one thing, but when True becomes pregnant it seems that domesticity may lose some of its luster. As always, Ms. Mitchard is an expert at examining the tensile strengths of family love. Her many fans will relish another exploration of the ties that blind and bind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    The beach book for 2003

    You absolutely will not be able to put this page turner down. I found myself up until 2AM one morning. The plot is a simple one of love and its pitfalls, desire and despair. Ms. Mitchard never disapppoints and surely does not with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1